Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,034 students|Orange
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Robert E Lee Middle School 5

Posted October 17, 2015
- a student
I am a current student in the 7th grade. I have 2 honors classes. Algebra 1 Honors and Earth Space Science Honors and I love it. I feel Lee gives opportunity when you give effort. I hadn't had any problems. I know just about all the staff. Last year they awarded two students $50 for being a junior assistant to the principal. I am in IB and I plan to stay in it.

Robert E Lee Middle School 4

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
My son is going into his third and final year in Lee's IB program. I recommend it for students who love learning and for parents who want their children to grow friendships with nice kids. He knows every IB student in his grade, and feels comfortable in the school environment. Also, due to a mistake in the guidance office, he was placed in "regular" math his first quarter of 6th grade, and therefor got to know kids outside of IB, which broadened his horizons and has made for a richer experience ever since. I have to hand it to the teachers at Lee, who have an incredible amount of work to do, considering the many classes with different content that they teach, the demands of the online component of parent/student communication (Progressbook), leading student clubs and much more. The teachers I've encountered give their all. My son has had amazing opportunities at Lee. For him to be able to be in the orchestra with the 100% committed, wonderful Mrs. Johnson, and practice his instrument every day during school hours is AMAZINGI I could never afford music lessons five days a week.


Robert E Lee Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
IB is tough. There's homework every night, sometimes two hours. I wish they could complete most of the work during the school day and leave room for other activities and family time after school.

Robert E Lee Middle School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
I can't think of a situation where these values were conveyed in a memorable way. I'm not saying the school is failing in this regard, just that I'm not aware of specific efforts.

Robert E Lee Middle School 2

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
The school is not in our district but our Son was accepted into the IB program and we made the decision to attend. The IB curriculum does not seem to be any different than any regular class structure. I was told (and read) that the IB program used a different type of teaching practice where students worked independently and in groups. Supposedly, there should be more focus on research and less on information / test taking. I haven't seen anything unique about the IB program here, other than the very small community service requirement. We were told that our son would only be with other IB students as well, which made us happy since the school seems (n general) to have a poor performing student body. They now have a program called "Avid" which is to help more troubled students get straightened out and ready for entrance into IB. Our son's classes are suddenly filled with Avid students, and they are disruptive + unfocused. Our son says there are more advanced IB courses, but we were never informed of that. His math is the same content he learned in 4th grade! He is in 6th, supposedly in adv. courses. He will probably attend 7th grade somewhere else unless something changes quickly.


Robert E Lee Middle School 4

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
My son started Lee Middle this year, so we are newbies. I have to say so far we are pleased with the teachers and staff. The initial meet the teachers could of been more informative for newbies- like how lunch time works. Lee is much better than the elementary school we attended last year.

Robert E Lee Middle School 1

Posted February 05, 2013
- a community member
At least the prior principal Tom Pylant is gone he was interested in only the gifted or white kids. Office was rude and hostile. Special Ed department head and teachers were a joke. Let the kids play on the computer all day while they talked on the phone. They would put complaints against teachers for attempting to teach the "spec ed" students and the kids would laugh in your face because they were able to manipulate the system. I don't know if the Spec Ed. Dept. kept the kids dumbed down for financial support, to keep the system desirable, or for some other self serving needs. It was reprehensible. Former employee.

Robert E Lee Middle School 3

Posted December 10, 2010
- a parent
What is the suspension demographics at this school? Anyone interested in knowing? I certainly am. What is the promotion demographics? My child will be bused in from a differnet area and this type of information is of concern to me.


Robert E Lee Middle School
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
Students and staff alike are wonderful. Great job teachers and administrators!

Robert E Lee Middle School
no rating

Posted March 29, 2010
- a parent
There are great teachers at Lee Middle, but I question the goal and purpose of those who have an A student in their classes get an F. What is the excuse for the inability to motive - too many students in the class, race, or I get a pay check whether or not they fail. Maybe it is that we need to keep a clear line between the required failure rate and those who pass. Whatever the excuse, no person should be allowed to teach who cannot motivate an A student. For God sake, it doesn't take much.

Nearby schools

Robert E Lee Middle School
1201 Maury Road, Orlando, FL  32804
(407) 245-1800
Last modified Robert E Lee Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top