Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Durrance Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 432 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Great Elementary w/ great kids and great staff.everyone is helpful tge teachers are always there for the students tge staff is so great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

Well, the school isn't what it was since the new principal took over. It's hard to say how things will be next year, but most notably, the new principal does not seem responsive to emails, is late to meetings, the last one to get to school and the first one gone. He seems to refer to his assistant Principal to make decisions for him and never seems to be busy like the previous was. He just doesn't seem to be a real "go getter". But yes, he is very nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Since the new principal came in, the school has not been the same. We no longer get messages in voicemails, the staff isn't always available as it used to be and some teachers need to retire and others should've never been hired. There's a handful of great teachers but unfortunately the bad ones outweigh the good ones. I'm taking my child to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

My daughter has been attendeing Durrance for the past 3 yrs and i love this school. The Principal, vice principla and all the teachers go an extra mile for their students. I am totally overwhelmed by their commitment for excellence!!! Way to go!! keep the good work going!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

Our daughter has attended Durrance for two years. The principal and assistant principal, staff, and teachers are excellent. Our family has been very happy at Durrance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

Our two boys are so happy at Durrance Elementary. They are receiving an excellent education. The Principal, teachers, and staff are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

The teachers are great. They really care about the students. The principal is always available if you need anything
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

Durrance Elementary is a wonderful school. My two boys have attended over the last two years. Their teachers were very helpful and encouraging. -Marquette Jackson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Durrance continues to be a great environment for my two sons, 2nd and 3rd grade, to learn and grow. Their teachers are attentive to their needs and uniqueness while the administration is committed to excellence. The principal does a wonderful job balancing the needs of the kids and the needs of her staff - she is a fantastic asset to the district. The main area for improvement is for parents to take a more active role in the school and their children s education. The more parents who are involved the better for all the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2005

Excellent staff, in depth programs, wonderful after school programs. Very involved teachers and assistants. I wish all schools were like Durrance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2005

I think the staff at Durrance is wonderful. They are very helpful and concerned with making choices for the students that reflect learning. There are many extra activities and the parent involvement is OK...could be more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2005

The administration and staff are wonderful. They truly love children and are willing to work hard to help all of them learn. There are tons of extra activities going on throughout the year. The level of parent involvement could use some help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I am not a big fan of Susan Abbe. My biggest problem is the high turn over rate.I have raised my 4th grade daughter to have integrity and to take responsibility for her actions. I do not feel that Mrs. Abbe has been honest or forthcoming with important staff information. I feel this principle is too political.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

Durrance has acheived a level of excellence hard to find in other schools in this area. The principal is caring, warm and concerned about every child in her care. The teachers and staff take time to get to really know the students and the parents.We often work together to make good things happen for the students and they are happy at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

Our child is ADHD and mentally handicapped, and struggled in 1st grade the first time in an special class. This yr they put in regular class, and when asking teacher to assist him furhter she states she can not spend too much time assisting him. For his issues they need to be more willing to help. It also took 7 mo to get him into speech therapy, which only is 30 min a week, due to them not wanting him to miss class much, To me things aren't all great at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2004

Durrance is a wonderful school, where the teachers care about each and every child. However, since the previous principal left, the atmosphere seems to have become more solemn. It used to be a more positive, upbeat place lead by a dynamic team of individuals. I believe it can return to that type of place. The parents have been involved for the past few years, and I hope to see the parent involvement continue.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 11, 2003

Durrance is the best! Imagine a principal that tells parents that she is always available, that the complete staff will be actively involved with your child, and then you find that it is all true. My son was excelling at area elementary when he brought home a notice about the Magnet Program at Durrance. I wasn't happy at his elementary but I could live with it. I went to the Information Meeting and loved what I heard. My concern was the lack of a strings program. The principal assured me that she would look into it. Come August, the school had a violin and guitar teacher. The principal actively looks for parents to see if they are happy and if they have any concerns. Teachers are well-educated, highly motivated, and actively involved with all students even those not in their class. This school is a dream come true!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2003

I think it is time that we as parents get more involved with this school. The staff has done their job, let us do ours. Dr Fritzler and staff are excellent. My wife and I will find time to be more involved this year.


Posted June 18, 2003

The staff at Durrance, from the principal to the maintenance people are involved with the children's learning, safety and social needs. Our school is composed of the friendliest group of people in Orlando. Even the 5th grade teachers know some of the kindergartners,for example. It is truly a family oriented school.


Posted June 6, 2003

This is an exceptional school. Each teacher we had experience with took personal pride in the achievement of the children. The principal, Patti Fritzler sets the standard and with a friendly, but no nonsense manner, inspires her staff to reach high and take the kids right along with them. Anyone that has a child attending this school should cherish every day you child is in this environment.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 57%
White 22%
Black 16%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 63%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 77%66%61%
Master's degree 21%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8101 Benrus Street
Orlando, FL 32827
Phone: (407) 858-3110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT