Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glenridge Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1356 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

I am an alumni of GMS and I have to say things have really declined since I've been there. There are many lockdowns due to students bringing weapons to school. The school is cliquey and there seems to be a problem with bullying. The IB program is the only salvation a from an otherwise mediocre schoo; the problem is that too many children are allowed in the IB "honors" program who don't deserve to be there. In my opinion the only good part about GMS is the arts dept. Brian Sullivan is an amazing band teacher and I had him for all 3 years at Glenridge and he still recognizes me in public.


Posted October 9, 2013

The rules of bullying are making to help the bully in this school. If there are no witnesses, they do nothing, the children are afraid to speak. That is why they have so many problems of weapons. It is terrible! I have no idea how it is A class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2012

This school is labelled an IB school, but you will find that many teachers are not educated on how to teach and IB curriculum, There are very weak teachers here in the math department, and they do not get replaced. The academics are watered down in the honors classes and too many average students are accepted to these classes. Would not recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

i go to this school and last year i would say i liked it because the school whas organized and well kept. but being a 7th grader, dealing with all the new changes is a BIG problem. to me this year the school seems less organized. they changed the lunch room rules like 3 times this year and some of the teachers there seem like there here only for the money. like they dont have eny heart in there job.sure there are some teachers i had that did care (ms.Bonhgen and Ms.caceras) but the 8 periods completly messed up the whole school. i im now transfering out of this school by chose. sure i will miss some teachers but i im leaving no regrets. good bye glenridge. hope u get better when im back in Feb.!!!!!!!


Posted June 25, 2010

this school is one of the best in the county my daughter loves this school i would suggest this school for anyone who loves science
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

I love this school. I have been going here for a couple of years now and i feel great. It is located in such a great neighborhood and has great teachers. There is a bully problem but,nothing that cant be fixed. Lets go GMS lions!!!!!


Posted October 20, 2009

I think it is great because it has some real amazing teachers and i like how they are getting rid of the block scedule.I also love how the kids behave so wonderfuly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

i like this schol because of the academic progress a child can make, but there seems to be a bully problem in this school and lake of supervision. My son has been bullied multiple times with no one to see what is going on. I am very upset at the fact the school has in place a 'so called' program for bullies, but i really do not see it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Glenridge has a dedicated staff who teach support and encourage every child who attends the school. The staff have made parents feel an important part in their childs education. Way to go Lions
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

Glenridge is a great neighborhood school with a caring and contributing staff. The IB program is outstanding. I feel my students will be well prepared for high college and college because of the opportunities provided them at GMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2009

I have been going here for a month now and love it. I have noticed that students are kept in order and we learn a lot. The whole school is completely organized and clean.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2008

My daughter came from a private school to GMS and she loves it! She is in the IB program, has terrific teachers, and loves the choral program. Mrs. Hinkley is the best! Glenridge Singers has been chosen to perform at the FMEA Convention this year. This honor rarely goes to a middle school choir.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

The teachers and faculty really take education seriously. There is good communication between parents and teachers. We are relatively new to the area, and my daughter has managed to acclimatize quickly and feels accepted by her classmates, and supported by the staff. This seems to be actively encouraged. I have nothing but good to say, and would reccomend anyone to send their child here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

I think this school is great and theTeachers are good with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

I'm a former student and now i go to Winter Park High School. I was pleased with the way the school was run and i think nothing should be changed. The area around the school was nice.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 14, 2006

Excellent experience so far! New facility is beautiful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Being new to Florida in 2003, we weren't sure how our daughter was going to do in school. She was going into 6th grade and will soon be completing 8th grade. Glenridge Middle School has helped her succeed. She is in an IB curriculum but the school itself exudes excellence as far as it's academics..That is the top priority for the whole school. We are happy that she was able to go there. The school is an asset to the community of Winter Park, and the entire State of Florida education system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

I have two of my sons at GMS, one who started 6th and 7th. I was very impressed with the first day of school orientation to the parents. I liked very much how they used multimedia resources to greet the students and parents with the use of the school TV's. Every teacher was helpful during the two hours to answer any question a parent had. A very well planned day. I am very proud to have my kids at GMS, who also have an excellent IB program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

My child is new. I like everything so far except the way lunch is conducted. The last I checked, most food handlers did not wear hair nets and/or gloves. The kids are super rushed. Make sure your child eats well at home or send lunch! It is just too chaotic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2005

Glenridge is an outstanding school with an 'A' school rating, good teachers, and an awesome campus.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

450 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

455 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

455 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

450 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 42%
Hispanic 30% 29%
Black 11% 23%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%66%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Heather Hilton
Fax number
  • (407) 623-1427

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2900 Upper Park Rd
Orlando, FL 32814
Phone: (407) 623-1415

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Alpha Christian Academy
Winter Park, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT