Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Howard Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 971 students

Our school is best know for its Visual and Performing Arts Magnet Program.

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 15 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2009

Howard Middle is an awesome school where all children are challenged to succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

It is a great school, Everyone is contained in 1 building, not spread out in 50 portables, the teachers want your children to learn and progress in life. The principal does a excellent job with the teachers and children. And it is the only 'A' middle school in Orange County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

The teachers are there not only to do their job but to help our children succeed in life. They really do care about our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

The facility is very well kept, very historicly preserved, the principal has raised the bar several levels successfully, the school has received state-rated grades of consecutive A-rated scores, and the teachers there are the most active, dedicated and caring across the board this parent has ever seen at any school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

I have never worked with a more dedicated, team oriented faculty and staff. We truely care about our kids.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 21, 2009

Howard Middle School is the premier school in the heart of the city. That's right we are located in the heart of downtown Orlando!!! We are doing excellent things here at Howard through our Advancement Via Individual Determintation (AVID) program to ensure that our students go to college, we are a NASA Explorer School, we have some of the best and brightest inner city youth, our athleics program is strong, we have a Tutoring Room that students can go to make up work, get help with concpts they don't understand and so much more. There is a lot I could say about Howardm but I just might not have the space :0)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The principal has created alternative strategies to help at-risk children make up their grades by creating a tutoring room, where challenging children received individualized attention to complete homework and assignments they were unsuccessful in completing at home or in the regular classroom. Principal Cartwright is dedicated to 100% of his students' success, even the most challenging. No child will be left behind in this amazing learning environment!


Posted September 21, 2009

Teachers and students always give 110%. Howard has been an A school for the last two years which is a record for a Title I school in our district. Students are given all the tools and opportunities to succeed acadaemically and personally. There is no equal!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 24, 2008

Both of our children will be at Howard this year. We have been very pleased with the school, especially with the teachers and the principal. The faculty and staff always keep you well informed of your children progress and difficulties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

Our family has been very pleased with Howard Middle School. After reading the post dated June 25th, I found quite the opposite experience. My child does participate in advanced classes. However, I found these classes to be higher in numbers compared with some of the other classes I visited. The regular classes seemed to have 10-15 students. My child is very comfortable at Howard and has made many new friends. The faculty and staff truly care about the students and my child has excelled academically! I have found Howard Middle School to be very responsive to my child's individual needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

The only way to excell at Howard is to have a smart child, have him or her be placed in high academic classes, because ONLY then will you have a class size of 10-15 with teachers that care and kids that want to learn. Any average child coming into Howard, who has some sort of parental support and is motivated and wants to be in school, should seriously look into another school for middle school years. Howard will eat your child alive and expose them to things they shoudl not be witnessing at this age. The kids there are out of control!!!and the parent involvement comes from students with As and some Bs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

We love Howard and Dr Cartwright. They have surpassed our expectations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2007

I go to Howard middle school, and I love going there. The teachers there are very nice, and I have learned so much. The school is also very safe, hardly any violence, or bullying. And remember, all schools have that, no matter what. But also, in Howard, there is no tolorence for bullying. The students here are also very nice, and we have many great academic programs. The students here truly love the school, and we all love that we learn a lot, while having fun doing so. We also have recess, which we are all very thankful for. And we have many great clubs, and very many opportunites. Howard is truly an amazing school
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2007

My daughter just graduated from Howard. She had 3 excellent years there, and was able to excel academically so well that she was accepted into the IB program at Winter Park High. Excellent gifted/advanced placement classes. Teachers are very supportive. Principal is excellent. We love that Howard is small and close to home. It truly is a hidden treasure. We are looking forward to another great 3 years there as our son starts next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

Howard Middle School is the unknown gem of Orange County. Facts: Downtown, urban, small, only middle school still having a much needed rec time, great academic learning strides are being reached yearly, great athletic, music, and choral program, outstanding mentor program, great AVID program. Students are encouraged and given the opportunity to excel. The teachers are very supportive and communication is always quick. I have 2 children there and have never had any problems. All questions are taken care of immediately and bullying or violence, which I must remind you, happens in all schools, is not tolerated. Howard takes great pride in providing a safe learning environment for the students. What a great school. I am extremely pleased with this public school. My only disappointment is parent involvement. It is growing, but still nowhere near where it should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

Excellent fine arts program, sports, and extracurricular activites. Great strides have recently been made in academics.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 19, 2005

It is sad that no one has placed a review. People just need to know about Howard Middle. My son just started this year in the 8th grade and I must say that I am very pleased with the school & my son, the teachers noticed his potential and placed him in advanced classes. To some this might not mean anything but to a juvenile that is the world to them, to be noticed and recognized for their potential; it s a boost of new education and my son is taking it to the top. It encouraged him to study more, to learn more, and most of all it made him realize that he is powerful and he could be any thing he would like to be. I tip my hat to Howard Middle and all the staff. Five stars in my book. (IR)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

338 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

335 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

352 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

345 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

247 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

242 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

241 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

183 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

182 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 36%
White 34%
Hispanic 25%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%66%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • NASA Explorer School (2006)
  • ARTS Achieve Model School Honorable Mention (2012)
  • AVID National Demonstration School (2009)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:20 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • MR. CARL CARTWRIGHT
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (407) 245-1785

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
250
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
350
Students typically come from these schools
Hillcrest Elementary School
Lake Como Elementary School
Dover Shores Elementary School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Boone High School
Jones High School
Edgewater High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 East Robinson Street
Orlando, FL 32801
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 245-1780

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Cherokee
Orlando, FL


The Christ School
Orlando, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT