Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake George Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 597 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 2, 2014

my son is in this school and he loves it I am please with what the teachers have done with him and the progress he has made I hope he continued to be in this school until he graduates elementary school so maybe I have to move from the area but I hope he could stay in this school I will do what ever I have to do so he can be there...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

Excelent!! Teacher and Staff is very good!! The school is clean. My son is very happy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

THE BEST SCHOOL ,TEACHERS, AND STAFF .THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU.................................................
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2011

This is a wonderful school. I moved here because it was rated so high and couldn't have been more pleased. All three of my children have had great elementary school experiences. I have interacted on many occasions with the principal, who can name almost every child in the school and truly cares about each one. The only time I ever had a problem, the principal was right there to help, not taking either side. One more note- Mrs. Hinchman is an exceptional teacher and you could see the proof of that by looking at either her higher than state average FCAT scores or the affection her students show for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2011

This school gets an A rating which is deceiving, it only gives an overall view of the teaching being done. At the beginning of the year when i met Ms Hinchman, she told me she was a lazy teacher. Now I see she wasn't kidding, over half her class is failing in reading, rubrics writing, etc. Now with this new bill passed, these teachers will be weeded out and the problem with these burnt out teahers will be resolved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

My son has been going to this school since 1st grade. He's made lots of friends and i think this school is the best for a kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2010

My son has gone to Lake George for 4 years. He is now in 5th grade there. I like this school. The staff is great with on exception but over all the staff is very dedicated and acessable to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

My granddaughter attends Lake George and she loves school! I think this is great as it keeps children interested in learning. She is very happy with her teachers. She is an avid reader and loves learning which I attribute to the teachers in addition to her family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

Great School, My children have done wonderful this year at the school. They had to repeat k and 3rd grade last year and it was so hard to keep them back but the teachers and everyone made me feel like I was not a failure at motherhood and that this was happeing in the best interest of the children. And Im so happy to say that they are both doing very well and most of all they as very happy and not so down like they use to be. Their Teachers have really gone the extra mile to help my boys and I thank God everyday that they have them as Teachers and that we have such a wonderful School here in our community. I give them a ' 10'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

Polite, clean and good educational level


Posted August 20, 2007

Love the school. The teachers and the principal. The system, the safety. I'm very happy and fourtunate to have my kids in this school. And Mrs. Phillips rocks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

My son has only been at Lake George for his 5th grade year in school. The transition to a new school wasn't easy but Lake George and Ms. Lynch (Great Teacher--Thank You!) made his time there a success. He liked everything from the staff, the extra curricular activities, to the over all care, leadership and involvement provided by the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2006

My daughter has been at lake george for 4 years. I have nothing but problems with there lack of caring. The principal is not very involoved and is uncaring and always sides with the teachers. I have had to deal with her and it wasnt a very pleasant expierence. That makes the few good people there look bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

My son attended Lake George Elementary school grades K - 5. It is a lovely little school with excellent teachers and staff. He was well prepared there for middle school, which he is in now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2005

Excellent teachers. My son is doing extremely well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2005

Mrs. Brown is a number person not a people person. Most of the teachers are wonderful at what they do. I can't believe that art was cut this school year. The parents at Lake George are extremely involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

I love lake george. It's a wonderful school academically. My son has learned so much and it has a lot of extra curricular activities. He's been there since kindergarten and his academic grades have always been A's and B's. They have rotation of classes like computer,music,art,and P.E. The level of parent involvement is very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

Overall the school is very good. I personally do not care for the upper administration (ie: principal). I feel the school concentrates too much on discipline and not enough on kid playtime. This of course is an elementary school. My son is in the extended day program and gets very little outside playtime. Playtime is over when they reach middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2004

Lake George is a great school. Very warm and inviting. My children love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2004

Lake george is a very nice school. My son is in first grade and we have had nothing but positive experences.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 52%
White 28%
Black 14%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 143%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 218%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%66%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4101 Gatlin Avenue
Orlando, FL 32812
Phone: (407) 737-1430

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT