Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
1,950 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
106 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 149 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lake Highland Preparatory School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
Some good some bad like with every school. However the changing of Math teachers really hurt the kids. They are really behind in Math. Some teachers are only hired because they are coaches they don't even teach the class they have a degree in. It hurts the kids.

Lake Highland Preparatory School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
Large projects given at every holiday was ridiculous not much time for celebration family time. Never understood why teachers didn't review tests and problems missed isn't that how you teach? It took a week or two to get your grade back they had already moved on to another chapter by then.


Lake Highland Preparatory School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
To survive the mean spirited daily bullying you have to be determined and have grit.

Lake Highland Preparatory School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
A lot of the students don't really know what respect is. Lhps doesn't do much to help, parents are at fault too. There were a few really great kids who all see what we saw. feel bad they are stuck in it.

Lake Highland Preparatory School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
The girls gang up and spit on each other when changing classes. They push kids off there seat at lunch or throw there food away, or even better they all turn there back on whom ever they don't want sitting at there table.. Not the nicest bunch. Administration denies it happens, does nothing. Boys don't sit or stand with girls at lunch or at pick up really strange.


Lake Highland Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
No, not at all. Sad what they condone and create. They like to put on quite a show for parents and grandparents just to get the check.

Lake Highland Preparatory School 2

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
I would love to say it was a good experience, but I can't. Core classes give "fluff" projects to increase the child's grades. weekly "extra" points were given for brining a teacher food. (really?). Parents obviously do projects, kids get awarded for it. Administration never resolves issues, grand stands for new parents and grandparents. No values, ethics or good morale character shown even when given the chance. It is all about making $$ and or sports awards. Recruits students who have no business at the school just to help them win at something. Unfortunately, most kids had serious issues (social, home, esteem) or on some sort of anxiety meds. School is smoke and mirrors. Don't be fooled by the nice campus.

Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted May 01, 2016
- a parent
We relocated to Florida from one of the states up North where our daughter was in a private school. This past August she enrolled in the Lower School, and we have been quite pleased with the outcomes. The transition went better than expected, and we credit some of this with the new student orientation/buddy process. The curriculum has been sufficiently rigorous to push her in all areas of academics, but also able to accommodate the areas of her strengths allowing her to excel. The after school academies have been phenomenal. We appreciate the spiritually that is respected and encouraged. The emphasize on citizenship should be commended. We have found the teachers and administration to be reasonable and supportive. We are very happy with our selection.


Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted March 01, 2016
- a community member
Our family attended two other Orlando private schools - one well known elementary school in Maitland and a competing 6-12th grade school in Winter Park - before enrolling at Lake Highland. Our experience at LHP has been exceptional and well worth the investment. The school has outstanding facilities and enthusiastic and supportive teachers. Progressive science and math programs even in the lowest grade levels - possibly the best in town. Strong academic focus on critical thinking and comprehension. Ample opportunity to excel beyond grade level. LHP offers a broader global view where the other schools we attended were smaller and felt more regional. Opportunities in athletics and the arts are also abundant and high quality - even in the lower school. Plenty of character development and opportunities for mentoring. The school is incredibly well run - high level of customer service and professionalism. Administration is accomplished, professional and engaged. We only wish we would have moved our family to LHP sooner.

Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
We relocated to Orlando from out of state and have been incredibly happy with Lake Highland. The school is incredibly well run, and we feel genuinely welcomed into the school community. Very professional and enthusiastic faculty and staff. The facilities are exceptional, academics are excellent, and my kids are especially excited about the progressive math and science programs offered here. Each child has been pushed to meet their own potential academically, and the school offers a well rounded offering of extracurricular opportunities in the arts and athletics. This school is worth every penny.

Nearby schools

Lake Highland Preparatory School
901 N Highland Ave, Orlando, FL  32803
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 149 reviews. (407) 206-1900
Last modified Lake Highland Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top