Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
1,950 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
105 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 142 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted May 01, 2016
- a parent
We relocated to Florida from one of the states up North where our daughter was in a private school. This past August she enrolled in the Lower School, and we have been quite pleased with the outcomes. The transition went better than expected, and we credit some of this with the new student orientation/buddy process. The curriculum has been sufficiently rigorous to push her in all areas of academics, but also able to accommodate the areas of her strengths allowing her to excel. The after school academies have been phenomenal. We appreciate the spiritually that is respected and encouraged. The emphasize on citizenship should be commended. We have found the teachers and administration to be reasonable and supportive. We are very happy with our selection.

Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted March 01, 2016
- a community member
Our family attended two other Orlando private schools - one well known elementary school in Maitland and a competing 6-12th grade school in Winter Park - before enrolling at Lake Highland. Our experience at LHP has been exceptional and well worth the investment. The school has outstanding facilities and enthusiastic and supportive teachers. Progressive science and math programs even in the lowest grade levels - possibly the best in town. Strong academic focus on critical thinking and comprehension. Ample opportunity to excel beyond grade level. LHP offers a broader global view where the other schools we attended were smaller and felt more regional. Opportunities in athletics and the arts are also abundant and high quality - even in the lower school. Plenty of character development and opportunities for mentoring. The school is incredibly well run - high level of customer service and professionalism. Administration is accomplished, professional and engaged. We only wish we would have moved our family to LHP sooner.


Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
We relocated to Orlando from out of state and have been incredibly happy with Lake Highland. The school is incredibly well run, and we feel genuinely welcomed into the school community. Very professional and enthusiastic faculty and staff. The facilities are exceptional, academics are excellent, and my kids are especially excited about the progressive math and science programs offered here. Each child has been pushed to meet their own potential academically, and the school offers a well rounded offering of extracurricular opportunities in the arts and athletics. This school is worth every penny.

Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted October 10, 2015
- a parent
Excellence and availability of opportunities/programs/activities for students across the board: in academics, athletics, extracurricular activites, individualized study programs, etc. Very high emphasis on discipline. Mandatory (random) drug testing of all students and faculty as a PREVENTIVE measure. Faculty-hiring process is extremely selective (furthermore, performance of faculty members is constantly "monitored/assessed").

Lake Highland Preparatory School 1

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
My kids started here in elementary and went all through high school. My former neighbor, who used to work there as a counselor, told me sending her kids to LHP was the worst thing she ever did to them. I didn't listen and sent my own children. Now, I wish I had listened. Most of the teachers are great. However, a few bad apples at each level can ruin it because the administration do not care to listen to parents even with very valid concerns. Many teachers/coaches show favoritism, and once again, administration seems to turn a blind eye. They are also very controlling, even to the point of sending girls home if their skirts (I mean, actually they are skorts) do not touch their knee. Very sexist and disappointing. The bottom line is they run their school how they want no matter what parents think or how they are emotionally damaging the kids. They simply do not care not want to hear from the parents. My children all agree that they hated the school in the end and their friends felt the same way. Save your money and send your kids to public school. Seriously.


Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
well rounded in all areas....great for college prep, caring teachers and administrators.Would like to see more spiritual emphasis.

Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
We just finished our first year at Lake Highland with a 6th grader and a 9th grader. I call this school the Goldilocks school - it is just right. They have figured everything out and do it better than anyone in town. Between the two of them, our children have attended the well-established PK-6th grade school in Maitland, the very small elementary school with a similar name in Winter Park, and the competing 6th-12th grade school in Winter Park so we know what we are talking about when comparing schools. Lake Highland has programs that nurture the academically, artistically and athletically gifted without demanding that a student be gifted in more than one area while still allowing the student to participate to his or her heart's desire. Students with limitations are also welcome to the school and are nurtured and encouraged to be the best they can possibly be. Both our children are highly gifted and they are challenged in every way they need. One child is twice exceptional and the school is fully equipped and was willing to accept him where he was and lift him to the best he can be. There is an atmosphere of combined character, love, acceptance, hard work, and positivity that we have rarely seen at the other schools. The other schools may excel in one area or the other but Lake Highland excels at all of them. The best part is that with a program that makes room for all different types of kids, this is a school where an entire family of children can succeed and be happy. There would rarely be a need to send one child to a different school.

Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
I have a child at the lower school and one in the middle school of LHPS. Thus far I have been very happy with the academics and many extracurricular activities offered at this school. Because of a couple of previous posts that I read, I would like to add that the faculty and administration care about the kids. One of my children was bullied by another child, but the teacher dealt with the problem immediately and successfully. When one of my children was ill, both the coach and dean reached out to me personally to ask if there was anything they could do to help. I understand not every school can suit every child, but my family has been happy with this fine school.


Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
My child has attended LHP since kindergarten. She is now in 6th grade and her academic achievements are outstanding. It's a demanding school academically but isn't that what a college preparatory school is all about? The arts are beyond anything Orlando has to offer. Do some teachers play favorites? Yes, but that is true in any school. Most of the teachers are top notch as evidenced by my child's performance on the standardized tests. I highly recommend LHP.

Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
Lake Highland is an extraordinary school. National Award winning Intel Science Winner, National Bright House STEM Winner, State runner up Speech and Debate Team, award winning Robotics team, honored Band and Strings students-just to name a few things. Lake Highland is truly a school that offers every opportunity for your child to find their passion.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Highland Preparatory School
901 N Highland Ave, Orlando, FL  32803
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 142 reviews. (407) 206-1900
Last modified Lake Highland Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top