Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. James Cathedral School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Orlando

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

Academically the school is very good except for part of 4th through 6th grades. They use the same teachers there and only 2 of the four were quality teachers (one of them has since left). The Principle runs the school like a dictator who will side with her teachers in all instances (they never do wrong or make mistakes). She had an unqualified teacher try to teach math. Luckily I am good at math so I essentially taught my son that year. The Vice Principle is nothing more than a "yes man". I have seen them waste money on programs that are the "flavor of the year", and they are discontinued because they are ineffective. My son is now in 8th grade and we cannot wait to leave. My daughter will be going to another school. They are not the best school and all the catholic schools are blue ribbon so that means nothing anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

If you are truly concerned about your child's education, no other school in Central Florida compares to St. James. The technology, language classes, arts, etc. are unmatched in the region. Our daughter LOVES it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

We recently changed from another private christian school and wow were we surprised how behind the other school was until our daughter started at St. James Cathedral. Our daughter LOVES her new school and I would recommend St. James to all. The school is so organized and everything is very well thought out and structured. The teachers really want your child to succeed and is there to support the parents all the way. We thank God everyday for such a wonderful, beautiful school in the heart of downtown Orlando. Keep up the great work St. James!!! You are an awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

St. James Cathedral School could be a wonderful school - under the right leadership. The biggest issue is the lack of communication with parents - other than the Blue Ribbon rhetoric. The Principal and Vice-Principal view parents as adversaries. Many of the teachers on staff are wonderful, warm and dedicated and there is a good deal of parent volunteer involvement. If you want to actually know what is going on at your child's school, pick a different one than St. James Cathedral.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

St. James Cathedral School has been a wonderful, nuturing and faith-filled community for my 3 children. My two oldest children were very well-prepared for high school and my youngest is following in their footsteps to well rounded character in academic, social, emotional and spiritual areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

St. James is a fantastic school. I have been teaching here since 2002 and I have found my second home! St. James is truly a community of faith-filled faculty, staff and families. The curriculum is challenging and students strive to do their best!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2008

My two children attended St James from Montessori through 8th grade. They were prepared both spiritually and academically for high school and college. The teachers are higly qualified and pass on a love of learning to their students.


Posted August 10, 2008

I have been a student for..over three years now. I am proud to say that St. James may not be the biggest school in the district but it is the biggest school in faith, academics, and more. I love this school becuase not only does it allow you to achieve more than you could pursue, but it will treat you like the family that you have. Thank you for everything St. James! I love you! See that's how much I love this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2008

My son has attended St. James since he was 4 and I have found it to be a wonderfully intimate and loving environment. The academics are strong, not weak. The teachers are very competent and very communicative about a child's strengths and weaknesses. I have enjoyed every minute of my son being there. The parents are all so very involved---it makes all the difference in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

The academics are weak and there is a lack of discipline for inappropriate behavior. The parent/teacher communication is poor as well and some of the teachers are incompetent and complacent. The principal is supportive of her teachers and not the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

My child has attended the Montessori program since he was three, and we have been very impressed with what he tells us about and the things he does in class. Each child is allowed to be him/herself, and they really encourage independent thought, self sufficiency, and caring for others. The mixed age group is great - the older children learn to be role models for the younger ones. Parents are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

A wonderful school. Caring, interested and qualified teachers. Active parents. Loving atmosphere. Spanish from Kindergarten. Sports programs for all ages. Dynamic principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

We love the school and attention and care childeren get. The teachers are not all that qualified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

I think St James is a great school. they have really worked hard on adding technology to the school. I do think they need to work on their arts/music program and their lunch program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 44%
Hispanic 15% 24%
Asian 4% N/A
Black 2% 29%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • AMS
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (407) 648-4603

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Orlando
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

505 E Ridgewood Street
Orlando, FL 32803
Phone: (407) 841-4432

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




The Christ School
Orlando, FL


Windows Preschool
Orlando, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT