Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Orlando, FL
Students enrolled: 432
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Durrance Elementary School 5

Posted December 18, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attends this school and I have been nothing but thoroughly impressed. The individual attention is phenomenal, the science and math labs impressive and needed in all schools, the integration of physically disabled students smooth and natural, and the teachers highly dedicated. My main concern upon enrolling her was that art and music might be de-emphasized or lack luster, but that has not been the case. The Art teacher seems passionate about his teaching and my daughter came home fascinated with Claude Monet. The music teacher gives his all and seems to care and is adept in his subject. As a mother with a music background, I am pleased with the art and music. My daughter is happy and engaged and I will certainly send my other children there. As a side note, many schools become so focused on the FCATs and other standardized tests, that the scores are high on sites like GreatSchools, but the students still haven't learned anything except how to take a specific test (and how to suffer from teacher-pressured test anxiety). Test scores cannot and should not be the determining factor in choosing a child's school.

Durrance Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Great Elementary w/ great kids and great staff.everyone is helpful tge teachers are always there for the students tge staff is so great.


Durrance Elementary School 2

Posted June 17, 2013
- a parent
Well, the school isn't what it was since the new principal took over. It's hard to say how things will be next year, but most notably, the new principal does not seem responsive to emails, is late to meetings, the last one to get to school and the first one gone. He seems to refer to his assistant Principal to make decisions for him and never seems to be busy like the previous was. He just doesn't seem to be a real "go getter". But yes, he is very nice.

Durrance Elementary School 2

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Since the new principal came in, the school has not been the same. We no longer get messages in voicemails, the staff isn't always available as it used to be and some teachers need to retire and others should've never been hired. There's a handful of great teachers but unfortunately the bad ones outweigh the good ones. I'm taking my child to a different school.

Durrance Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has been attendeing Durrance for the past 3 yrs and i love this school. The Principal, vice principla and all the teachers go an extra mile for their students. I am totally overwhelmed by their commitment for excellence!!! Way to go!! keep the good work going!!!


Durrance Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2011
- a parent
Our daughter has attended Durrance for two years. The principal and assistant principal, staff, and teachers are excellent. Our family has been very happy at Durrance.

Durrance Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2011
- a parent
Our two boys are so happy at Durrance Elementary. They are receiving an excellent education. The Principal, teachers, and staff are the best!

Durrance Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are great. They really care about the students. The principal is always available if you need anything


Durrance Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 01, 2007
- a parent
Durrance Elementary is a wonderful school. My two boys have attended over the last two years. Their teachers were very helpful and encouraging. -Marquette Jackson

Durrance Elementary School 4

Posted July 15, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Durrance Elementary School
8101 Benrus Street, Orlando, FL  32827
(407) 858-3110
Last modified Durrance Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Durrance Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top