Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Eola Charter School

Charter | K-8 | 219 students

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

91 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2009

Love the school! Best teachers in the Central Florida area. We have great kids and they make them even greater.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Lake Eola is the best school that i have ever had my kids attend i know have a 9th grader that if it was not for the dedication of his teachers and schools to push him to exell he wouldnt be were his at i also have a 3rd grader doing the same go lecs i love the teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

LECS believes that every child is capable of achieving great things. They have extremely high expectations and the kids prove them right consistently. If you believe they can, they believe they can and then it happens. I love the school because every parent there wants the best for their child and will do anything to make it happen. I love that the teachers are so committed to the kids that they tear up with pride when talking about their accomplishments. I love that it feels more like an extended family than a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

LECS is the best, the teachers, staff and Principal care about the children and are devoted to teaching them what they need to know and more, our children enjoying learning because the teachers make it interesting and fun to come to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I feel that our school has always offered one of the best curriculumis in the orange county school district. Our students are more prepared to go on and further their education in higher learning institutions because of the competitiiveness and learning skills that are instilled at lake eola. I do beleive that is something to brag about.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

My 2 boys have gone their since Kindergarden and it has been a great experience!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I think that lake eola charter shcool is committed to its students and their achievements. The principal really cares about the school and all of her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

LECS fosters a learning environment that makes kids love to learn and encourages them to learn at their own pace. The teachers are excellent as well and it shows in the academic success of the kids. The kids love their school, their teachers and classmates. All around an awesome school we are very blessed to be part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

My child has come from a public Sch and Lake Eola and done wonders for her personally and educationally. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Great parents, amazing staff and the best kids in all of Orange County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The building is not much. But the teachers are wonderful. And the parents probably put in more volunteer hours than any other local school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

As a former student who just recently moved on to high school, I have to say that my experience at LECS wasn't anything less than great. Though the social aspect of the school leaves something to be desired, I made some of the best friends I'll ever had there, and I was more than prepared for high school. One of the greatest things about LECS is that teachers don't focus on preparing for FCAT. They focus on teaching, and it works. My class had some of the highest test scores in the state for math, reading, writing, and science. The staff are great, which I came to realize in my 8th grade year. The facility is admittedly not the greatest, but the director is trying very, very hard to change that. I couldn't have asked for a better 8th grade year, especially the week long trip to Washington D.C.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2009

please read my review and know that i have experienced the school more than most parents have. i am a former student of LECS, i first went there in second grade and continued all the way through 8th grade. im now a freshman in high school, just got done with my third day at school. While attending LECS i received the best education i possibly could. due to the small number of students bullying was virtually never a problem. no one ever got lost. every one knows every one. But the fact that kids start learning science fair in the fourth grade, and can move on to state and even international levels by middle school is amazing. the teachers are great, they treat students like theyre people not small children. they become like friends. send your children here.and i have made what i hope to be lifelong friends there


Posted December 9, 2008

Over all LECS is a good school that has its pros, and cons- but defiantly its pros!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

Both my children have had and is still having the great benefit of an education at this school. It is now without its faults, i.e. small, underfunded, but this is more than compensated for by the commitment of the teachers and staff. Lots of homework that more than prepares for the High school magnets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

I agree there is too much homework. Especially in the summer. Requiring reading is fine and one oral project is o'kay too, but the present summer requirements are way too much for families that actually plan on not being home during summer vacation (imagine). Summer is time for travel and travel is educational!! It also should be an opportunity for a child to have lots of unscheduled time to daydream, imagine, and create. Really hard to do if they are stressed about all the projects due and how to fit them in to the limited time they are at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

Our children have been at lecs for more than three years. As my children have moved into the middle school years, we find the teachers increasingly lack compassion and respect when communicating with students (and wonder why the students are becoming increasingly disrespectful in response). The curriculum is wonderful, but the homework is just too much. The workload required for summer gets increased every year, this year requiring more than three books to be read and presentations due, as well as a thick math packet. The students feel like there is never an end to homework, never any true break....There is always, always, always a project due.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2008

I agree this is a school of choice. Ive been absolutely thrilled with mine... 3 children here for 5 years and the education for ALL the children is more than comparable to a public school AP, or Ip or gifted program (actually better than public school gifted- My experience) and children dont have to be staffed or tested in everybody gets a good education Imagine that!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

I regretfully allowed my children to attend LECS because it was the cheapest alternative to an undesirable school assignment for our family. Would I do it again? No, I realize now my children deserved so much more than they received, socially and academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

LECS is the best school ever! I've been going here since third grade and have only 1 more year after this. I've been to public school and I can say LECS is much better. Our teachers take extra time to explain critera to us so we all understand. Our f-cat scores are some of the best. Just because our building isn't the best people judge us I mean public schools have better buildings and we over exceed them. Our director is the best. She knows all of us personally, so do all of our teachers. At my school we learn academics, charcter, and lifelong skills. I'd never ever want to go anywhere else. All of the kids are friendly and welcome you in as part of the family. I think everyone deserves a school like LECS.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

18 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

18 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 59%
Black 17%
Hispanic 15%
Asian 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Female 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 50%66%61%
Master's degree 50%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

135 North Magnolia Avenue
Orlando, FL 32801
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 246-0900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Christ School
Orlando, FL




Orlando Tech
Orlando, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT