Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Columbia Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1145 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2007

we`are buying a home in bithlo and our 2 kids are going to be part of this school`s students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2006

As a proud parent of two daughters who attend Columbia Elementary, one going to second and the other going to first, I say congratulations to the entire staff for a job well done.My girls are happy and they love their school.The motivation and commitment my girls received from their kindergarten and first grade teacher this past year was awesome. A peice of advise to fellow parents, send your kids to school, sign their planners, motivate your children to read, and maintain contact with their teachers and you will see a difference. As a parent, assume some repsonsibility for your children. Don't expect school to teach your child all about life, hopefully you spend more time with them than the school does so pitch in. Hopefully, once they relocate there will be more time and space for activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

The academic program is good, my son has learned a lot. Parent involovement is good. The system to drop off kids and pick them up is horrible, ineffective, and unsafe!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

My children attend Columbia and LOVE going to school! Their teachers this year are wonderful and the after school care staff are great too! The new principle is very involved and so is the assistant principle. There does need to be more parent involvement but that is not the schools fault they promote more parents to join in.... The parents choose not to! Also in response to the parent that made the comment about the kids on the free lunch program.. Do you think these children are valued less in GOD'S eyes because of their Parent's financail situation? You should be ashamed of yourself! I hope you never fall into hard times. GO COLUMBIA:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

great school, wonderful teachers, great learning environment...but school is a bit older. My child went there from K-5 and he loved every day of it
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2005

Columbia is a great school! My 1st grader has learned so much from her teacher. I have found the school to be safe, clean and have a great learning envirnment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2005

Before we moved from out of state, we researched the area schools. We chose a very nice upper middleclass subdivision zoned for an 'A' school. We did not notice on the report that over 50% of Columbia's students are on the free lunch program. The school building looks run-down and needs a lot of work. Much of the area zoned for this school is rural and impoverished. This past year, the school dropped to a 'B' school. We liked our daughter's teacher last year, but aren't happy with her current teacher. The new principal seems very nice, but has only been here for five months.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

Poor parent involvement. Unclean. Hygiene is an issue. Huge discipline problems. Bully Prevention Program in place. Many staff have poor social skills. New principal--unavailable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

My son is no longer there at Columbia, and I am glad. When asking them about volunteering, they were rude and discouraging. I have spoken to other parents, which had the same experience. The whole feeling or morale was not positive. If it were not for the office ladies, the Principal Ms. Jackson, Mrs. Meadows and Mrs. Bragg, I would have complained. I hope they get their act together soon, our children depend on it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 19, 2005

this is a small but warm and close knit school. they are trying to meet the needs of various ethnicities.they are good teachers that are committed.they have a good staff overall. we are pleased with the school. every school needs parent involement. volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

I think it is a great school. ny niece and nephews went there and now my daughter is there and doing great..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

My children have been going there for 4 years now.I have found that it is getting better than it was when they first started,but i think a few of the teachers need to retire or find another occupation because they have little patience for the children. My son has come home to tell me of his teacher saying shut your mouth which is not approiate in my eyes.As far as the reading programs they have i liked them they worked for my kids.The math programs were not as successful my daughter is entering 6th with 4th grade knowledge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

Columbia has a wonderful staff, from Principal, Teachers, Office Staff and Custodians. It is very easy to get in contact with any staff and they are there to make sure that you as the parent and them as the educators are on the same page for your child's education. I was surprised by the 'B' this year for they are definitly an 'A'. There is alot more parental involvement with new neighborhoods opening up. That's what it is all about, parents, children, and educators, with that how can our children not succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

188 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

188 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

186 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

180 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 58%
Hispanic 25%
Black 10%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 83%66%61%
Master's degree 17%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18501 Cypress Lake Glen Boulevard
Orlando, FL 32820
Phone: (407) 568-2921

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT