Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Orlando, FL
Students enrolled: 700
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lawton Chiles Elementary School 4

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
Since my daughters have attended this school I have nothing negative to say regarding their academic progress. My daughter's 2nd grade teacher Mrs. Aymat was always available and informed me of any additional academic resources to help my child. Now in 3rd grade I can see her teachers work very hard and do everything they can to motivate students. . As for my Kindergartener I am more than happy that her teacher Mrs. Perez worked really hard in ensuring that she is 1st grade ready before she went on Maternity. My only complaint is that there is so little parent involvement represented in the PTA meetings. It makes me sad to see so many families at dances, etc yet at PTA often there is less than 10 individuals. Meetings are only 1 time per month usually after 5pm and PTA is so so important. It provided information about your child's classroom grade, activities at school and how the money collected gets spent. Also you can bring your child and have them use the computer in the media center. If any parents are reading this please help support the PTA it really makes a difference in having more parent and even teachers involvements.

Lawton Chiles Elementary School 4

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
Ms Miranda is the best kindergarten teacher.Both of my children excelled in her classroom.Thank you Lawton Chiles!


Lawton Chiles Elementary School 4

Posted March 16, 2011
- a parent
This is a great school. I have two children enrolled. My son is in 2nd grade and my daughter in 5th grade. They have been there for the previous year as well. The teachers and staff are excellent and are attentive to the needs of students. Their zero tolerance for bullying is great. Among the fantastic teachers such as Mrs. Hoyos, Mrs. Murphy, Ms. Gaumond, Mr. Schafer, Mrs. Carillo are only a few that I have had contact with and as a parent appreciate their great teaching skills!!! Awesome!!! Great School.

Lawton Chiles Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lawton Chiles Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Lawton Chiles Elementary School 1

Posted February 17, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Lawton Chiles Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2008
- a parent
Very good school. The principle is very attentive, and takes full ownership of his school.

Lawton Chiles Elementary School 4

Posted August 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lawton Chiles Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 27, 2008
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. My child had a great learning experience in 4th grade with Ms. Skoloski and Ms. Rick. These teachers were there for the student. I must admit at first I thought they were too challenging for students until I saw the progress my child was making throughout the year. These two teachers are demanding, but now I am so glad that my child was in their classes. I would like to see the office have better communication with parents. When calling the school most of the time, no one will answer the phone. It was also very difficult to get the vice principal to call you back.

Lawton Chiles Elementary School 3

Posted June 12, 2008
- a community member
From the outside Lawton Chiles looks like a great school and generally speaking it is good. There are definitely many excellent teachers, but the administration and support staff are weak. Unfortunately, the principal and assistant principal are more concerned about campus 'politics' than making decisions for the best interest of the staff and students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lawton Chiles Elementary School
11001 Bloomfield Drive, Orlando, FL  32825
(407) 737-1470
Last modified Lawton Chiles Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lawton Chiles Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top