Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orlando Science Elementary Charter School

Charter | K-5 | 261 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2014

Hi School is great. It is far from lake nona. Is any interested in car pooling from lake nona to oss? Or is any pirate bus shuttle for transportation?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2014

We are extremely happy with the elementary school. Although science and math focused, it is a warm and caring place, and the scientific activities the younger children do are age appropriate and all about discovering and understanding the world. Our child is in kindergarten and has learned to read very well this year; we have also seen our child's performance rise significantly above average on standardized tests in math and reading. Because the elementary school is new, they didn't have a playground until halfway through the year, but now that they've added recess it gives the little kids an outlet for playing. (That was my only complaint, which has been addressed). After school clubs are also great - they give the kids time to be involved with art, creative writing, and other fun pursuits. We love this school so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

I have a 2nd grader - and he is learning a lot! He has the opportunity to do afterschool clubs which he didn't have at his previous school, the class is a lot smaller and less disruptive! The work is challenging so parental support is a must to help your child succeed. The teachers are open to communication - and MS. BECC the first face you see as you enter the school is a pure delight!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

We are very happy at Orlando Science Elementary. The school is a very happy energized place. The atmosphere is welcoming, nurturing, , and fun to be in. I have been very impressed with the administration and teachers I've met. They have treated me and my child with caring and respect and been supportive. The opportunities for the students, beyond just the regular curriculum, are abundant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2013

OSES is one of truest academic schools my family has attended. While the school has numerous social events, recreational activities, and events, it is driven by academics. Students learn at this school. The school does a really nice job on focusing on all learners, not just the lower twenty-five percent (which is very common at most public schools). While meeting with her teacher and the principal, he shared with me both my student's strengths and needed areas of improvement; even though she has a A, he explained to me directly the areas of needed improvement. Her teacher is easily accessible and does a wonderful job with challenging her. My student is gifted and the school provides numerous opportunities for her to expand her understanding of concepts. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2013

My children have bee going to Orlando Science Elementary School for two years now. They absolutely love it and the teachers are amazing. Everyone is so nice and accommodating. Although I live far away from the school and the commute cost me time and money, my kids refuse to go any other school. I am not sure if I agree with the term teaching to the FCAT because they pretty much focus on Science and Math. They do offer optional and free FCAT assistance every Saturday January to April from 8:30-12:30, which I think is above and beyond. While I disagree with the term Teaching to the FCAT , I think any time students have the opportunity to practice math and reading more is great and will defiantly lay the foundation when students get to middle and high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2013

Well, I saw in the reviews that school is teaching only FCAT and test taking and no extracurricular activities are provided? Just to know that this school has been getting first places for three years in a row in Florida state wide Science Olympiad and representing State of Florida in National level for three years. Robotics... The team has been competing in world championship two years in a row ... Math? Last year studentsswept all medals in elementary level... Not teaching from the book... Because students are given visual opportunities to enrich their knowledge and experience plus they are encouraged to research online... They do classroom discussions after each experimentation... Studying FCAT? yes, but tell me a single school that does not care about FCAT? If it is the ultimate tool that county monitors teachers' and school's "success" would you ignore that, no!!! By the way Orlando Science school is an "A" school in the county since it opened. Learn about your school, ask questions, you will always hear good things about this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 7, 2013

This school teaches to the FCAT. All the focus is on producing great little test takers. Test taking is NOT learning and kids should not be forced to take a standardized test that is in place only for corporate profits. This is not a "science school", most of the science is learned out of textbooks with very little hands on projects. Both of my kids were completely bored and stressed out from the test taking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

My biggest problem its one of the teacher of the core subject that she is very rude to the kids and I am very surprised after many complaints from parents that she is still there and no actions has been taken. She just keep giving lot of homework and doesn't explains the lessons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

I recommend you look up Charter School Watchdog and read about the type of school you are considering for your child. You should become fully informed of the background of this school. As a parent, I want to know everything about my school. This is a business, and not a business with the best interest of your child in mind. Ask about the "temporary" mobile classrooms for the elementary school. Ask about the books and supplies provided for your child/ren. Ask, ask, ask............ You will be surprised at the answers. Protect your children.


Posted May 1, 2013

Being a teacher as well as a parent lets me see a school from both perspectives. This is the first year of our Elementary School and in this one year, the students have experienced much more than I have ever seen at any other school where I have worked. Science is woven into every subject and students have the chance to do incredible extracurricular activities like robotics, Legos, and art club. I put my own children on the waiting list so they will be able to attend OSES and OSS next year. Even though it is a small school, the teachers, staff, parents, students, and administration are top notch. I am glad that Orlando Science Schools goes all way to high school because my children will have the best education possible and be near me for many years to come. Like many people, we drive a long way every morning and every evening but I would not change it for the world .
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 18, 2013

OSES has been an amazing opportunity for both of my children (1st and 3rd grade) . Both are highly gifted and have never been as challenged, engaged, or as enthusiastic as they are this year! The teachers are amazing, parental involvement is huge, and the administration has been nothing short of great! One of my son's has an IEP and his accommodation have been met with no "coaxing" on my part. Both teachers ( Mrs. Jennifer Morris and Mrs. Amy Trujillo) go above and beyond for their students. They not only are interested in them as students but as people as well! The encouraging words before a baseball game, etc mean a lot to a cute little 6 year old! Or a picture from his teacher of her son doing Martial Arts just as he is starting was received with a huge smile from my 9 year old! I honestly cannot say enough good things. It was a gamble going to a new school when we have 6 "A" rated schools within a 5 mile radius of our home. 5 minute commute went to 30-40 minutes plus tolls. But, it was well worth it and we will be making the drive again next year happily!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

School has a full time gifted program. My children are engaged and the teachers are dedicated. It's the first year for the school, but I am very happy, as are my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 35%
White 30%
Black 19%
Hispanic 12%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 58%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/AN/A
Female 42%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 87%66%61%
Master's degree 13%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2379 Lynx Lane
Orlando, FL 32804
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 253-7304

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

S.H.I.P. Academy
Orlando, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT