Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Orlando, FL
Students enrolled: 1,950
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 96 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


102 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lake Highland Preparatory School 2

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
LHP has been a great school for one of my kids but not so much for the other 2. It is a Mean Girls school with average academics. Bright kids will shine as they would at any school. I find it strange that there were 9 "awesome" reviews posted on the same day March 9,2015. No doubt there was a meeting where parents were encouraged to post. Not a surprise from LHP.

Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
Lake Highland is the BEST school to help your child reach their full potential. Lake Highland offers a broad academic curriculum, with a nuturing teaching and guidance staff that will prepare you child for college and life beyond. The strong Arts, sports, debate, robotics, community service programs and after school programs give your child every opportunity to find their passion and to excel. I am grateful to Lake Highland for the strong moral and academic foundation my children received that made them the successful adults they are today.
4 people found this helpful


Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
I had two children who went to Lake Highland from kindergarten through high school. I cannot imagine a better educational experience. The academics were excellent, the athletics were competitive and helped build character, and the opportunities for significant extracurricular activities were unparalleled. As a result of the academic preparation, both children were accepted by and graduated from two of the most selective universities in the world, and their academic success rested on the foundation they built at Lake Highland. The teachers are uniformly great - they know their subjects intimately, they are inspiring, and they love to teach. The dedication of the faculty is reflected in the range of superior programs they operate outside the formal classrooms. The debate team is consistently among the best in the country, the high-school science research program generates students who excel in international science competitions, the drama and music programs are spectacular, and the Leadership Academy fosters strong, moral leaders. I can recommend Lake Highland unconditionally to any parent who wants to prepare his child for lifelong success.
11 people found this helpful

Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
My three children attended and graduated from Lake Highland Preparatory School. Our experience was better than we could have ever hoped for our children. The faculty, students and relationships that my children formed in lower school, middle school, upper school and through the arts and sports is a strong and lasting bond to this day. My wife and I are grateful for the opportunities LHP offered our children.
6 people found this helpful

Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
We love Lake Highland! My daughter graduated from Lake Highland fully prepared; she went on to earn a teaching degree from FSU and just recently, a Master's degree in Theatre Education from NYU. Lake Highland has many wonderful things that recommend it--facilities, programs, a feeling of strong community--but most importantly the school has an outstanding faculty who teach, inspire and care.
7 people found this helpful


Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
Lake Highland is the perfect school for our family. We have three children with diverse academic, athletic and artistic interests. The curriculum allows students to select from three levels (AP, Honors and College Prep) of academic study in each course. For example, it is possible to take a college prep (non-honors) world language course while taking an AP math class. Other prep schools and the IB program do not allow this. It's all or nothing when it comes to a rigorous academic schedule. Lake Highland offers the best facilities and athletic trainers for its student athletes. There are many athletic offerings for boys and girls and truly something for anyone wishing to get involved in sports. For the student interested in the arts, there are high quality programs offered in drama, band, voice, dance and the fine arts. Lake Highland's environment supports involvement in diverse interests if a student desires. However, the student who is a "specialist" is also encouraged. Our children are more of the "well-rounded" variety, but being able to attend school with national debate champions, D1 athletic signees, patent holders and science scholars is truly enriching.
7 people found this helpful

Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
An incredible school with a great reputation! I have one graduate, one student that started in MS and one in the LS, and can say, without a doubt, this school is the perfect balance of academics, athletics, arts and character and leadership development that any school I have researched in the area. Teacher, coaches and faculty all have shared vision: developing character and intellect. They genuinely love their students as their own children. It's also one of the few schools in our nation that inspires patriotism. Much needed in the contemporary divisiveness that pervades our country. If you want your son or daughter prepared to lead, not only in college but in life, LHPS is the place for you. I strongly recommend this school!
5 people found this helpful

Lake Highland Preparatory School 4

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
Lake Highland offers students a solid core curriculum and diverse offerings for students to cultivate their interests including arts, debate, science, athletics, robotics and others. The Lower School includes preK to 6th gr. There are wonderful grade level activities that take place along with the academics. 6th gr being apart of the LS in a separate building allows that age group to be upper classman during a critical time in development. The Middle School includes 7th and 8th gr on a separate campus close by to the main campus. This gives the ms students their own place to learn independence and academic responsibility without distraction from other grades before heading to high school. The High School has a rigorous program to prepare the students for college. The HS provides opportunities to develop leadership skills and support all through the college admission process. With all that said, no school is perfect. There will always be some bumps along the way. The administration and faculty works with students and parents to work through any difficulties encountered. We have always experienced prompt responses on any questions and a willingness to discuss any topic.
3 people found this helpful


Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been a student at Lake Highland since Pre-K. She is now in the seventh grade. Our experience at Lake HIghland has been priceless. She has had wonderful, caring teachers in every grade. She has developed excellent organizational skills which help her succeed academically. The school is very proactive in trying to prevent bullying. The Middle School has a BEAST program which stands for Bullying Ends As we Stand Together. They continually educate the students on all aspects of social media and its potential dangers. The administration is excellent and immediately responsive to any issue. I honestly feel that they genuinely care about each student's well-being and ability to achieve. The fact that seventh and eighth grade have their own separate campus is testament to how attuned LHPS is to the sensitivity of kids at that age. As a family, we look forward to the next 5 years at Lake Highland and we are proud that our daughter will be a graduate of LHPS.
3 people found this helpful

Lake Highland Preparatory School 5

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
We have two children - one who graduated from Lake Highland a few years ago, and one who is currently a junior. My graduate is at a highly competitive university and finds the academics manageable - she came to the school completely prepared. My Highland junior takes a rigorous academic schedule, but still has time for clubs, student government, sports, and plenty of socializing. Lake Highland offers everything a student could want: in Lower School they are afforded the opportunity to try everything from sports and sciences to computers and art amongst an incredibly caring and knowledgeable teaching staff; in Middle School they are brought to a separate campus where they can thrive and really focus on specific school subjects and extra-curricular activities; and in Upper School they are challenged academically with a broad range of subjects and incredible teachers as well as offered every arts opportunity, sports team, and clubs that can be imagined. The school truly enriches the lives of not only our children, but the entire family, drawing us in and working together to help us teach our children to be strong, independent young adults who are prepared for the world ahead.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Highland Preparatory School
901 N Highland Ave, Orlando, FL  32803
(407) 206-1900
Last modified Lake Highland Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Lake Highland Preparatory School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 102 reviews. Top