Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hunters Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 853 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2014

This is a faaaantastic school, very organized, healthy food, friendly teachers and you can see the principal doing things always so everything can run smoothly for parents and kids. I definitely love this school and so my child!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

My son is in 3 grade . He love the school. The teachers know their students. The afterschool activityes were amazing, they try to improved it every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Hi, Please help me ,as we have shifted to Orlando,i want to join my son in HUNTERS CREEK ELEMENTARY SCHOOL,WE are going to stay in "THE COTTAGES" What is the way pick and drop toschool??????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

I love this school. From the involvement of the teachers, educational activities and programs offered to the students, focus to make sure the student knows what is require of them as well as the open communication the school and teachers have towards the education of the students, great atmosphere, and all the additional oppportunities student have to get involve in extra curriculum classes after school are great. I love this school and my child does too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

My son is in 2nd grade and Ms Graham is incredible. She sends us parents weekly emails just to let us know about what they will be doing in class. My son was new in school so she has been writing explaining everything and making sure my son feels welcomed there. I had never met a more devoted and dedicated teacher. I am so grateful for this school. My son loves it and that is a blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

I'm very happy with this school. I have two kids; one went last year to kindergarten and the other to fourth grade. They both learned a lot. The school is very organized and has a great faculty staff. The assistant principal is very involved with the discipline of the kids. I love the after school programs. This is a great school, I'm confident my kids are getting a good education. Thanks to everyone who contribute daily to the success this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2012

My children's teacher have demonstrated to be well organized, have maintained good communication and are concerned about the children in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

I have a child in Kindergarten at this school. I was so excited for him and this school. From the beginning nothing but disappointment. Very little communication from the teacher and when I did get some it was only critical. My child had VPK previously and I'm told he is born but there is little that can be done because the other kids need to catch up. There is only 1 teacher per class of 18-22 and from all the info I receive the teacher is over-whelmed. On top of all of that if you join PTA you are not really joining you are simply supporting the "Board Members", simply PTA members (by the way pay up to $75 to join) may be invited to do some volunteer duties if there are any available. Basically the board members are the involved parents and they need your money. Very disappointed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

This school is good if your child is learning to speak English, My young children have homework every day and are punished if they do not have it completed by having to miss recess, etc. The children are subject to a very public reward and punishment system that lends itself to much comparison between the students. I expressed my concerns to the principal and she dismissed me and accused me of not supporting my children's education. I told the VP that my child's homework was a rehash of what he had already done in school and that he already knew all the answers and he gave me a real weird look. The recitals and school functions are characterized by unruly parents with no sense of manners who talk throughout the presentations. There is always a mad dash to the snack table after the presentations. The teachers however, are good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

The perfect school for our kids, organized, clean, very good teachers, dual-language program is excelent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

I've had 4 sons attend this school, so I can say that I've been involved in it for 11 years and I am just very grateful that this is the school my boys got to attend. Robin Geisler is a dedicated, caring and demanding principal, and the teacher staff is wonderful. Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

I could not be more happy with this school. I have gotten phone calls from both teachers and administrators to tell me how well my son is doing. How many schools call when things are going good? I am blessed to be able to send my children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

I really like the school, they have great activities to promote reading and math along with involvement of the family. They offer music and art classes weekly. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2005

Great school, teachers and staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2005

I want to say that Robin Geisler is a great Principal. It's because of leaders like her that our children succeed. We could only hope to find more Principal Like Robin,.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

My experiences haven't been all that great the first two yrs my child attended was a waste of our time his teachers were poor. The time they get to go outside during the school day is a joke they cna't play basketball,football, catch of any kind because someone might get hurt so what they can go outside & sit around & look at each other that's no fun they need to be able to run around. The PE department doesn't wnat to get a school basketball team because it would take up too much of thier time after school, but they kids want it the other schools have it & the kids just love it. The principal isn't too friendly that I've seen but she does have a difficult job. Lunch is good. Make school a fun enviroment as well as a learning one too much stress on the kids acedemics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

It's one of the best school in Orange County. I was very pleased with the principal's leadership. There are some very caring teachers who really make a difference (MS. Carnes, Ms. Poquette, Mr. Tutunick and Ms. Rholf are some of the best teachers there).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2005

Academically, HCES sets it's standards high. This is sometimes a shock to first time students/parents to HCES. Committment to education is emphasized by faculty and community. Due to new relief school, the student body consisted of transfers and recent additions to school zone from apartments. Numbers have decreased for total enrollment. Parent involvement is encouraged...however, as students get older parents tend to become less involved. Special areas are excellent at HCES. Would like to see a PRE-K program added.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2004

Nice School, Great Fourth Grade! We appreciate their support and dedication! Especially, Mrs. Long and Mr. Tutunic. They are willing to go that extra mile! Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

Both of my children attended HCES and had incredible teachers and terrific support from other staff members. This school will have its 3rd relief school open next fall and I think that shows that many people want to buy in this community because the school is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

136 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 56%
White 28%
Black 7%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 99%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%66%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4650 Town Center Boulevard
Orlando, FL 32837
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 858-4610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT