Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Orlando, FL
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Discovery Middle School 5

Posted May 17, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter attended Discovery Middle during her 7th and 8th grade. She had come from a strict, Christian private school; therefore, we were nervous about introducing her to a public school setting. These concerns quickly vanished due to the caring and support she received from teachers and students. Discovery has an amazing staff of administrators, teachers, and ancillary help, who work closely with the children to ensure success. Education and safety are priorities. The school is in need of some technology upgrades, especially since the other local middle schools have received these upgrades. Out of the many pros that this school offers, my only other con would be the fact that students do not use the school lockers. We have received two answers as to why this is the case: safety, and tardiness to next classes. To us, neither of these answers make sense. There should be a process and a plan in place to address this. However, our daughter has not complained about this. These days, most of the homework is completed online, so books stay in the classroom. Overall, it has been a wonderful experience. We look forward to our son attending this great school.

Discovery Middle School 4

Posted February 25, 2014
- a community member
The teachers are amazing! The food is not that bad either. And we are a high related "A" school. The 1 problem is the principal is not very social, I pass her in the hallways sometimes and say "hi" sometimes or most of the time she does not respond and keeps her head down to avoid any conversations


Discovery Middle School 2

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
As with any school, this school has it's up's and down's. The teaching staff is great for the most part but the school overall lacks spirit and true leadership. The principal is anti-parent and does not engage with the students or parents whatsoever creating a very cold environment for both - including it's volunteers. Coming from Waterford Elementary where the principal prided himself on knowing every student's name, and at a mkinimum acknowledged them as he passed them in the hallway if he didn't stop and engage in a conversation with them, Discovery's administration could use a swift kick in the rear end when it comes to leadership. This school is long overdue for a leadership change and could use a young and inspiring leader at the top.
1 person found this helpful

Discovery Middle School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
This school has been a blessing to our family! The teachers and students are amazing. Bullying is not tolerated here, although we have not had an issue with that anyways. It helps to be in the advanced / honors classes. We are surprised to see bad reviews from parents here. It might be a personal issue or lack of parental involvement. After all, parents must collaborate with the school for success to be achieved. We cannot expect the teachers to raise or cater to our children. The curriculum is challenging; therefore, being organized is a must!

Discovery Middle School 1

Posted July 06, 2013
- a parent
Very poor. at communication In and out of school. While you have a few decent, much bullying from teachers and office not just children. All around poor. rating poor school. Btw, not just my children either. Good luck at this school.
1 person found this helpful


Discovery Middle School 5

Posted January 24, 2012
- a parent
We moved here a month before the start of the school year from another state. My 7th grade daughter was petrified since she knew no one. The first day many kids introduced themselves to her in her classes and some invited her to sit with them at lunch. What a relief! She says it it the best school she has ever been. A true credit to the parents. The teachers all challenge her and a couple recognized the first week she belonged in the AP classes and made arrangements to keep her challenged and motivated. I have been very pleased with most of the teachers. As far as some of the complaints from reviews a couple years old: The school is not dirty. Maybe it was a couple years ago, but it is definitely cleaned up. I ask my daughter all the time about bullying...if she is a victim or sees it going on. She says no but obviously cant see everything. As a parent, STAY ON TOP OF IT AND DONT RELY ON THE SCHOOL TO HANDLE IT FOR YOU! Also my daughter is in art and the teacher never claims to have been a pink elephant..lol. Dont think twice about sending your kids here. It is a great school with challenging classes, a great sports program, a solid PTSA and friendly students.

Discovery Middle School 1

Posted March 11, 2011
- a parent
You do not want your chid here. Don't buy a home into this school zone. You'll regret it.
1 person found this helpful

Discovery Middle School 5

Posted January 28, 2011
- a parent
Great School, Caring Teacher willing to go above and beyond to help students be successful. Great AP courses and Challenging courses.


Discovery Middle School 5

Posted December 03, 2010
- a parent
hi best regard i would like to transfer my son 14 years old to study in your school now he study in grade 8 in saudi arabia and he will come with her two dgugters to orlando i want more detailes about 1-20 for him and how much it coasts to study there until getting higschool kind regards Jamal Alkhanani

Discovery Middle School 5

Posted October 02, 2010
- a parent
You will not find a better Middle School than Discovery Middle. From it's Administration to it's teachers and staff it is an amazing school. These teacher's put their hearts and souls into teaching and it shows every year when the school grades come out and Discovery is at the top of that list. Not only is Discovery an "A" school but a very high "A". The highest "A" in the county. To me that speaks volume about what is going on at the school. If you are looking for a great education, you will find it at Discovery Middle School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Discovery Middle School
601 Woodbury Road, Orlando, FL  32828
(407) 384-1555
Last modified Discovery Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Discovery Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top