Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

3,684 students|Fl Virtual
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Florida Virtual School Full Time
Grateful to: Student

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
Thanks to my son for proving to me that taking him out of a physical school and keeping him home to do FLVS was a great idea. It has definitely been a huge, positive difference. He's brought his grades up by far. He learns more because he works at his pace, asks questions when he needs to and the difference there is I take the time to help him understand. You can't get that kind of attention from the teachers in schools nowadays.

Florida Virtual School Full Time 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
This was our first year at FLVS and we absolutely loved it. I love it, my son loves it. Such a big difference than going to a physical school and not getting the time and attention to actually learn something. We worked at his pace and he has brought his grades way up. He's already saying that he wants to go all the way to graduation with FLVS. I do believe that's what is going to happen. Thank you FLVS !!!


Florida Virtual School Full Time
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 09, 2016
- a community member
There are many people that I have spoken with along the way from the Principal, Ms. White to my son's teacher he has now, Mrs. Freeman....to the people when you call the main number. Everyone is just really friendly and helpful and sometimes I can be difficult when it comes to my children. I have high standards in what I feel an education should consist of and this school has met all of them for me.

Florida Virtual School Full Time
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 09, 2016
- a community member
I feel the teachers are there when you need them, although they are very flexible, not pushy, let you work at your own pace for the most part and work with you as a team.

Florida Virtual School Full Time
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 09, 2016
- a community member
Just barely a bit too much. I think some of the P assignments are a bit lengthy, but over all I love all of the classes that this school offers, including the computer classes where you learn how to use the Microsoft Office program including Power Point, Excel, and Word, as well as basic typing skills. This is third and fourth grade and I think it's a great thing!


Florida Virtual School Full Time
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 09, 2016
- a community member
In every conference we figure out where we are, what we need to do, and where we need to be. Aside from the teacher, there is also a tracker so you always know where you are in your progress.

Florida Virtual School Full Time
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 09, 2016
- a community member
I've never had an issue with any of my son's teachers. They have always been honest and polite with him, even if he has fallen behind. They are never rude. They answer all of his questions and the teacher he has now is always there when we need her and helps me stress the importance of getting his work done. I feel like I have a team, unlike other schools here in FL where I have felt very excluded.

Florida Virtual School Full Time
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 09, 2016
- a community member
Every teacher I've spoken with, and the Principal I spoke with was very polite, responded quickly, answered every question efficiently, were very polite to my child, and surprisingly very understanding and flexible if for some reason there were over due assignments that need to be submitted offline.


Florida Virtual School Full Time
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 09, 2016
- a community member
Teaches many informative classes including, safety, manners, ethics, and more. Each class is detailed, instructive, and usually involves a quiz to make sure there is an understanding of the material.

Florida Virtual School Full Time 5

Posted March 09, 2016
- a community member
This is an amazing option if you feel stressed and exhausted trying to be involved with Polk County Florida schools and just feeling like you are getting no where.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Florida Virtual School Full Time
5401 S. Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL  32835
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (407) 857-6588
Last modified Florida Virtual School Full Time is a Public school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top