Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Timber Lakes Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 856 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2014

This school and all the staff are excellent. The last four years have been wonderful. My daughters teachers are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

This is my daughter's first year at TLE school and so far it has been a good experience. The principal and personnel are respectful and attentive to the students need. It is not only about academics and making the school look good. They seem to really care about all of their students and families. The teachers make learning interesting and fun. The front office staff are awesome, always ready and willing to help, and with a smile! Parental involvement is amazing, never seen anything like it! I do not know the principal but she must be extraordinary to run such an exceptional school. Like I previously said, this is our first year here and so far first impressions have been phenomenal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

This is such a great school! They have great teachers and great staff. My kids really enjoy going to the Extended Day program at the school. They have so many great activities for the kids in the pm and they just seem to never want to leave. We just love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

Awesome school! My son was in private school and was terrible. Timber Lakes have a great teachers and a great team work. The always available to help my son in everything. This is the school I expected for my son. If you have a kid with IEP..this is your school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

My son just completed 2nd grade at Timber Lakes and I couldn't be more pleased with this school. My son really enjoyed the gifted program they offer. I do believe that being a new school, they still have a few wrinkles to iron out, but all in all, it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

This school to say the least is not the best school I have seen come from the Orange County School System. Issue after issue came up from the school. I never could get any actual responses from administrators and teachers. The administrators and teachers all point fingers at each other for answers. The entire staff did not have a clue on what was going on with its students and constantly left parents misinformed. The school is beautiful on the outside, but inside the students seem to run the halls and terriorize other students. Every time I went to the office to pick up my child there were always two or three students in the office for fighting and bullying. My son was constantly being ignored by the teacher and left to figure out assignments on his own. If I could place my child somewhere else I would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

This school is not what I expected. My kids miss Stone Lakes, and miss Avalon even more! I wish they could have stayed at Avalon Elementary, but we are here due to rezoning, not moving. The principal is all smiles but does not deal with real issues. My son is constantly bullied at this school and I can't get any help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2009

What an incredible school!!! Mrs. Carlock and her staff are wonderful, caring individuals that make every day special for our children. There are lots of extracirricular activities and the PTA is very active at the school and in the community. Mrs. Carlock is at every school activity, even hitting the dance floor with the kids. Transit in and out of the school is a bit tricky. The Extended Day program is fairly good. The staff really needs to be more friendly and customer-oriented. I was horrified to learn that they actually allow kids to come in unaccompanied and sign themselves in. Parents just drop them off and leave, assuming that the child goes to the Extended Care area and not ensuring that their child has been taken into their custody. I am sure if something ever happens, the parents will try to make the school liable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

My daughter is just completing her first year at Timber Lakes and this is a great school. Principal Carlock is a hands on leader who cares about her students and staff. She is involved in everything that makes this school super organized. Mrs. Carlock makes sound decisions that put students first for the betterment of the school and the learning process. There are many activities and much technology that keeps students engaged. Mrs. Bounds who is my daughters 3rd grade teacher is an asset as well. We are very pleased with this school and my daughter loves it! Wonderful learning environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

137 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 38%
White 36%
Black 12%
Asian 11%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%66%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2149 Crown Hill Boulevard
Orlando, FL 32828
Phone: (407) 249-6177

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT