Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dr. Phillips Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 627 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2013

My daughter goes to Dr Phillips elementary school And I believe this is one of the best school in Orlando. I like Principle because he is 100% involved in each and every activity that takes place in school. He even direct traffic sometimes by the end of the School. Teachers always coordinate with parents. We have PTA for school and PTA organize AR store just to encourage kids to read. Teachers also have loot boxes in the class to motivate kids for studies. and they always contact parents if needed to let parents know how kids are doing in school. It's a very cool school and exceeded my expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I absolutely love Dr. Phillips Elementary School. I moved in the area just to go to this school. It has su ch a great small town close knit feel - something that I grew up with amd am happy that my children get experience as well. The teachers are amazing. We are the only school in Orange County that has its own in-house gifted teachers. I am extremely pleased with this school. The staff there are fantastic as well - so helpful and really get to know you. And the children get very excited when the principal is around. He's like a rockstar at the school. I wouldn't change a thing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

We love this school! Our son is flourishing at DPES His teacher is wonderful and does a great job of keeping him stimulated and challenged. The principal is also very involved. My son had golf and it actually slipped my mind and I went to go pick him up after school. The principal saw me and reminded me that it was Friday and that my son had golf. That really made me happy that everyone was looking out for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

We have had amazing teachers for our two children -- one in the VPk program and one in kindergarten this year. Both my husband and I are amazed at how much the VPk teacher taught our son so far this year and we are only half way through the year. He came into the program very delayed in his knowledge of numbers and letters and he now has a good grasp. Some of the children are already starting to read. My daughter also was behind in her knowledge of letters and is reading now. The teachers we got had a vested interest in all of the students in their classes. The kindergarten teacher visited the home of every student before the beginning of the school year to read them a story with a puppet to help diminish first day fears. The school does not pay for this but this shows you the dedication and great character of this teacher. With regard to the administration, principal and PTA I have not been so impressed. They are rather cold, occasionally confrontational for no real reason and seem rather useless. This really matters little to me how ever because my children's teachers are their ambassadors at the school and I have 100% trust in them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

As a former student, now an IT major at Florida State University, I can accredit this school with giving me a wonderful foundation on which I was able to build my intellectual and social skills as well as providing me with some of the most potent memories I will ever have. Once a Flying Eagle, always a Flying Eagle!


Posted October 17, 2011

This school is a terrible school. The teachers favor parents who are there 24/7 helping out. For those parents who can't help out as often, their children are second and not even noticed. If you want your child to be in the gifted program, spend 24/7 helping out in the school and you will get it. If your child has a medical condition, the teachers don't care. I could probably name only 3 excellent teachers out of the entire school. Children that need the extra help and have IEPs are treating badly and don't give them any encouragment. Horrible school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2011

This is the worst school I've ever seen. My poor kids losing their times in there, the teachers don't like to teach, they rather to sit outside and yell them while they're at recess, instead of enjoying being with them, they make the kids feel that they're prisoners. Also there is no principal. He is showing up when there is parents or PTA's meeting, but if you need him or if you need to contact him he disappears right away. You can't even take 15 minutes long appointment from him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

Dr. Phillips Elementrary is a great school but there is many key issues that haven't been addressed. The school is over crowded and parking/pickup for the children is ridiculous. Most the time you have to park on the street and risk getting a ticket to pick up your child. The principal doesn't respond to calls or emails I attempted to speak with him for two months about issues. There are teachers there that shouldn't be teaching at elementrary level, often quite militant and don't smile or interact with the children. Office staff is wonderful and Nancy is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

well i am suppost to go to this school but i dont know if it will be good


Posted April 8, 2010

Excellent! We came to Fl. from Co. We were treated wonderfully from the first day! We felt like we were home, our home. The entire staff has been wonderful. Thanks, Ron Emens
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

It has one of the best teachers in Orlando. The team work is very close together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2009

My son has been attending DPES K through 2nd grade. It is an outstanding school. The teachers ae excellent and communicate well. The parental involvement is fantastic. I am thrilled when I hear the office staff calling each parent by their name. They know every parent. The only concern I've had through the years has been the nurse fundraising. My son is diabetic and every year somehow we don't seem to collenct enough funds for our nurse. Although this is an excellent school, challenging for students and staff and administration are awesome, if your child has a specific need for a nurse on an everyday basis, I would strongly recommend looking at another school. Otherwise, if you have a healthy child, then this is definitely the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My son has attended DPES K through 5th and we have had nothing but wonderful experiences and terrific teachers. The staff at DPES are a terrific group of people...you'd almost think they were a family..they care about each other and every student so much. We loved the former Principal and were sad when she retired but we like the new Principal very much. He is doing a terrific job. The School Advisory Council at DPES is strong and the PTA active. There is a lot of parent participation and support at DPES. We will miss it when we move on to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

The students come first at Dr. Phillips Elementary school. I like that the office staff knows my name and is always available to help. The best thing about Dr. Phillips is the care and expertise of its nurse. She is ever vigilant and educates the parents, children and staff regarding illnesses and precautions. I feel that my child is in a safe, motivating and challenging environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

Three out of four of my children have attended dpes. We loved it. The parental involvment is fantastic. I am thrilled with the gifted program. The teachers are seasoned teachers & I am thrilled with most of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

Wonderful school, good programs like magnet
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

My child has attended this school Kg through currently 4th grade. The focus of the school is on each individual classroom. There is very little administrative or other support services offered. The teachers have a great deal of autonomy and the overriding policy of the administration is to support the teachers. This is good if you have a good teacher, bad if you don't. They have a full time gifted curriculum, which is excellent. The guidance and placement services are poor. There are no extracurricular activities to speak of. The PTA is very weak, which really hurts the school in moving beyond the basics of FCAT education. Fortunately, this is a school that serves a fairly wealthy district, so it avoids many of the problems that are encountered in less affluent areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

Program for gifted children is very good. Chorus and Strings programs available to 4th and 5th Graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2005

This is a great school that really works with the student one on one and with the parents one on one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

Awesome School. My doughter is in K-6 and her teacher Mrs. Davis is very professional and kind person. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 42%
Hispanic 21% 29%
Asian 14% 3%
Black 7% 23%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%66%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6909 Dr Phillips Blvd
Orlando, FL 32819
Phone: (407) 354-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Windy Ridge K-8
Orlando, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT