Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunrise Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 472 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 6, 2011

I have one child who has attended Sunrise for 3 years now and one about to enter Kindergarten. I have been more than satisfied with all aspects of this school. The school spirit is high among the students, staff, and parents. The academics are appropriate, yet challenging. The PTA works very hard and keeps parents well informed of events, news and available resources. This school has great teachers who seem to really care about the students. Although, Dr. Innis is no longer the principal, due to a promotion, I feel Principal Grove has done an outstanding job of filling her shoes. This has been an "A" rated school for the past 10 years. In addition this year the school made "A+" status by increasing the school grade by 43 points and also met 100% of the criteria for Annual Yearly Progress (AYP). Go Eagles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2010

I have two children at Sunrise and every year has been a GREAT experience for my children. The teachers are academically challenging, the atmosphere is extrememly positive and the parents are very involved in the school. We love Sunrise!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Great school . . . highest scores in the county . . . lot of family involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

Faculty and administration that seem to have a high commitment to excellence. They also have a principal who we really like and has added stability and a strong moral foundation to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

Most of the teachers at this school are wonderful--good learning environment. The administration, mainly the principal, is not so friendly. The school, not the students, is their main concern. If you have an issue with a teacher--good luck! Because the administration will protect the school and staff, at the cost of your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

this school was ok on of my children went to sunrise and the other went to waterford i believe that waterford is a better school though becuase the teachers there are so focused on each student and they do everything they can to make the students feel great about themselves
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

We are very lucky that both of our children went to sunrise, It is a great school, great teacher and all parents are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

Sunrise is an exceptional elementary school. It is a caring environment where I am happy to send my children. Leadership starts at the top and it is obvious that the spirit of excellence has filtered down to the teachers and everyone that works at Sunrise. What a caring and loving place to educate children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

We recently moved to Eastwood so I have primarily interacted with two 5th grade teachers. My child has Mrs. Santos and we're thrilled. She creates a warm, nurturing and relaxed classroom environment while still providing an excellent education. Parent participation seems welcome and appreciated and there is open communication. Fabulous teacher. I have also volunteered in Mrs. Rolon's class and find her to have similar qualities. As a new student, my child was made to feel welcome. She has excelled-however, the homework can sometimes be a bit overwhelming. Our experience with other parents is probably typical of most schools in this area. Most are friendly and some are rather cliquish. My only real issue concerns pick-up security. It seems a bit loose - though I don't believe that there has ever been a problem. Overall, a great neighborhood school that we will miss next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

Sunrise is a good school. It can be very cliqueish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

The test scores at Sunrise are definitely something to be proud of. However, don't forget that a big reason for those scores being high is the affluent neighborhood. Also, parent involvement is the best I've ever seen. Still, I would criticize the pressure that is put on the kids, especially the young ones. My first grade daughter gets way too much homework (over an hour a day), and when I complained about it, I was treated very rudely. I believe education is important, but not at the cost of a child's self esteem. Sometimes it seems like all they care about are their test scores (both teachers and administration).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2006

I moved back into Eastwood a year ago specifically so my children could attend Sunrise. Having been in another area elementary school that was at double it's enrollment, I longed for and missed the 'community' feel of Sunrise. Within months my daughters learning disability was diagnosed and with summer school and tutoring, along with the support of the administration, she is excelling. I am extremely grateful to the staff, teachers and administrators!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2006

Having moved here from Boston halfway through the school year, I was most impressed by the level of excellence that the staff of Sunrise Elementary commits to each day. Parental involvement in encouraged. Academics seem to be on par with most of the schools in New England, actually. As for extracurricular activities, my kids did not partake of them, but it must be said that Sunrise offers a wide selection of afterschool programs that their classmates enjoy. Also, the safety of students is of utmost importance, and better than most areas of Orlando.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

My daughter just completed kindergarten at Sunrise. I am thrilled with the quality of teaching and the parental involvement is amazing. The administration is excellent and easy to work with and it is nice that all of the kids at Sunrise live in the same community. (Eastwood). My daughter enjoyed art, music, computer lab and P.E. during school as well as Daisy Scouts after school. The fall dance and spring festival were highlights for our whole family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

This school is located in a great neighborhood. For each grade its a hit/miss on getting a good teacher. The administration does not handle bullying at all and just sweeps it under the carpet. If you get a really great teacher your child will excell but if you get one that's just doing time - move to another school because you will get no support from the administration. The focus is on making the teachers happy. This is also a very affluent school. There isn't a month that goes by that money isn't wanted for something.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

Sunrise is a great elementary school! My daughter will be in 3rd grade next year, and she's been at Sunrise since Kindergarten. Great teachers and awesome principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

Sunrise is a gem in the midst of a chaotic school system. Academic integrity is maintained, class sizes are kept small and teachers go above and beyond for their students. My children have had wonderful teachers and they have both grown academically and socially, with programs in Music and Art, along with clubs, like Jr. BETA, SECME, K Kids, Chorus, as well as on-site after school activities, a great media center and an amazing Principal. Sunrise has given us a neighborhood public school with a private school feel. Parent participation is encouraged in the classrooms and we have a very active PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2005

I have had two children come through Sunrise Elementary and have never been disappointed. Every teacher is involved and interested in your child's development. The school is blessed to have benefits that other schools may not have due to extremely high parent involvement and fund-raising. Dr. Innis is a firm and wonderful administrator!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

We are so impressed with my son's school, his teacher, his principal, etc. They have great curriculum, are very organized, have small classes and a really great plan in place where the students have responsibilities according to their age. They also have a buddy system where the students are never alone when they go run their errands . This gets all of the students involved from kindergarten to 5th grade and teaches them responsibility. There is one on one easy access to the teacher and the principal is always willing to listen. The principal is a Christian, and that is very important to my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

The Sunrise Elementary school is the best in the Orange County, for the last years has been rated A+, there is a lot of activities where the parent participate. I love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Hispanic 23%
Black 7%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%66%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 Lone Palm Road
Orlando, FL 32828
Phone: (407) 384-1585

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT