Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori World School

Private | PK-8 | 190 students

We are best known for authentic Montessori School.
 
 

 
 

Living in Orlando

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $303,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2012

After visiting other Montessori schools throughout the United States, I find that Montessori World School on Ruby Lake Road in southwest Orlando is an authentic Montessori school! They have a warm and supportive community of students, teachers and parents. Learning is not focused on rote drill and memorization but creating opportunities for children to become independent thinkers! Montessori World School core values begin with a deep respect for children as unique individuals, and they provide for children s social & emotional and physical development. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 2, 2012

I believe it was once a great school, it may still be our son was there until last year. He went preK to second grade. The school is hitting some rough times. In 1st/2nd grade he had 3 teacher changes. One teacher was fired because she was overwhelmed and then the teacher hired to replace her wasn't qualified. We decided to leave because of this. Not to mention the third graders in his class were bullies to the younger students; not very Montessori like. After all the chaos, the head master tried to keep the tuition from his second grade enrollment. We didn't have any of that, they didn't hold up there end as a Montessori school. Not to happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2012

My daughter is currently in the middle school at Montessori World School, and both she and I couldn't be happier with the curriculum, teachers, and community. My daughter's teachers (and the whole staff) clearly care very much about her (and every child) as a whole child: they are nurturing, encouraging, spend lots of time and energy determining and providing just the right level of challenge for her as an individual learner. They are passionate about learning themselves and help to instill a life-long love of learning in all their students. My child is not just thriving academically at Montessori World School but learning skills that will serve her well throughout her life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

MWS's middle school, which is only 2 years old, is a program that only the Montessori method could produce. The MWS middle school offers a unique educational alternative that connects the adolescent students to living things, including each other, and the wider world, while pursuing meaningful work, personal expression, and intellectual development amid a setting of mutual respect and immense learning potential. I look forward to my son journeying through the school which will provide him a lifetime of daily victories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

Something really special happens here for the students. Something life changing. And that s what s so exciting. You can t quantify it, but it s there. It happens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2011

My son has thrived at MWS since he was a toddler, and is now in 5th grade. We specifically sought out an authentic Montessori education for him because we appreciate the focus on the whole child, and the way Montessori provides opportunities to grow as peaceful global citizens as well as to learn subject area curriculum in an integrative and individualized program. Multi-age classrooms offer flexibility for all levels of learners to find challenges, and Montessori World School teachers are top-notch, loving and caring. What a great place to receive a well-rounded education and support as a child grows. I'm looking forward to my son's middle school experience there, with the creative and innovative Montessori Adolescent program - so critical to be nurtured during those challenging and transformative years. As a former Montessori Adolescent teacher, and state certified educator, I am confident he will receive the best middle school education in our region. We love the MWS community of dedicated staff, teachers, and families who are all collaborating to provide what children need to reach their highest potential as human beings. I encourage you to see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

Just what makes Montessori World School a great school? In my opinion the variables can be many but without a doubt it s the dedicated professional caring teachers who genuinely like children that make the distinction of quality and greatness. Rooted with strong moral compasses they create beautifully esthetic classrooms and provide opportunities for the children to holistically experience education. From Pre-primary to primary to elementary to middle school it is the teachers who make the difference. As the director of admissions, it is my distinct honor to collaborate and work amongst these quality individuals.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 16, 2011

Montessori World School is one of the kind school. I have two children in MWS, my son is there since 2005. and my daughter since 2009. This is their second home ! MWS has welcome, family friendly atmosphere with all kinds of actvities to involve anyone willing to give their time and talents. The teachers are the best of the best, extremly dedicated and educated. The education my kids are getting can not be matched by any other school. The quality of the education, and the method is excellent. I would highly recommend this school, just go, visit and take look at the children. If you are looking for school where your child will get respect, education, and experiences that will last a lifetime than, this is the right place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2011

As a previous student I found that my first two years with Mr. Montero. Who is now at West Orange Montessori were great years. Then I went to the middle school they had to offer... It was horrible. The teachers never challenged us and the school only wanted the students to do labor around their property. For the middle school they only do online work never text or work books making your searching around for several places just to find these useless.They do tons of fundraisers and the money is not used for student needs. I do not recommend this school. The tuition is over $8,000 for pre-school and over $10,000 for middle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2011

Middle school is not good, too much internet research, they dont challenge the student to go to the next level of education. The tuition is too high for see a student in front of a computer or see them making a garden around the school, the parents can do that at home and pay only for home school, they save money by doing that and received the same education. "I do not recommend this school".
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 7, 2010

I had similiar experienec at a Montessori school. My child made progress but felt socially isolated and did not want to go to school.She was an ESE student. As much I wanted Montessori to be for her it was not. I do not think one method works for every child. She also showed regression in her second semester. Which made me think we needed to be more creative. Teachers took offense. I do not think they were used to parents advocating for the child. I have to comment that I tryed to post a new review regarding this school but could not. I have not been to Orlando Montessori World School but did want to express that you are not alone in your experience with a Montessori School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

There are some serious problems at Montessori World. They do have some very nice teachers, but some have marginal qualifications. The school is unnecessarily heavy on the administration payroll and this leaves little support for teacher/student needs. They have no PTA organization so parental concerns are never publicly addressed. The Montessori model is an excellent educational philosophy if properly delivered. Unfortunately, at Montessori World there are numerous academic shortcomings and the students are left far behind in subjects like Science and Language Arts. The Preschool and Kindergarten were nice, but after having our children there for several years and becoming progressively more apprehensive we shifted into the public system and feel our needs are now better met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

This school is wonderful. If you are looking for a great school, this is it! The children build extraordinary reading, thinking and math skills here. The children learn to be concerned about one another. The teachers take a true interest in their students. They challenge each child according to each child's potential. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

I love the School, the teacher student relationship. My son is very happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

The School is wonderful! We have been here for 3 years and I just signed up my second child for their Toddler program. The parent involvement is very high. The teachers are supportive and have constant communication with the parents. The extracurricular activities needs improvement, but overall the school does a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2007

I have 2 children here, and love it. The teachers are great, and really involve the parents. We have already signed up for next year!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

Great montessori school and this school follows the Montessori concepts, My kid is very happy here
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 3%
Hispanic 14% 29%
Black 6% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:40 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Nora Yee
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (407) 239-6582

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Golf
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Debate
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We are known for preparing environments that holistically meet the child's interests and abilities at each plane of development on an individual basis.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11659 Ruby Lake Rd
Orlando, FL 32836
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 239-6024

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT