Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

937 students|Orange
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
69 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Avalon Elementary School 2

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
Been very patient and have tried to work with this school. It has so many good reviews, was under the impression that is was top notch and that we were fortunate to live in this school district. However I am sadly unimpressed and highly disappointed. If you child has any special needs from asthma, to behavioral issues,to ADHD then this might not be the best school for your child. If you work for a living, you will be called to come pick up your child because something has happened at the school and they cannot handle it. Be prepared to be bombarded with fundraisers, fun runs and the like as well as flyers for costly after school programs for karate, football, etc. Prepare to have your problems ignored because they are above such reprimands with it being part of an affluent neighborhood they are above such scrutiny. The hype for this school is high, but the resources and quality of care is much lower than expected and the student population is very high. If you can afford private school, I highly recommend it as an alternative. Many concerned parents (we talk to each other) requested their children switch teachers at the beginning of the year. A select few simply pulled their kids out. Not sure if this has anything to do with a change in principles, or not. If your child is very average with no issues you can take a gamble on this school, otherwise transfer somewhere else or enroll in private school.

Avalon Elementary School 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
Mr.Aldridge has been an amazing principal. What a welcome change. Student friendly, age appropriate motovation is now present in this school. Very appreciative of the change. Happy mom!


Avalon Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2015
- a parent
Best school in Florida! Up to date with learning abilities. They have the best system in place giving the children the best education.

Avalon Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 18, 2015
- a parent
Excellent school that uses current technology to teach students. They have certified gifted teachers who teach gifted students in a all day setting, so your child isn't bored in a slower paced classroom. My daughter is in these high achievers class and she's been learning from the best teachers. So accademicaly this school performs! All the teachers are wonderful and friendly except 1 or 2. My only complaints are the PTA, they run the school. I assume many of them think by being in the PTA their kids will get certain privileges and the principal is unheard of always.

Avalon Elementary School 1

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
Great community. The majority of the teachers are excellent. Administration only cares about test scores. Sanders is only about the money and I would agree, sees kids as dollar signs. Teachers are beat down by the administration. School would be better regardless of test scores due to involved parents. The support administration is weak. Vega doesn't have backbone. Not a leader but a puppet to the principal. Have to give it a one because a school is only as good as their leadership. The school was fantastic-but there is a palpable change and it is not for the better. Choose a neighboring school instead-Timber Lakes or Stone Lakes. Happier kids.


Avalon Elementary School 2

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
Most all of the teachers at this school are great. I wish I could rate the school solely on the teachers. Unfortunately that positive is overshadowed by the administration, specifically the school principal, Pam Sanders. She is highly focused on test scores and that is it. High performance on tests dominate the atmosphere and excludes anything else. There appears little, if any, time for fun and developing a love of learning. Furthermore, I feel the principal sees my child as a dollar sign. I feel this school would be better if there was leadership that respected each child for all their abilities, rather than what test score they bring to the school. They actually posted student names on their marquee that had perfect state tests results. To me school is about more than a test score and the over emphasis unappealing. I had a neighbor move to get away from the testing emphasis that she felt was particularly high at this school. It is unfortunate because this is a great neighborhood with great kids. I think more parents would be involved if there were a more approachable and empathetic leadership. I hope any future administration will run things differently.

Avalon Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
Avalon is a great school. The teachers care about their students and the staff is friendly and approachable. Although many parents commented on the gifted program, I also believe the focus and support for struggling students or those with an IEP is also excellent. I had two kids go through Avlaon, one needed additional support in reading and math and the other didn't. The one who needed additional support received free tutoring after school and additional reading support during school. Both my kids were challenged and their education excelled. The one who struggled with school was once a C/D student. He is now an A/B student.

Avalon Elementary School 1

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
PTO control this school with the principal being the ringleader. If you are not part of the click, your child will be left behind. They are focus on the children being robots and cranking out perfect grades and making the appearance of a good school. look elsewhere for a good school


Avalon Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2014
- a parent
My child is gifted student. And Avalon Elementary gift class is all day learning with only gifted students, so the curriculum and learning might be different from the Stone Lake Elementary (gifted class offered but not all day setting). I really love Avalon Elementary school.

Avalon Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
My kids and I love this school!! This school have good teachers and good leaders (Mrs. Sanders and Mr. Vega) that really care on education. I'm happy they are learning and at the same time enjoying everyday here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Avalon Elementary School
13500 Tanja King Boulevard, Orlando, FL  32828
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 77 reviews. (407) 207-3825
Last modified Avalon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top