Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palm Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 641 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2014

This is an awesome school. Best elementary school that I have been involved with. Teachers collaborate , principal cares, teachers are smart and caring. Wonderful atmosphere to,learn. Librarian and counselor are wonderful caring staff too. Lots of parent involvement whichever benefits the children. Each grade level has iPad carts to use in the classroom. PTA is amazing with all the activities they sponsor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2010

Of the 16 ratings before mine there are 14 with the highest rating and only two with less than perfect. I think probably the two are suspect, like someone had an individual ax to grind. I don't know of any organization with so many people who wouldn't have at least two disgruntled parents. If they had no one disgruntled that would be a worse indicator.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

We LOVED Palm Lake! Our son received an excellent experience with Mrs. Cadiz for his first year of school. The lines of communication were always open and Mrs. Cadiz's emphasis on hands-on learning, respect, responsibility, integrity, and teamwork was really something special. We moved and miss Palm Lake and everything it had to offer. We were completely spoiled by our experience! The staff was always friendly, but firm and we knew our child was safe at all times. Parent involvement in the classroom was one of the most important factors for us and we were pleased that we were able to be involved almost daily. Palm Lake is an excellent choice for your child! Thank you Palm Lake and Mrs. Cadiz for setting the standard :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The teachers are wonderful, the principal and guidance staff are first rate! The whole school has been renovated and the equipment is amazing. Now they could use some new books for the library and new playgrounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

The teachers here are very hit and miss, some are good, some are terrible. Although my son did well, it was despite the teachers he had in the last two years. Some weeding out is required for the school to run at optimum performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2008

As a parent of a first grader, I am so very thrilled with the quality of education provided! The staff is a dedicated group of professionals who work very hard to ensure that each child learns on his/her own level. There is a lot of parent involvement, and parents are welcome to all events - class parties, field trips, working in the classroom, etc. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

We moved to Orlando in Spring of 1999 and my 1st child started 1st grade during the last 6 weeks of school. He had a incredible experience from the 1st hour feeling like he had started Kindergarten at Palm Lake. The Teachers are incredible as well as the Administrators. Palm Lake has at least 75 % parent involvement in the classroom and PTA activities. Unlimited volunteer opportunities and each child receives a top-knoch experience educational and socially. It could not be any better. My youngest child has 3 more years at Palm Lake and I can honestly say this has been the best 9 years for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

Palm Lake Elementary School is the best! We moved to Orlando in 2004 when my rising 5th grader waqs in his last 9 weeks of kindergarten. He cried every day when he arrived home from school in Alpharetta, GA and his teacher had told us he was a 'slow reader' and placed him in a special class. We shared this with our new teacher, Darcy Schalk (the greatest KG teacher-ever!) and waited for her testing results. Three days later she told us she could not understand why he would need help with his reading as he was reading on grade level, and furthermore, his math skills were above grade level. What a surprise! He is reading on a 6th grade level these days and we owe his love of learning to the wonderful teachers at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2007

Palm Lake Elementary is an excellent school. We initially enrolled my daughter in Central Florida Prep., but she hated it and dreaded going. She would cry everyday. However, from the first day at Palm Lake she was a new kid. She loved it and has never had a problem. She is excelling and having the time of her life. Like many parents, I chaperone the field trips for her class and volunteer at the events. It seems everyone (parents, teachers, PTA and administration) is dedicated to making the childrens' experiences and education top notch. My wife and I are very pleased and haved ruled out moving into another school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

The most unfriendly staff and undedicated teachers. Your children will be somewhat ignored compared to other kids with affluent parents. Stay away from this false grade 'A' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

The combination of awesome teachers, staff and involved parents, have made this a top notch school. The teachers are energetic, resouceful & creative. They demonstrate a sincere desire to see their students succeed. Palm Lake parents typically volunteer more hours per school year than any other school. Palm Lake Elementary was one of 8 schools in Florida that received the Presidential Award this year for academics excellence. I have two daughters attending and I am very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

The parent involvement is phenomenal. wonderful extra curricular activities. Especially music and theater. There will be a new principal 2005-2006 but the parents will demand high standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2005

This school was really a Great school. It was sending my kids to privet school. The acadmic programs are great. This school offers gifted! They had a club for almost everything! About 95% of the parents were involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

Palm Lake has to be the best elementary school in Orange County. It has an awesome principals and many great teachers. The level of parent involvement is unequalled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2003

We have been very happy with Palm Lake through four children and two excellent principals. This school is a focus for community involvement with active parents and important enrichment programs from Scouting to the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2003

We are very pleased with our Palm Lake experience. The staff and parents make this a very special school to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2003

I'm glad I chose Palm Lake for my kids school. I've been very pleased with the staff and parent involment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2003

Palm Lake Elementary is a fantastic school!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 54%
Hispanic 19%
Black 13%
Asian 9%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 144%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%66%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. DANIEL AXTELL
Fax number
  • (407) 354-2618

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8000 Pin Oak Drive
Orlando, FL 32819
Phone: (407) 354-2610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Windy Ridge K-8
Orlando, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT