Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
1,170 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bishop Moore Catholic High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
They have a very nice campus and it is very clean and kept in good shape.

Bishop Moore Catholic High School 3

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
Campus is nice. Education is great. The only problem is that the guidance counselors do not allow students to freely choose the classes they want to take (especially for honors & AP). If your child wanted to take an AP class, he/she needs a strong psat reading score. My child was not good at standardized tests, but had As in all his classes. He wanted to take an AP but they would not let him. I talked with the guidance counselor and asked if it was for the school's good reputation of their "high academic students" and she admitted it was indeed...They don't give students a chance to take an AP class because they want the school to look good academically. Many high achieving students are only in honors & standard classes. Those students COULD have tried for an AP. But the guidance counselors did not allow them due to a low standardized test score. They say they are "worried about the child's performance in the AP or honors class" but thats not 100% true. They're worried about how good their school looks compared to others...This came right out of the guidance counselor's mouth... Absolutely horrible...


Bishop Moore Catholic High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a student
White, rich, and catholic or nothing. No one else is recognized or taught about. Negative attitude towards anyone not any of those 3 things

Bishop Moore Catholic High School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
Amazing environment for kids, I love the education, the discipline, every morning when I arrive every body look happy, good energy. Is just great Margoth Abarca , karla Abarca mom

Bishop Moore Catholic High School 5

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
This year BMCHS has gone "all iPad" replacing most school books with apps or eBooks. Assignments are given online via Schoology -- a Facebook like application where teachers post homework, messages, reminders of tests, etc. Students can download assignments and turn them in online. For my student this is great -- he no longer forgets to get or turn in homework and the grades reflect it. The teachers are very supportive, they stay an hour after school so any student wanting / needing extra help can go to any of their classes to get one on one support. The classes tend to work in groups of 4-5 students on projects -- so it is less "sit and listen to lectures" and more interactive in learning. All in all we love the way BMCHS is educating its students -- and we aren't even Catholic! There are regular, Honors & IB classes. My student wants to come early and stay late -- I practically have to drag him away. The kids are friendly and if you are into clubs there are 50 of them and there are 40 sports teams from football to bowling to tennis to golf to swimming to lacrosse -- name a sport and it is probably at Bishop Moore.


Bishop Moore Catholic High School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a student
I graduated here in 2009 and my sister in 2013 and there's a lot of bright students that attend this school! I went to Freedom High School in Orlando FL my freshman year and switched to BM for 10,11 & 12th grade and I noticed such a huge difference in something as simple as self respect and the students' concern for knowledge and doing well in school. My sisters graduating class had 2 Valedictorians! It's a great school.

Bishop Moore Catholic High School 5

Posted July 12, 2012
- a parent
My two sons are graduates of BM (2005 and 2010). Both of them were well prepared for college. One went to Notre Dame as full scholarship and my other son is in UCF. BM is one of the best private schoos in Orlando. They have great academics and athletic. I'm proud to have sent my two boys to BM.

Bishop Moore Catholic High School 2

Posted December 28, 2010
- a parent
Not impressed. My daughter is getting the same education as any public school could offer her, and she is not being challenged academically. The only "above-average" thing about this school is it's athletics.


Bishop Moore Catholic High School 5

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
Two of my sons have attended BM. One is now @ MIT & the other will start @ Ga. Tech's Honors Program this Fall. They both had the opportunity to take almost ALL Honors & AP courses throughout. GREAT teachers for the most part, though they are concentrated especially within the Honors/AP curriculum. Caring & competent Principal. Great Sports & extra-curricular programs/ activities. Safe & Caring environment. Active participation @ local Technology, Arts, Sciences, Drama events / conferences. Always something going on @ school! :) It is very common to see children of alumni attending...great evidence of the worth parents/students place on this school. Well worth the money! Best value in quality education in Orlando! Thanks to all at BM from a VERY grateful single-parent!

Bishop Moore Catholic High School
no rating

Posted December 17, 2009
- a community member
My grandson is happy with Bishop Moore. The safer environment and higher standards may not be worth the financial sacrifice to some, but it is to our family. I do agree, however, that the teachers are old and very set in their ways, some downright mean, rather than strict. And some just cannot control their classes...hard to concentrate, so I am told by grandson and classmates.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bishop Moore Catholic High School
3901 Edgewater Drive, Orlando, FL  32804
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (407) 293-7561
Last modified Bishop Moore Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top