Advertisement
Advertisement

Orlando Junior Academy

Private | PK-10

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Orlando

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2011

My child got hit on the forehead with a racket and the P.E. Teacher did not even care about giving any attention. Her forehead was swollen and he did not even have ice put on it. Her teacher was aware of the incident too, and did nothing about it. She had several times over a three day period where she complained of a headache. She could have had a concussion as there are different forms of it. Very disappointed in the leadership at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2010

My third son will complete his last year at OJA this year. We are sad to have to leave this hidden jewel in college park. They have a great school garden used for education and the lunch program which is run by Chef Kevin from K restaurant. A lot of money has been spent on the facility this past year and it is looking great. My graduated sons are able to compete with the best in high school. OJA offers a blessed environment for all who enter it's doors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

My kids have been to OJA from Pre-K through 8th Grade. It has been a wonderful experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

My son has gone to oja for the last two years and I love it, and most importantly so does he. The school is a very close family, you can feel the warm enviornment as soon as you walk in. The students are always so polite and the staff are welcoming. I have been so pleased that my daughter is starting pre-k this august. Oja has been a real blessing. Also top knotch education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

They have excellent academic programs. The school has a great curriculum that includes Saxon-Math, Foundation and Pathways for Literacy, Music PK-8th, Band, Choir, and Full time Spanish and Computers. P.E. has a formal curriculum and extracurricular sports activity such as PeeWee basketball for Pk-1 and all the way up to 8th grade with Soccer, baseball, basketball among others. Its the best in Orlando.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

My daughter has attended k-4th grade and we have been very pleased with all her teachers and her progress. I would highly recommend this school to anyone interested.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

As an OJA alumni and parent of three children (the third will graduate this year) I can say with certainty that Orlando Junior Academy is indeed a school of excellence. OJA takes a whole child approach to learning and has a family atmosphere second to none. This is the best possible place for a child to be educated academically and in the ways of the Lord.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

Our daughter graduated from the 8th grade last evening from OJA. We are sad because it doesn't go through to the 12th grade. This has been the most incredible experience for her and us at this school since 6th grade. The education she has received from OJA far surpasses any public school. Almost all of her classmates graduated with at least an honors certificate, and many with other achievements that will be invaluable to them in the years to come. This is a fantastic school based on Christian principles and values. Our daughter will be in public school for the first time in her education since pre-K and we feel with OJA as her base that she will excel in every area of learning she encounters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

Both of my children attend this school, and nothing can compare to the love and acceptance they feel. OJA is their second home, where all of the teachers and older students know them and where they learn of Jesus and His love. The fact that they're not only learning to read, write, and do math but also loving it is just 'icing on the top the cake.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2005

Both my children have attended OJA since pre school and have enjoyed it. They have a great sports program and as a working parent the before and after care programs have come in handy on many occasions. The price compared to many private schools are affordable. The teachers are awesome and encourage parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Associations
  • GCSDAC
Fax number
  • (407) 894-6213

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

30 E Evans St
Orlando, FL 32804
Phone: (407) 898-1251

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Volant School
Winter Park, FL




St. John Lutheran School
Winter Park, FL


The Parke House Academy
Winter Park, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT