Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Olympia High School

Public | 9-12 | 2959 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2013

I won't say this school is perfect,because it's not.However,unlike what other reviews say,it is a great school.Some classes are still too oversized and the curriculum still lacks a bit though.Despite what some parents may say about some teachers and how they teach,it's usually their students fault for the grade they recieve.It's simple,if at least one person has an A,then the teacher is doing their job.If a student is unable to retain what is taught,that's their fault.Alot of students get away with blaming their teachers for thier grades because their parents are naive enough to believe them.Most of the teachers there care about thier students from what I've seen,some have even made personal relationships with their students.The sports there are pretty good(except football).The only real problem at the school is cooperation.Students aren't meeting their teachers half-way.Regardless of all that it's still an A school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2013

Despite not being able to exempt exams, even if I have an A in that class, this school is by far the best high school I've attended. I love that a Latin class is provided, it really shows that they care for our scores on the SAT. It also shows the variety of classes here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2013

Olympia is actually a GREAT school. I have a daughter that graduated from here last year and I have a daughter that will be a sophomore here this year. Last year I had absolutely no problems with either one of them at Olympia. They loved it! There are of course some teachers that they liked more than others. And there were some teachers that really didn't care but they both did what they had to do and moved on. I would recommend Olympia over any other Orange County high school hands down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2011

Olympia may not be perfect, but it's still a great school. Most of my teachers are good, and Mr. Budd, my drama teacher, is amazing. He really cares for his students and isn't judgmental.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2011

The area where Olympia High School is located in SW Orlando is one of the nicest places in Orlando to live. But unfortunately, Olympia high school is bad news! There are two full time orange county sherrifs on duty at all times to break up the weekly fights and investigate all of the stealing that goes on at that school. It's out of control! And, if your kids play basketball watch out! They have a terrible freshman coach, a JV coach with an anger management problem and varsity coach who is there just so his son can play, which is why more than a half a dozen very talented student athletes have transferred to better schools. If you've ever seen the show Lock Down, that's what it looks like when they change classes. Go tour the school and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

i am a current student at olympia high school and i totally hate it here the school has no control over there kids the teachers are very rude and judgemental because olympia is a white school people think that everythings is good about it but their wrong the sports teams are weak, the activites they have are always mainly white kids, and olympia has nothing to offer no magnet programs really most people say that they would rather have there kids go to olympia then oak ridge, evans, or jones but in the years 2009-2010 olympia has had more fight then all these schools that are labeled as bad because its a black school if any student is planing on coming to olympia i would think twice
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2009

A new school that scores an A in the state and cares about its students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

I have 2 daughters that attended this school and I have to say I have seen it change for the worst. If your daughter plays sports be carefully they have their picks of what sports they support for the girls and as far a academics goes, you do have some great teachers but you also have some terrible one's as well. I think that they have a ways to go and I don't think the administration care enough about the students (all in general) to get them to the next level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

I won't say this school is perfect,because it's not.However,unlike what other reviews say,it is a great school.Some classes are still too oversized and the curriculum still lacks a bit though.Despite what some parents may say about some teachers and how they teach,it's usually their students fault for the grade they recieve.It's simple,if at least one person has an A,then the teacher is doing their job.If a student is unable to retain what is taught,that's their fault.Alot of students get away with blaming their teachers for thier grades because their parents are naive enough to believe them.Most of the teachers there care about thier students from what I've seen,some have even made personal relationships with their students.The sports there are pretty good(except football).The only real problem at the school is cooperation.Students aren't meeting their teachers half-way.Regardless of all that it's still an A school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2008

I have been to 4, count them, four high schools and have transferred high schools 5 times. I have been to Dr. Phillips and Olympia, I have been to Brevard County and I am now currently enrolled at Freedom High, and the only one that I would return to in a heartbeat is Olympia. The teachers care a lot about the students that they are reaching, and though I do not currently agree with the principal in power, the administrators have been nothing but tolerable and sometimes even helpful!! The Drama department is amazing at this school and the teacher of the department is the single most kind, welcoming, nonjudgmental, and inspiring man I have ever met in my entire educational career. And I have NOT seen a school ANYWHERE with as much school spirit as there is at Olympia. It is a genuinely amazing place to go.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2008

It's awesome! I love it so much. It is really cool and educational. I really like and wish I could have done high school 5 times!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2007

anyone noticing a pattern in the reviews? its overcrowded, the kids are horrible, the teachers just don't care. honors are way too easy, i have less work than my friends at Dr. phillips in regular. everybody goofs off in class, teachers can't control them. the schools only been open 6 years, and its crazy! The kids are very snobby, most grew up toghther and don't want to be friendly to new people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2007

Olympia is in a struggle stage. We put our son in for a year and half. In that time, he went through 2 principals, 2 ADs, and 3 guidance counselors. Sports are weak. Classes are overcrowded. Honors teachers were weak. But, the AP instructors are very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

I have a senior who has enjoyed almost four years at Olympia. I have been impressed with the teacher involvement in the academics. Olympia has a growing sports & music foundation, as it is still a young school. As for the people [concernedj with] inequality among the races, I haven't seen that. Olympia has a very diverse population, but I think that learning is first set in the home, and that the students will do best by what is taught at home. I have been pleased with what Olympia has been able to teach my children, and would recommend it over other high schools in Orange County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2007

The teachers were mostly good. We have only 2 lunchs, and they are packed. The hallways are so small, and people at lockers take up at least half of every hallway. Classes are full to bursting, and running out of chairs. All of my classes have over 30 kids. we lost homecoming last year. sad. I am a junior this year and can't wait to graduate and move out of state.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2007

We had two difficult teaching issues last year. Engineering did not have the equipment. They kids watched videos 2-3 times a week. One teacher was out sick more than in and there was no consistent subsitute who could keep the kids on track for a class that had an end of the year county exam. Now my child wonders if he is prepared for the next level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

I absolutely love Olympia. The teachers and administration staff are really great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2006

Olympia is one of the best high schools I have been to. The teachers and students are very welcoming and the school makes you enjoy waking up in the morning for school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 16, 2006

i am a freshman at olympia and i just love how thier are so many nice kids. and the techers are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2006

As a parent to 3 OHS students I see first hand the level of care and involvement OHS has given to each of my diverse learners. Our family is involved and spends a great deal of time planning,working and investing hours on campus and off. Our pricipal Mr. Avossa has met each of our sons on the field and in the classroom. Our teachers devote themselves wholeheartely to mastery level. This school works hard, plays hard & discipline is a must among all learning communities. We beleive our senior has been prepared for college and will succeed in life b/c of his daily training OHS. We Love Susan and Ellie what a delightful team they are to greet visitors at the front door.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

789 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

721 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

727 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

716 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

496 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

676 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

641 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 39%
Black 27%
Hispanic 21%
Asian 9%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 93%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%66%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. GUY SWENSON
Fax number
  • (407) 905-6465

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4301 South Apopka Vineland Road
Orlando, FL 32835
Phone: (407) 905-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Crenshaw School
Windermere, FL



The New Academy
Windermere, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT