Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Silver Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 645 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2013

We absolutely love Lake Silver! The teacher, staff and parents really care about the kids, and they've made my children love going to school and learning. Rave reviews for Ms. Pais in kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Lake Silver Elementary school is a close knit community of parents teachers, administrative staff and speacial instructors. The kids are getting good lessons from this network and i am confident it is the best elementary school around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2012

My son just entered kindergarten at Lake Silver. We couldn't be happier. My son had been in private school so we were apprehensive of the move but the school has exceeded our expectations. His teacher is wonderful and our son loves the school. If you live in College Park give this school a chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

We could not be more happy and lucky to be in the Lake Silver school district. In the heart of College Park, LSE has excellent teachers who truly care for their students. The Principal has a high standards and is continually making improvements to curriculum, programs, adding more quality teachers, and more. We looked at private schools in addition to Lake Silver - but we know we made the right choice! This Math Magnet school and true love for their students is exactly what my children needed! School has great parent involvement too! Go Tigers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

Lake Silver is such a wonderful school and now has the 'A' FCAT grade that many people view as the holy grail of school achievement, so I would encourage parents in Lake Silver's zone to support your local public school and not abandon it for other schools, public or private. My daughter's experience has been wonderful in Kindergarten and First Grade and we are looking forward to another great year in Second Grade. The administrators work hard and are very accessible, the teachers are fabulous, the Math Magnet is effectively integrated into each grade level, and the PTA is active and effective. We highly recommend Lake Silver Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

Bottom line: Parents, you need to check out this wonderful school before you decide against it based on scores. This school has fantastic leadership and is firmly on its way to getting all the pretty numbers and letters that appeal to us parents, but with the astounding mix of children/families at Lake Silver this task will always be harder than in more homogenous locations. Get in on this school. Visit. Talk to the principal. Tour the retro facilities. Give it a chance. If you knew the scores my kids were making on the Big Tests and the appreciation/life lessons they've been getting along the way, you would understand why Lake Silver is a great great place and worth considering. The faculty and staff couldn't possibly work harder for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

Lake Silver has been a great school for my three children. The PE Department is excellant, encouraging health and fitness. The Music teacher is great and she spends her personal time on extra activities like a Drama Club and chorus. The after school program is run well. There is no guidance counselor at this time which I find unfortunate. There has been no attempt th hire one this school year (2005-2006). There are some good veteran teachers at this school. There are no aides in the regular ed classes. They were cut last year. This makes parent participation very important. There is a strong PTA. Overall, it is not the Lake Silver of five or six years ago that we all came to know & love, but it is better than most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2005

The school has some good teachers that make up for it's old appearance. The gifted program is one day per week and the music teacher is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

The academics at Lake Silver are wonderful, my children have attended Lake Silver for more than 10 years and they have continued to succeed all the way through high school. The parent involvement is great, it is a family place that is accepting of everyone. The staff is very loving, caring and talented and the new principal is a dynamic leader. I fear most don't understand the FCAT grading system and won't give our great school a chance based on the grade it was assigned. There are so many factors to the overall grading of a school. Lake Silver has a separate physically impaired wing with more than 100 wonderful children. But most of these children are educationally challenged and their scores counted towards the overall school grade for the first time this year. If they don't perform well then the entire grade drops regardless of the actual school score.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

Definitely a mixed bag. Some of the best teachers ever, although currently losing some of them. Great parental community--a school with real heart. Hope the math magnet works for them and that they turn around the downward trend because it has fantastic potential. Currently (like all public schools) moving away from great teaching and towards endless FCAT prep. This is a problem. If you've got great teachers, you've got to let them do what they do best. Too soon to say on the principal leadership. I hope it's fabulous because I have a huge soft spot for Lake Silver.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

A great school all around!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2005

As a third grade parent - Not very satisfied with material sent home for homework. It was very difficult to understand, having unclear directions. My son often came home 'confused' about material and had difficulties staying focused (not challenging enough material, and classroom disruptions may have lead to this). Extracurricular activities are there, and great, but sparse however. Parental involvement is quite low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2005

The faculty at Lake Silver is a wonderful blend of seasoned, experienced teachers and young, innovative educators. But whether they've been teaching for 2 years or 20, they all share a common enthusiasm for continuing the 'Legacy of Learning' that has been a tradition at this neighborhood school for 50 years. We are thrilled with the education and attention that our son has been receiving at Lake Silver for the past 4 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2005

This is a great school. My son's learning disability was identified early and his participation in their Specific Learning Disability program has helped him improve his reading level by more than a grade level in less than a year. We plan to send our 2 younger children there as well because we are confident they will receive the same individual attention, caring, and overall great education that our oldest has enjoyed. The teachers are wonderful and the new principal is making even more improvements to an already super school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2004

My family moved to Orlando, Florida 3 years ago. The nearest school to us was Lake Silver Elementary School. My daughter Lindsy wanted to go there because it wasn't a mile on the bus. Although being rated a C grade I think it's a really good school. The school meals and physical education are a let down. The school should provide healthier stuff, so out children don't turn into someone they will later regret in life. I think the bullying is an issue, it should be dealt with. I have had about 6 reports from Lindsay saying that either she or one of her friends have been in trouble with some of the other students. She was off school for a week because in fear of her safety. Overall it's a good school. The grades are better than usual but the overal grade has come down from a B!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2004

We have had a great experience at this school and are proud to have our children attend. The teachers are talented and are given alot of leeway by the principal to practice their craft. The PTA is very strong and receives incredible support from the staff and administration on many levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 46% 23%
White 41% 42%
Hispanic 10% 29%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 77%66%61%
Master's degree 21%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2401 N Rio Grande Ave
Orlando, FL 32804
Phone: (407) 245-1850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


S.H.I.P. Academy
Orlando, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT