Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bay Meadows Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 580 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2013

Teachers and Staff are wonderful. They show a lot of support for the students. Principal is seems nice but is not very visible to students or parents.


Posted November 23, 2010

Bay Meadows Elementary is a wonderful school. The staff does an outstanding job with the kids. I am pleased that it is a diverse school. I really love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

The quality of the education is EXCELLENT!!! The teachers definitely put their students first..... They variety of projects that they have help the children in all aspects of their studies.


Posted December 18, 2008

I love this school! The education my son is getting can not be matched by any private school. The PE teacher is the best teacher I have ever seen. He has really given my son more confidence in himself and I can tell all the students love his class. The art and music program are like no other. They frequently put on shows that give the children many memories. I would say that this is the best school in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

Great extra circulum activities. Attention to academic advancement.


Posted September 19, 2006

Bay Meadows is an outstanding elementary. After five years of experience with the administration, teachers, students, and parents...it is very evident that education, safety and commitment excel at this school. There is genuine 100% concern for each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

The parents are extremely involved. All specials teachers do a great job with the kids! Main office is always friendly and helpful, and enrichment program is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

This is a 'A' school with the dedicated teachers and parents volunteering. Received #1 county wide volunteer and PTA award in 2005 and 2006. Brand new facility (same staff) in highly affluent area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2006

This is a wonderful school with excellent teachers! The school itself is new and in a very nice area. I would call this a very high class school with supportive staff members.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted March 31, 2006

Great school. Great teachers and staff!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 27, 2006

All of my children have gone to Bay Meadows. Part of the big success at Bay Meadows is the parental involvement. Parents help the teachers so the teachers can teach. It is a wonderful environment. I have both gifted and learning disabled children and all have been given the best of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

Wonderful school, this is the best elementary in central flroida, all those moving here must send their kids here. Just great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

Bay Meadows Elementary is a wonderful school. The staff does an outstanding job with the kids. I am pleased that it is a diverse school. The parent involvment is incredible and it makes a big difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

Great school very involved pta
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2005

The involvement of parents in this school is fantastic. Most classes have at least one room mother who assists the teachers with many activities. The staff is responsive and the principal is very involved and approachable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

I was not impressed by this school. This is supposed to be an A school yet there is a lot of bulling in this school. Academic was yes it is okay. I have seen beter. Then again my daughter had a first year teacher
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

I have been very happy with the education my children have received at Bay Meadows. We have only been at the school for 2 years and feel very welcomed there. I would recommend this school to someone who was moving to this area. The parent involvement is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2005

Academically, Bay Meadows is the best school in the district. Their test scores are usually the highest, which is why we chose to send our child here. Level of parent involvement is very high, and volunteer opportunites are plentiful. Music and art programs are very good. Each grade has a performance once a year. The homework hotline helps you stay informed about what is going on in the class and also assignments. We have had a very positive experience here. They also have a gifted/enrichment program that you can have you child test for. The PTA is very strong and works all year from putting together supply packs that you can purchase to organizing events such as a Carnival and Family Nights. There is always something going on that you can participate in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

This academic year (2004-05) was my first experience in the public school system. My daughter, who is now in her fifth grade, went to a private catholic school from kinder to fourth grade. Our experience at Bay Meadows Elementary have been excellent. The personel is dilligent and efficient. The teachers are well qualified, teach well and are responsible with their students. The school director as well as her assistant, are very dynamic and keep everything 'on tracks'. The discipline is excellent and I mean it. In overall the school is one of academic excellency with a good and friendly environment. My daughter is happy so I am.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

The teachers at this school are exceptional. They have a large number of students and have grown so much in the last few years, I think the teachers have handled it great. I can't wait to see how things are improved upon during the next few integral changing years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

105 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 43%
Hispanic 21%
Asian 17%
Black 13%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%66%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9150 South Apopka Vineland Road
Orlando, FL 32836
Phone: (407) 876-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT