Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Deerwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 516 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2014

Muy Buena escuela. El personal docente tiene la capacidad para trabajar con todo tipo de estudiantes. No tienen un programa para ni os con idioma del espa ol pero los maestros siempre buscan la forma que tu hijo pueda entender. Estoy muy agradecido mis hijas han aprendido ingles y est n sacando buenas notas. Mi hija esta en Kindergarden y en menos de un a o esta aprendiendo a leer. Las facilidades y estructuras son muy pobres. No tienen lujos pero el personal que esta adentro de ella la hacen ver muy Hermosa. Su hijo se lo agradecer es otra familia extendida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

Great teachers and staff. Administration lacks positive leadership. The great teachers are now starting to leave. What a loss to our community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

Great Teacher's and Staff! Great parent Involvement! Principal Leadership needs to be addressed before the great teachers start leaving and parents stop volunteering!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

Excellent school...the teachers and administrators are absolutely the best! I could not find a better education for my children if I paid for it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2010

My daughter attends at this school and the staff are excellent. My daughter is in good hands. God bless these teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

best elementary my kids excelled heights i didnt think he could and teacher are old school remember when teachers cared about kids and really wanted them learn thats what we get from Deerwood great!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

I had my daughter transferred to this school over two years ago. She loves this school. The environment and teachers are great motivation for the students. I could not have asked for a better school for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

My daughter came into this school in second grade from an F school. The second grade teacher had great dedication and even though my daughter was behind in reading she passed with flying colors and was reading above her level by the end of the school year. This year she had a high 4 on the FCAT she almost had a five I was so proud of her and I thank the dedicated teachers in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

Deerwood is a great school. Excellent teachers, my children love the teachers, school staff and the activities. Multicultural Fair is great. I would like to thank Ms . Danielson (3rd grade), by the month of Feb. my son was not a candidate to pass the grade but thanks to her my son did a turnaround and was promoted with A's and B's. My older daughter's dream of attending The Osceola County School For The Arts will become true this coming up shcool year, thanks to her teacher from Deerwood Elementary that made out of her a smart and confident young lady. Thanks Ms. Bunnell and Mr.Guevara you guys are great! I Love Deerwood
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

Both of my sons attended Deerwood. It's a great school with lots of parent involvement. I feel welcome when I go to the school office to talk to someone. The music and art programs are great. My youngest son is reading at a fifth grade level in 2nd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

Deerwood Elementary is excellent in every single category! Both of my children attended Deerwood very recently and we will carry with us very fond memories of the staff and students. The physical property is standard in size but kept very clean and safe from strangers. The academics are challenging and the extracurricular activities truly stimulating. The Deerwood ESE program is widely known for being an exceptional program for students with physical and learning disabilities. I am here to strongly confirm that Deerwood teachers deliver to their disabled students. I have been involved with my son's ESE classes since 2000 and I am so proud of all he has been able to learn while at Deerwood. The Deerwood staff are genuinely supportive, thoughtful and caring. They have always contacted me when either one of my children were struggling in their studies and offered assistance. Thank you, Deerwood. Bravo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

Excellent, family orientated school. Both of my children attended and both had a wonderful exp each and every year. Extended day staff are wonderful as well. Overall we all were quite happy. I will miss that school. Its big enough to provide the children with everything they need and small enough where the staff knows you by name. on a scale from 1-10 they are a 10++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

Great school with great leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

Wonderful teachers and academic program for students who like to be challenged. Very high parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

Teachers are excellent and will challenge students to meet their highest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2006

Super school with great overall qualities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

Deerwood is way above average in the public school system. Good teachers with above average education. Art program is also above average. Fantastic parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

I liked that they increased the number of PE days but the downside is that cut into Art and Music. The teachers my child has had have been caring and approachable. Parental involvement is good but going down. They support many extras such as spelling bee, strings for 4th and 5th grade, free FCAT tutoring and other assistance if your child is having difficulties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

My son is a 4th grader at Deerwood and although this was his 1st year at the school he has learned more in this one year than he did in 3 years at his previous school. The parent and teacher participation is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

For a Florida State Elementary School. This would be a choice location. Staff is caring and willing to work with your childs needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 42%
Hispanic 40% 29%
Black 10% 23%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%66%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • W. John Mchale
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (407) 249-4422

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1356 S Econlockhatchee Tr
Orlando, FL 32825
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 249-6320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT