Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arbor Ridge K-8

Public | PK-8 | 745 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2014

this school is the worst i've ever been to the teachers push you around forcing you to do homework, all that makes my bed time go off untill 12:00 am


Posted June 16, 2014

This school needs more help to properly work with special needs kids. Elementary school special needs teachers are overwhelmed, have no permanent assistants.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

This school is in Federal violations - IDEA, is really sad because our special needs kids can have more from them, they are just like a Day Care for them.


Posted April 11, 2014

I have to admit, my school is awesome even if I don't like school in general. The staff really cares about you. You actually learn here. I have been in this school since kindergarten and next year will be my last year. I'm going to miss this school. So many friends and great memories and even some bad ones but thats okay. I love Arbor Ridge.


Posted December 4, 2013

I am a seventb grade student here it is an amazing school the teachers are wonderful as Wells atheists whole staff the students here are so nice I have been here since kindergarten and everyone gas a friend no fights no bullies best school ever


Posted August 26, 2013

I hate this school. Their grades are high because they hold back the kids that challenge the teachers ability to teach. Most kids are held back right before hitting FCAT testing grades so that it will not impact the schools rating. Most of the teachers will sweet talk you in to thinking the children are better of being held back but is is only to not lower scores. Be forewarned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

Arbor Ridge is the best educational facility I have ever been involved with. My son has been there from K-8 and received great instruction and caring. His academic excellence is due to the high standards of all staff and the commitment they have to developing a child into a responsible, excelling student. Thanks for the support, fun, and learning over the years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2013

Fantastic school. My son is currently in first grade and is currently in a ASD classroom. The principle is encouraging of the special needs students and everyone works towards inclusion. I trained as a IEP advocate (the school doesn't know) and every IEP meeting I go to they are already suggesting interventions before I can. One of the best OCPS elementary and middle schools for children with autism. We are making sure we are not going to move just to stay near this school. They are moving towards inclusion next year for my son in a co teaching classroom with staffing support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

School has fantastic PTSA, caring and educated staff, fantastic administration. Poor ratings below are unfortunately due to disgruntled individuals who could not bully the school staff to get their way or were not able to hear anything negative about their children. No one is "trained" to cover up mistakes however, everyone is expected to treat students with love, respect and equality. Therefore, every child deserve equal focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2012

I have nothing good to say about this school. Principal and teachers are rude and very unprofessional. They only care about themselves and love to cover up their mistakes. They are very well trained to do this.


Posted September 28, 2010

Don't judge a book by it's cover. The school may be old and dirty and my kids try not to use the bathrooms, but we love it. The principal is a keeper and my kids like that EVERYONE has to follow the rules. The classes are tough! Slackers need not apply. Homework is as much a part of your life as breathing which is why the FCAT scores are so great. AR is slated to get a new building soon so the bathroom thing is only for a little while longer. I have 3 kids there now and can't WAIT to get my youngest in there too. Hopefully she'll win the lottery like my others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Arbor Ridge is the greatest school ever! Though their rules are rather strict at times, it prevents the school (specifically the middle school) from being like any normal school. I am never afraid to walk in the hallways alone, or to even walk from class to class. The academics are great, I love the one on one attention and the challenges that are thrown at me. I truly feel I am prepared for high school in another year!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2009

My youngest son was lucky enough to go to Arbor Ridge from k-8th grade, it was the best thing that could have happened to him. The teachers really took an interest in him as well as every other student in the school. My son lost his dad in the 6th grade and had a really hard time with it. The family at ARS were wonderful to him. They took a really sad time and helped me to turn it around. Two of my granddaughters attend one in 1st grade and one in the 7th. I cannot say enough about the school, the staff, the teachers etc. I was blessed to have my son there for 8 years and he is excelling becasue of the school and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

In comparison to other Orange County public schools I had to deal with, the staff at Arbor Ridge seemed to really care about the students and family and wanted what was best for everyone as a whole. I do wish that Orange County Public Schools would get their schools to have the same guidlines accross the board, it would make for a less confusing experience, especially for those new to the area. In comparison to other public schools I've had experience with in other states, even Arbor Ridge, probably the best in Orange County, is far lacking the proper resources needed for today's students. Florida really needs to figure out that educating kids right today will lead to a better future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I have been a teacher and parent at Arbor Ridge since 1994. I think the school is one of the best in Orange County. The teachers and staff provide the children with the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Starting from the Principal to the teacher. They're caring individuals that work hard to see every student excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

We moved here from another state about four months ago. I am very dissappointed in the school. They focus too much on the FCATS. Every child learns at their own pace, don't force it on them so much. He had great work and behavior at his old school. Every since he started its been nothing but bad according to the teacher. I have no problems at home. I think if the teacher cannot handle the students they need an assistant in the class so the children get more attention which his other school had, I think that made a big difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2007

Arbor ridge is a wonderful school, with wonderful staff that take pride of there school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

Arbor Ridge is an excellent school with teachers who go beyond the call of duty to ensure the students succeed. Since 1992, both my boys attended from Kindergarten through 8th grade. (My eldest graduated IB from Winter Park High and is now finishing his sophomore year at FSU.) My youngest is finishing 8th grade. Both principals, former Principal Mr. Ralph Hewitt and current principal Ms. Paige Tracey are extremely dedicated individuals and it shows. There could be more extra-curricular activities and P.E. for Middle School, but I have no complaints about the Academics. Kudos to Arbor Ridge for their dedicated teachers and staff and for laying the education foundation that has prepared my sons for high school, college, and beyond. You're the greatest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

Not very satisfied: Poor attendance at the pta. Administration does not foster open communication, and imposes decisions. Web site not updated. Academics: driven by cat testing! Stress on reading in lower grades k-2, over writing and math; upper grades: strong curriculum, but no good facilities and labs. Do not recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 45%
Hispanic 34%
Asian 10%
Black 7%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%66%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2900 Logandale Drive
Orlando, FL 32817
Phone: (407) 672-3110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

University SDA
Orlando, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT