Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 653 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Orlando

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2014

This is our fifth year in Holy Family and we love it! Class sizes may be larger than some other private schools, but there is discipline and a healthy respect for authority, so the class size has never been an issue for us. SIster Dorothy is truly a saint and goes out of her way to have personal interaction with the children and families. Everyone is made to feel special in the "Holy Family family." There is a Christ-centered philosophy combined with excellence in academics and athletic opportunities for all skill levels. Parents are encouraged to volunteer - much more so in the younger grades. Volunteering is a lot of fun and we find that it helped us get to know the classmates of our children. HFCS is a great school that we recommend without hesitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

This is our first year at Holy Family and we love it! Though the Nov 17, 2011 posting has nuggets of truth, it is slanted by a jilted parent. My son's class is 25 kids strong but there are 2 teachers in the class and only 2 classes per grade. Kids fall in line when they walk to the cafeteria and are taught to keep their hands to themselves. I love that my son is learning to discipline himself in public. Each family is required to volunteer 20 hours per year or pay for their volunteer hours. As a full-time working mom, it's very difficult to meet this requirement but it's such a great opportunity! I've volunteered during recess, lunch and special activities. It's such a treat to have the teacher open up her classroom for parents! As for the church envelopes, we go once a month and only donate what we can afford. We are not targeted nor have we been asked to leave. Any tuition is expensive when compared to public schools but when compared to other private schools, Holy Family is one of the least expensive. One great thing about Holy Family is that they are not FCAT driven. Kids don t learn to be excellent test takers, they learn for knowledge and for the joy of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2011

The school is very clean and well kept. Security is good. The classes are very large, my child had 36 kids in class, which is unacceptable amount of kids for a private school especially for the amount of money we have to pay. Kids do not get the proper attention cause of it and they are ignored. The kids are also treated like robots, they can't talk anywhere in the school, even during recess they are limited, which is only 15mins, they can only talk quietly and not move around like normal kids. It's ridiculous cause these are children they need to move and be kids. The school is always forcing parents to "volunteer" and if you don't you have to pay the school $500. Everything is money with this school, constantly asking for money. Even the parent background check is $50 where other school is usually $35 for the exact same service, exactly the same. If they see you don t give enough money in the church envelops you will become a target and they will find a way to either get you to donate more money or get you out of the school. Everything in this school is about money and the school image than the children. The parent review submitted 2/11/2011 is exactly right!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

Holy Family is a warm and caring community. Sister Dorothy is an absolutely WONDERFUL principal. We love her and she really cares about every child. Three of our children attended and have thrived academically, spiritually, and socially. We've always felt welcomed and at home. We've made some really great friends over the years that are like family. It has been a home away from home and we call it our "Holy Family family!"...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

The classes are very large & it seemed that the school was constantly relying on parents to volunteer in order to be able to have enough coverage for anything from PE to Computer lab & even though every parent is screened I still had my misgiving over parents assuming roles that should be filled by licensed educators.I love parental involvement but at times it seemed more that it was a school "NEED" due to lack of staff. The homerooms "moms" seem to be the same cliques every year, and are not very open, or welcoming.If you are new to this area,or refuse to play the society game this can be a very cold atmosphere for your child since in turn they will be excluded socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

Excellent school! I have had 3 children at HF since 1996 - present continuously. Now one is @ MIT & another @ Ga.Tech [Honors program]. Sr. Dorothy -the principal- is very caring & competent; the teachers are above average, some even outstanding! Children are viewed as 'whole persons', not just as students. As a result, the caliber of graduates exceeds expectations. A great place to grow up at!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

This school is great. It is a blue ribbon school that strives for excellency. My children love it and I as a parent am satisfied with the curriculum, the extra curricular activities and sports, and most importantly the Christ centered environment and all the catholic values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

A Fantastic School! The children are gaining not only knowledge from the great teachers but also confidence as individuals. We continue to feel blessed that our children are able to attend such a wonderful school. They are gaining a solid foundation in their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

It's a great school,my kids enjoy going to school everyday .Discipline is important and I like it.The school is very clean .It'a a blue ribbon school and I am happy I have my children there.The parents volunteer,The students works are displayed,the principal likes to interact with students,teachers and parents,she is very confident.Students act respectfully toward each other in class.And the facilities are well maintained.It's safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

This is a fantastic school, with wonderful caring teachers. Although class sizes are large, the kids seem to get the most out of a school day. Excellence is encouraged and help given to those who need it. Extra curriculars keep this a family environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

I love my school! It is a great school and I wouldn't go anywhere else even if I had a choice! Holy Family is a great Catholic environment for all children. If you want your child to get a great education while having fun and growing in their Catholic faith every step of the way, this is the school for you! Parents can volunteer too!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2007

Our first year, and our girls just love Holy Family! They really do all they can in order to see your child succeed. If we weren't moving, we'd probably attend again next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2006

I think in the EEC the children are prepared very well to step into the 'big school'. The teachers are very involved and caring and small class sizes benefit the child to fully appreciate their first exposure to religious education. I am amazed at how much they learn at such a small age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

Great school, all around community is friendly. Teachers are great, sometimes learn high school level material. Sports, and extracurricular activities are great. Great events and celebrations such as drug free week and catholic school's week.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 19, 2005

I have two children at Holy Family and firstly, they love the school. More importantly, my husband and I see our children thriving academically and socially. The teachers we have experienced are great - patient with the children, caring and are very knowledgeable, experienced teachers. The school offers many appealing extras with the Spanish being taught, team sports, band, chorus and many extra curricular activities that are available to the kids. It's a great school and our family is very happy to be a part of Holy Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2004

The large class sizes are the only drawback to this wonderful Catholic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2004

Outstanding school! My oldest child has been at Holy Family in the original kindergarten! He is now graduating 8th grade! I have never had one single compliant! Superior school! Great parent invlovement! There are even parent to parent classes so all parents can understand their children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

Sister Dorothy really cares about the students. They teachers are always willing to try new things and get involved with the students on all levels. It is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

A very good school with exceptional parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 17% 29%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (407) 876-8775

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Orlando
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5129 South Apopka Vineland Road
Orlando, FL 32819
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 876-9344

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Windy Ridge K-8
Orlando, FL



The Crenshaw School
Windermere, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT