Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop Moore Catholic High School

Private | 9-12 | 1170 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Orlando

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2014

Amazing environment for kids, I love the education, the discipline, every morning when I arrive every body look happy, good energy. Is just great Margoth Abarca , karla Abarca mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

This year BMCHS has gone "all iPad" replacing most school books with apps or eBooks. Assignments are given online via Schoology -- a Facebook like application where teachers post homework, messages, reminders of tests, etc. Students can download assignments and turn them in online. For my student this is great -- he no longer forgets to get or turn in homework and the grades reflect it. The teachers are very supportive, they stay an hour after school so any student wanting / needing extra help can go to any of their classes to get one on one support. The classes tend to work in groups of 4-5 students on projects -- so it is less "sit and listen to lectures" and more interactive in learning. All in all we love the way BMCHS is educating its students -- and we aren't even Catholic! There are regular, Honors & IB classes. My student wants to come early and stay late -- I practically have to drag him away. The kids are friendly and if you are into clubs there are 50 of them and there are 40 sports teams from football to bowling to tennis to golf to swimming to lacrosse -- name a sport and it is probably at Bishop Moore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

I graduated here in 2009 and my sister in 2013 and there's a lot of bright students that attend this school! I went to Freedom High School in Orlando FL my freshman year and switched to BM for 10,11 & 12th grade and I noticed such a huge difference in something as simple as self respect and the students' concern for knowledge and doing well in school. My sisters graduating class had 2 Valedictorians! It's a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2012

My two sons are graduates of BM (2005 and 2010). Both of them were well prepared for college. One went to Notre Dame as full scholarship and my other son is in UCF. BM is one of the best private schoos in Orlando. They have great academics and athletic. I'm proud to have sent my two boys to BM.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2010

Not impressed. My daughter is getting the same education as any public school could offer her, and she is not being challenged academically. The only "above-average" thing about this school is it's athletics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

Two of my sons have attended BM. One is now @ MIT & the other will start @ Ga. Tech's Honors Program this Fall. They both had the opportunity to take almost ALL Honors & AP courses throughout. GREAT teachers for the most part, though they are concentrated especially within the Honors/AP curriculum. Caring & competent Principal. Great Sports & extra-curricular programs/ activities. Safe & Caring environment. Active participation @ local Technology, Arts, Sciences, Drama events / conferences. Always something going on @ school! :) It is very common to see children of alumni attending...great evidence of the worth parents/students place on this school. Well worth the money! Best value in quality education in Orlando! Thanks to all at BM from a VERY grateful single-parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

My grandson is happy with Bishop Moore. The safer environment and higher standards may not be worth the financial sacrifice to some, but it is to our family. I do agree, however, that the teachers are old and very set in their ways, some downright mean, rather than strict. And some just cannot control their classes...hard to concentrate, so I am told by grandson and classmates.


Posted October 5, 2009

I love it here,public schools don't even teach. Ive learned more here in a couple weeks then 2 years at public school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2009

I graduated in 2005 from Bishop Moore. Because of Bishop Moore, I as able to attend a top 20 University. I now work as an engineer for a well known national company. Thank you Bishop Moore.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2009

For what you are paying, it is not worth it. your child would benefit more by going to a public highschool and then using the money you would have wasted in this 'institution' for college instead.


Posted February 12, 2009

My family has been apart of this institution for almost thirty years. The faculty and administration provide a safe and academic environment that fosters the growth of each young adult. They are truly prepared for college when they graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

Bishop Moore has become a very difficult institution, but there are many fantastic teachers including MR. Hall, Dr. Roer, Ms Goshen, etc. I recommend sending your child to challenge his or her abilities and intellectual capacities, however this school is for highly capable and knowlegable students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

This school was supposed to be fantastic as i heard from all the hype. However the teachers are sub-par and my son feels they are too old and out of touch. although a few sports programs are good, i.e. baseball and basketball, many are lacking. Overall the raised tuition is not worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

The school is very good. The staff is too uptight about having your shirt tucked in and having your I.D on. I have already received four detentions. (2 hours each) Bishop Moore has the finest music theory teacher around. Yes, the school lacks in more music programs. But the ones that are available are top notch.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2008

Bishop Moore Catholic High School is an excellent place for any bright student to receive a wonderful education. There is an increasing diversity rate in the school in the faculty, staff, and the students. As any other place of education there are a few imperfections. This lies mainly in the Mathematics department. A few teachers in particular are not good getting students to participate and learn to the best of their abilities. Mrs. Cook & Ms. Mohr. I say this very confidently. Some of the best teachers at the school from all departments are Ms. Steadman, Ms. Moritz, Ms Warman, Mr. O'Grady, Mr. Shade, Mrs. Mickler, Ms. Finkbiner, Mrs. Grant, Ms. Ware, Coach Hedrick & Mrs. Bonanao. The Staff is also amazing and a select few people will look after you all 4 years. Coach Malatesta, Dean Wheeler, Mrs. Gros, and Mr. Reichart. The People that are the foundation of BMCHS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 27, 2007

A school of great history and tradition; As both a past and current parent and an alum, I completely endorse this institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

The academics at Bishop Moore are very good. There are limited programs for art and music, but there are plenty of sports. Extracurricular activities seem to be lacking. There is almost no parent involvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2005

Although the principal and teachers are good the quality of the education lacks consistency.Higher standards must be set for all educators.Ones who don't meet these standards need to be dealt with.Teachers are looked up to by the students and need to live up to those standards to provide a good example to all students.Consistency is the key.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

Excellent academics and sports. Wide variety of clubs to belong to. I received the highest quality education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 3, 2005

WOnderful school and education given to my children. Good moral teachers and dedicated staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Hispanic 25% 29%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 4% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (407) 296-8135

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Orlando
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3901 Edgewater Drive
Orlando, FL 32804
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 293-7561

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Circle Christian School
Winter Park, FL


Silver Star Center
Orlando, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT