Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Orlando, FL
Students enrolled: 219
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lake Eola Charter School 2

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
My impression as a parent, meeting the director was very cold and unpleasant. I can say she is a bit rude. It seems the school wants only "gifted kids" and its a way to keep an image of an A school. My experience was not positive and the follow up was negative,,,, but if they want you they will follow....

Lake Eola Charter School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
I don't think it's fair on new students. My son was selected on the lottery and then he was rejected because he had an IEP....I waited some communication since they said "lets see what we do with this case"... they never called back or offer keeping his space, just no communication. Very disappointing


Lake Eola Charter School 1

Posted January 23, 2015
- a community member
I called this school and asked to speak to the Principal. I did not have the Principal's name because they do not list it on their website. The receptionist would not transfer me to the Principal without speaking to her about the reason for my call. Not sure what is going on at this school where you can't even have a conversation with the Principal.

Lake Eola Charter School 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
My kids have attended this school for 2 years now and comming from public school I can tell you that there is a difference. The public school teachers do try to make a difference but they have to deal with alot of issues ranging from over crowded class rooms, low wages, no communication with parents amongst other things. Their classes end up being daycares. The difference here is that the teachers have the support of the parents as well as the support of a great principle that helps them in anyway she can so that the teachers may focus on educating their students. Its true the staff may seem demanding at times but I know so is the real world, when my kids leave lecs I know that they will be truly prepared for what life has in store for them. We are greatful for the education that LECS provides for their students. By the way rats and birdpoop really?? Lame

Lake Eola Charter School 1

Posted December 13, 2013
- a parent
Whoever is answering the phones is rude and is quick to rush off of the phone. As a potential parent this is a turnoff. It is also unimpressive that this school feels a school nurse is not an essential position. Are you relying upon the same very busy person on the phone to play school nurse?


Lake Eola Charter School 5

Posted July 30, 2013
- a community member
To top all of this LECS is mostly best in education. School it self is not so good. Well in most schools there are EC(extra curriculum) programs. On 2009 the school cut half of the programs. From Computer, odessy of the mind, and many others. Later, starting on 2011 the school cut fencing. 2012, community service club was cut. Now the current clubs are student and teacher made clubs Secondly, the students. LECS has magnificent students . Some students are very smart but have disabilities like ADHD, ADD, and others. Those kids are very bright and end up in advanced classes. But some teachers encourage students to not really interact with them in classes they aren't very strong at. Stupidly some student use those kids as references in speeches and projects about disabled and mentally disabled people, exclude them in activities, use their disadvantages as another student's advantage. All though those kids are smart they suffer. The only the principal of the school does is lecture them, make them miss out on classes, and give them medicine Science class is the most diverse classes ever.Science fair is mandatory due to school needing funds

Lake Eola Charter School 5

Posted April 20, 2012
- a community member
I have been attending LECS since kindergarten and I'm currently in 8th grade. Honestly even though there's a bunch of bird poop and rats here the academics is what matters the most. Last year the 8th graders made 2nd place in the state in writing F-CAT. The staff is definitely NOT racist. Everyone participates in a silent read-in every year in honor of MLK. I LOVE this school and i believe that if you have a chance sign your child up immediately!

Lake Eola Charter School 5

Posted August 27, 2011
- a parent
LECS is a wonderful school that consistently out-performs traditional Florida schools. There are many projects, which are a great aid in learning, but they are not the sole basis for grading - there are many assessments that are not subjective, and the grading system is the most comprehensive that I have ever encountered. Last year LECS 3rd graders out performed all others in Orange county on the FCATs. Sounds like what they are doing is working! I am very pleased to have been lucky enough to get my daughter into a school that is not just "teaching to the FCATs", where a family atmosphere is fostered, and most everyone seems to share a "pride in ownership". The staff is very open to suggestions from both parents and students. My child did not start school at LECS in kindergarten, but this group is incredible. The principal sends post cards, parents help each other, and there are volunteer "new family liaisons" to help with transitions. I have never witnessed racism (as in local public schools), and our LECS "family" is quite diverse in race religion, and thought. Character education and community service are major concentrations at this little school with a huge heart!


Lake Eola Charter School 5

Posted August 26, 2011
- a parent
So 4 days into a new year and someone posts that our little diverse school that could is racist?? Yes it is better to get in on the ground floor, but it is a priveledge to "win the lottery"! the teaching standards and staff are incredible and only want the best for the children!

Lake Eola Charter School 1

Posted August 26, 2011
- a parent
this school is great for students that started in kindergarten. most of the grades are based on projects and are subjective.. they march to thier own drum which is not always a good thing. Also caters to the children that parents contribute to the school.Also administration appears to be selective and racist.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Eola Charter School
135 North Magnolia Avenue, Orlando, FL  32801
(407) 246-0900
Last modified Lake Eola Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lake Eola Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 106 reviews. Top