Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cornerstone Academy Charter

Charter | K-8 | 901 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2014

Cornerstone isn't a perfect school, but not many are. While the administration does care a lot about what students are wearing (sometimes more than they should) it's overall a good school. The sports are getting better every year and so are the academics. Most of the teachers are good teachers and really there aren't a lot of big issues with the school. It's good school. Some people just expect everything to be perfect (see reviews below) and that's just not possible.


Posted May 14, 2014

Let's get real people - the school is four years young and received an A grade from the state. It has had 6 principals. Want to blame someone look at the "Board" specifically the Mayor of Belle Isle, Bill Brooks who is also the Chairman of the governing board. If the administration does not "bow" to his every command - he gets rid of them or threatens them. He doesn't care that EDUCATORS (at the Department of Education and with the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools) see the school as being an educationally sound facility. I guess having been a student he thinks he knows all about running a school - WRONG. I wonder how much he is profiting from the school being overseen by the for profit school organization Academica. Is my child learning - absolutely. Is my child being challenged - absolutely. Is the school perfect - no but name one school in Central Florida that is. I am proud of what the school is doing for their students. I am embarrashed that the City of Belle Isle's mayor wants to run the school like a prison with no concern about the students or staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

This school is horrible for how they treat students with disabilities. And what is even more amazing the principal has a degree is ESE Studies...so sad of her to do this to children she has taught...only concerned with how they look of standardized testing...do NOT care about those who need additional help...charter school receiving public funds but only want selected students...this school was created for rich, stuck up parents who do not want their chidlren to go to Oak Ridge...so they have to select students who will make them look better...if they want to be a true community school then accept everyone as you should.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

They do care more about the gifted learners than those who need time to grow and learn. They are quick to hand out suspensions without ever giving the child a chance to make it right. They offer no opportunities to help a child who may need counseling. They are just labeled as the bad kid. They should put more energy into getting the resources to help these children than kicking them out of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

I don't think it is a good school. We looked into it and the staff was very uppity and rude. Academic standards are based on FCAT. That is all they care about. The kids are all walking around with blank looks on their faces. It looks like a farm for morons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

Cornerstone Charter Academy is not a good school. The teaching and learning programs are horrible, my student never learns anything. Most of the students dislike the school yet are forced to be there due to their parents' wishes. Bullying is everywhere and the teachers don't care about the students. The teachers care more about being 'cool' and 'in the crowd' than actually teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

I have loved this school since it opened. I have two boys attending and I have never had an issue with administration or teachers. This is a wonderful school with involved parents, nice students and caring teachers. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

This school has alright teachers but terribly poor administration.The offers it has are decent, as far as drama and sports go..It really needs work on it's administration policies.


Posted October 24, 2013

Great school my Grandson is a member and there doing great for him. One of the best schools in Orlando
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

So sad to see negative parental attitudes, each family can have a positive influence on a school...BE PART OF THE SOLUTION NOT THE PROBLEM our kids need great examples!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Wonderful educational environment for students and families looking for a private school feeling, is tuition free, offers small classes, devoted teachers, and dedicated staff at all levels. Parental involvement is a plus as it serves as an example to our students and enriches their overall experience at CCA, so many talented and caring families here. We now have HS students that started day one at CCA and have been a part of the exciting growth and development of this student focused school. What a blessing to have an alternative school that not only encourages academic excellence but personal integrity, accountability and respect for self and others. Opportunities to excel academically, as well as foster personal development through athletics, the arts and social events! Love the family and community centered events and genuine caring all involved families share! Positive parenting encourages positive students who in turn develop into positive citizens(: Thank you to all who make our K-12 school uniquely special. We should all strive to teach our children by example...Education like life is a gift, we get out of it what we put into it !! GO FIGHTING DUCKS !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

My son came in this year 2012/13 to cornerstone as a 4th grader. The school is still working out a few kinks. That said it has been a positive experience over all. The teachers are held to a high standard. The lower grade booster club is working toward year round school sports for elementry and the PTSA works hard on fundraising and the parents actually know what the money goes toward! The schools web site is always up to date. My son does class work on a laptop for his use during the lesson, rooms have permethium boards and work can be submitted through email. The teachers are accessable as well as the principle whom twice this year invited the parents for a "coffee with the principle" to talk about concerns and let the parents ask questions. My eamils are always answered promptly. Along with the OCPS regulations Cornerstone adds a few of their own including a no tolerance of "bullying" they uphold Which is a plus! They do require each family to "volunteer" hours during the school year which I don't like. My son is safe, happy and learning a lot! Judging from the previous comments Cornerstone has come along way. My kindergardner will start next fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

awful school with bratty kids, snobby parents and a lazy admin. it gets out as early a as school is allowed because these idiots dont know what to do next.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

Our family has given this school 3 years to get it together. I have with drew my child from Cornerstone this year! I have seen and heard things that just are crazy. This school just cares about the "apparence of the students" then education! Many children are struggling this year and th new "IEP Director" isnt helping much. The teachers are so over worked and most wish they can find a job in another school! With that being said just think how that effects the students. Believe me I have seen them in action and I only pray they get it together soon or it will fall apart by the seams!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

at least that phony supposed doctor as a principle is gone. he was just there to watch his own kids until they graduated. his apathetic approach and lackluster performance left a lot to be desired. it was a floundering flounder. now it is just a fish out of water. still a struggling school trying to get a decent score. lets see what this new principle can do though so far seeing the school get out even earlier is not a good sign. seems to me they dont know what to do. What would you expect from a school with the mascot being "the Ducks". It is run by quacks or at least it was. Our child doesn't like it and there is very little control over the students. Mayhem and noisy. We are out at the first opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

I have 3 children in Cornerstone. Two are high learners and one is bright, but struggles with ADHD. I have been very happy with the new way they handle "intervention" time at the school. This is time dedicated to helping kids who need more help in reading, writing or math. For those who do not need more help, they break them into an "enrichment" group, which is essentially a gifted program. I love this flexibility and true interest in the education of specific children. I would like to see the classrooms divided by learning ability, but the administration won't do it. I have found the administration to be more arm's length than I would prefer, but the teachers we have had have been AMAZING! I have plenty of contact with them and they have always been responsive to me. More importantly, my children are learning and progressing, and doing so in an environment which is fun and engaging, yet intolerant of misbehavior. I am very happy at CCA. It is not for every family - you have to complete your volunteer hours and your children need to understand discipline and acceptable behavior. But if that works for you, it is a fantastic alternative to the regular public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

its OK but not great. a fairly apathetic administration with a just get by mentality. I think they are mostly worried about their FCAT score than the actual "teaching" of the students. Likely that there is some sort of financial benefit to them so it is a priority. The principal seems to just be "winging it". He really doesn't have a clue. Teachers are as well OK. Of course there are likely some good ones but we haven't really seen it. They're nice but we want educational results. Our child is languishing there. We are looking to put our child in a different school at the first possible opportunity. I think most of the parents want a good school so bad that they have convinced themselves that this is it. Well it isn't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

We have been very happy with the middle school program, especially this year. The first year was chaotic, which we expected. The principal and teachers (with a couple of exceptions), are always quick to respond to concerns and are very involved. Academics are very good, as is the growing number of after school activities. Our children now want to stay at Cornerstone for high school and we are delighted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

Amazing. My child completed Kindergarten here the year they opened and is now enrolled in his 2nd year. They're hard on the parents with the goal of keeping us involved. I truly appreciate this. It's so easy to become complacent and get caught up in life without realizing the impact us parents can have by being involved with our child's school. I've seen my child grow tremendously academically, socially, and as a responsible human being. I couldn't have done it alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2011

We switched from a great public school to Cornerstone for the inaugural year and it has been a great experience for our family. We have been very pleased with the excellence of the teachers as well as the administrative leadership of the school. And parent involvement is exceptional!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

82 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 63%
Hispanic 23%
Black 9%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/AN/A
Female 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 82%66%61%
Master's degree 18%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5903 Randolph Avenue
Orlando, FL 32809
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 851-7730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Galaxy of Learning
Orlando, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT