Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bonneville Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 536 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2014

Change is not always for the best! My older children attended the school years ago, great experience. Now my youngest is attending, Changed is putting it "nicely". No communication!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

Boneville Elementary is a good school. They are rated an 'A' School...that says it all. The quality of children depends on the education parents give them, not on homes value. The quality of a person or child does not depend on their financial status. I also believe that the schools or teachers are not the ones 'completely' responsible for our kids education. Education starts at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

Our new buildings are done come and see all we have to offer. Soon are new PE (physical education) facilities will be ready. Go Bulldogs! If you want to help your child get involve in school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Bonneville Elemtary has definetly change for the best that I have ever experience as a parent of having special needs children in the school. Plus their academics for the children are so successful, that push for the potential of kindergarden and first grader to thru the fifth. Our kids will be able to make it thru the middles school and high school and even ready for college. Thank you Teachers and Staff for all the hard work that you put in this school for our children! Music, Art, and sports or pe will be more on the rise when we are able to move in the new buildings and less on the construction site, This school will be so awesome! Parents, are involved in so many ways, in the classroom, media, lunchroom as helping and on the SAC and PTA we just need more parent yes you can Help so many ways!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

Great students and staff every decision is based on making things better and helping students to succeed
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 25, 2005

My son loves bonneville. Bonneville is a great school the teachers are the best. Bonneville is the selling point of real estate in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

This school places too much of their efforts helping special children and in so doing the average children get bored easily. It may not be the school's fault, it's a neighborhood that makes a school. Unfortunately my husband and I are not the only ones that recognize this and feel upset about this, there are other neighbors do so too, but are unable to do anything about the community. We on the other hand, moved last year to get our children into a better school we, we will miss the trees and the friendly down to earth neighbors. Hopefully the price of homes will increase in the area so the quality of children will go up and allow the teachers to teach a normal class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

My step children go to Bonneville Elementary and have done wonderfully. The youngest is in the headstart program. She had a lot of difficulty in her last program and started Bonneville in January 2005. Since then she has improved dramatically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

I am an ADDITIONS volunteer at Bonneville and have been for almost 4 years with BOTH of my sons attending. We have had nothing but positive experiences and INCREDIBLE teachers. Very concerned and helpful school staff to boot. THANKS Bonneville. -Susan L Wallace
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

My husband and I are very upset with this school. We had a problem with the school last year and know we have no respect for the place and a few people that work there. The parent involvement in the school is very low. Thats because they wont allow it. Family/parent friendly they are not.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 54%
White 36%
Black 5%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 157%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 216%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%66%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 5%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14700 Sussex Drive
Orlando, FL 32826
Phone: (407) 249-6290

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT