Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Orlando, FL
Students enrolled: 901
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cornerstone Academy Charter 1

Posted October 26, 2014
- a community member
as usual way below the state average which is low. Face it the school is a loser. An expense loser. Poor kids.

Cornerstone Academy Charter 4

Posted June 17, 2014
- a community member
Cornerstone isn't a perfect school, but not many are. While the administration does care a lot about what students are wearing (sometimes more than they should) it's overall a good school. The sports are getting better every year and so are the academics. Most of the teachers are good teachers and really there aren't a lot of big issues with the school. It's good school. Some people just expect everything to be perfect (see reviews below) and that's just not possible.


Cornerstone Academy Charter 4

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
Let's get real people - the school is four years young and received an A grade from the state. It has had 6 principals. Want to blame someone look at the "Board" specifically the Mayor of Belle Isle, Bill Brooks who is also the Chairman of the governing board. If the administration does not "bow" to his every command - he gets rid of them or threatens them. He doesn't care that EDUCATORS (at the Department of Education and with the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools) see the school as being an educationally sound facility. I guess having been a student he thinks he knows all about running a school - WRONG. I wonder how much he is profiting from the school being overseen by the for profit school organization Academica. Is my child learning - absolutely. Is my child being challenged - absolutely. Is the school perfect - no but name one school in Central Florida that is. I am proud of what the school is doing for their students. I am embarrashed that the City of Belle Isle's mayor wants to run the school like a prison with no concern about the students or staff.

Cornerstone Academy Charter 1

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
This school is horrible for how they treat students with disabilities. And what is even more amazing the principal has a degree is ESE Studies...so sad of her to do this to children she has taught...only concerned with how they look of standardized testing...do NOT care about those who need additional help...charter school receiving public funds but only want selected students...this school was created for rich, stuck up parents who do not want their chidlren to go to Oak Ridge...so they have to select students who will make them look better...if they want to be a true community school then accept everyone as you should.

Cornerstone Academy Charter 1

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
They do care more about the gifted learners than those who need time to grow and learn. They are quick to hand out suspensions without ever giving the child a chance to make it right. They offer no opportunities to help a child who may need counseling. They are just labeled as the bad kid. They should put more energy into getting the resources to help these children than kicking them out of the school.


Cornerstone Academy Charter 1

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
I don't think it is a good school. We looked into it and the staff was very uppity and rude. Academic standards are based on FCAT. That is all they care about. The kids are all walking around with blank looks on their faces. It looks like a farm for morons.

Cornerstone Academy Charter 2

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
Cornerstone Charter Academy is not a good school. The teaching and learning programs are horrible, my student never learns anything. Most of the students dislike the school yet are forced to be there due to their parents' wishes. Bullying is everywhere and the teachers don't care about the students. The teachers care more about being 'cool' and 'in the crowd' than actually teaching.

Cornerstone Academy Charter 5

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
I have loved this school since it opened. I have two boys attending and I have never had an issue with administration or teachers. This is a wonderful school with involved parents, nice students and caring teachers. Love it!


Cornerstone Academy Charter 1

Posted January 08, 2014
- a community member
This school has alright teachers but terribly poor administration.The offers it has are decent, as far as drama and sports go..It really needs work on it's administration policies.

Cornerstone Academy Charter 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Great school my Grandson is a member and there doing great for him. One of the best schools in Orlando

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cornerstone Academy Charter
5903 Randolph Avenue, Orlando, FL  32809
(407) 851-7730
Last modified Cornerstone Academy Charter is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cornerstone Academy Charter Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top