Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Eola Charter School

Charter | K-8 | 219 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

91 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2007

I am a former student at LECS and I know what a dictatorship is like. Students and parents didn t have any say, only what Ms. Denoia allowed (read other comments). It was all academics and no social time at all. I was told they didn t have any sports because they were afraid of being sued and could not afford the insurance. Since the school is in downtown Orlando, LECS has big iron gates for a reason. I had a few friends, but they lived far from us and I couldn t relate to the kids in my neighborhood. My parents finally realized what was going on and I escaped. Parents, for your kid s sake, don t be fooled by the FCAT; it hides a lot of flaws. When I left, it was like a life changing experience. Conway Middle School ROCKS!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 20, 2007

Two of my children have graduated from Lake Eola, one is still there and will be until she graduates. This is a school of choice. If a parent is unhappy they should go elsewhere. Is this school perfect? No, but I wouldn't have my kids anywhere else. My two who are now in high school could not have been better prepared especially in Langauge Arts and Science. I thank Ms. DeNoia for her leadership and vision for this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

Actually, I think some of these people have some sour grapes to deal with. In my opinion, the principal is probably responsible for the school's success. The teachers are terrific, and if they're not, she's not afraid to send them on to a 'better fit.' She runs a tight ship but both teachers and s tudents seem happy there. The curriculum is good--hasn't yet caved to the FCAT mind-numbing paperwork. And the teachers let the kids be kids and seem to actually like it. There's good energy at LECS. And my kids have been in both public and private schools. This is my favorite to date. Cheers. Yay for DeNoia and Stucker and Urtz and Freedman and Demyan and the other excellent LECS teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

LECS is the best! The teachers and staff are wonderful. To the person that complained about communication, the teachers are very accessible through email, answering any questions or referring you to the right person that can answer your question.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

Sounds like some LECS parents have their heads buried in the sand unfortunately. The common denominator you will hear from most parents at Lake Eola is that there is a major communication problem, particularly with the director (just look at the past annual surveys). There is no doubt some of the teachers at Lake Eola are second to none but unfortunately the negatives outweigh those positives. It's a shame because it is a great concept but your children deserve better than just a great concept.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

i am currently going to LECS and i love it. The teachers are great and so is the atmosphere. our bulding is not the best but that is our only flaw, if you have the chance...come here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2007

As a parent of three children who attended Lake Eola Charter School, don't be lured by the academics and the high test scores. Take time to really read the comments. According to the June 29th review, the Director, there is no Principal, 'who keeps the teachers,students and parents in line'. Also, find out about the how to be a board member. When I left, the only way to be on the board is to be nominated and voted by the same board. If you have a problem with the Director, your only recourse was to address the Board, where the Director is a member. If I had to do it all over again, I would never send my kids to this mess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

Do not send your children here if you care about their education predominantly because of the director. She is very negative and condescending and has a complete inability to distinguish between fact and fiction. The academics are not what is represented. It is average, at best, and does not stand up to the rigorous academics of a lot of other schools in Orange County. There is no communication between the office/teachers and the parents. You do not get any papers or tests back so you have no idea how your child is doing. Your child, likewise, does not get feedback; they are not told what they did wrong so they can improve the next time. Parents send their children there because it is a cheaper alternative than their unacceptable school assignment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

this school owes its success to the dynamic leadership of its principal who keeps the teachers,students and parents in line.her discipline and hard work and her ability to involve parents in its success is just amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

We have been here only a short time, and already notice remarkable changes in our kids. I am very happy with the academic program, parents are very involved, really just a big family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I found the level of academic instruction to be the bind that held more than anything else LECS. The class rooms were messy, cluttered, poorly lit and varied in tempture. Staff memebers really loved the children but clearly struggled with lack of funds to make the atmosepher engaging. As far as 'music, sports, art & other extracurricular activities'... I hope one day they have that to offer because what little they did was incondusive to working parents and expensive. There is simply no space to have such ammenities just like any after school programs/transperation, parking, committee meetings and class room space. In a diferent setting and better management, this school would be the best in Orlando.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

Pros - Parent involvement is required, and has a great effect on the school. Academics are very valued. Cons - The facility is horrible. Needs to be moved to a new building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

My child went to Kindergarten for the 05-06 school year.There were some major issues that need to be addressed.There was a total lack of instruction in regards to homework. Inconstant daily behavior notes. Student favoritism. Just to name a few. Not being able to be at the school everyday, it was very hard to get information of what was going on with the classroom, events and programs. This was the first year for the teacher. Hopefully next year will have better communication between the teacher and parents.The school as a whole, seems to be very dedicated. With lots of parent involvment. Love that they go to the main public library every week. Wish they could have more recess/recreation time. Oh and a lunch room!! I would recommend this school with hopes of more work on communication. Academically the school rates very well.In the top 10 in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

My son went to Kindergarten in 2005-2006 school year. The teacher is new to the school. From talking to her, she loved teaching there. Having volunteered in her class numerous time, I think she has tremendous energy and love for the children. My son always surprise me with what he learned at school. For example, he was telling me about spider anatomy (cephalothorax and spinneret). The building is not pretty. I hope they can find a new building for this excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

This school is amazing. If you want to send your child to an educational facility that truly provides experiential learning activities for the student then this is place for your son or daughter. Parent support is huge and they play a big role in the schoool. Including being on the hiring committee for new teachers. Administrators and facility alike are committed to excellence and believe that since childern are individual there should be different ways of teaching them as well. There is no one size fits all at this school. Therefore their A is well earned and well deserved. A gem of a school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 20, 2006

Our daughter has attended LECS since 2nd grade and is now an eighth grader moving on to high school. She has had a very positive experience and a strong basic education to build from. LECS strong points are there teachers and there strong adhereance to guideline set out up front. Homework, uniforms and behavior are stressed but so are fun, hands on education and a development of a community spirit. This sense of community is built through the fact that parents are required to volunteer a minimum of 25 hours yearly so there are always parents around doing something and we are always doing something to better our community, be it a coats for kids drive or visiting the elderly in a nursing home. Week points. No cafateria, the school building leaves a lot to be desired and the princple can be a bit gruff but overall it's terrific.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

This school is a great school, small community, so the kids get a ton of one on one attention. The standards at this school are higher than a regular public school in Orange County so if you have a child coming in to, say, grades 3 or higher, it might take them a little while to adjust as the kids here are taught to take the initiative and be organized,etc, on their own, whereas in my past experiences in public schools in Orange County, the teachers make sure the kids are on top of things - at Lake Eola Charter the kids really need to learn to be independant and take the initiative on their own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

My son has had the most amazing educational and social experience at Lake Eola Charter School. He's been there for eight years, since the school first received its charter. He previously attended a private school and I rate his education at LECS in step with what you receive at a private school. I feel priviledged to be a part of this school. I only wish there was a LECS high school! Director and staff are all A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2005

The teacher's show concern and have great communication with parents. The office is not as great in giving information/updates/etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

I went to this school 2 years ago and its small but good.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

18 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

18 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 59%
Black 17%
Hispanic 15%
Asian 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Female 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 50%66%61%
Master's degree 50%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

135 North Magnolia Avenue
Orlando, FL 32801
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 246-0900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Christ School
Orlando, FL




Orlando Tech
Orlando, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT