Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 46 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


50 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Olympia High School 4

Posted October 20, 2013
- a student
I won't say this school is perfect,because it's not.However,unlike what other reviews say,it is a great school.Some classes are still too oversized and the curriculum still lacks a bit though.Despite what some parents may say about some teachers and how they teach,it's usually their students fault for the grade they recieve.It's simple,if at least one person has an A,then the teacher is doing their job.If a student is unable to retain what is taught,that's their fault.Alot of students get away with blaming their teachers for thier grades because their parents are naive enough to believe them.Most of the teachers there care about thier students from what I've seen,some have even made personal relationships with their students.The sports there are pretty good(except football).The only real problem at the school is cooperation.Students aren't meeting their teachers half-way.Regardless of all that it's still an A school.

Olympia High School 5

Posted September 22, 2013
- a student
Despite not being able to exempt exams, even if I have an A in that class, this school is by far the best high school I've attended. I love that a Latin class is provided, it really shows that they care for our scores on the SAT. It also shows the variety of classes here.


Olympia High School 4

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Olympia is actually a GREAT school. I have a daughter that graduated from here last year and I have a daughter that will be a sophomore here this year. Last year I had absolutely no problems with either one of them at Olympia. They loved it! There are of course some teachers that they liked more than others. And there were some teachers that really didn't care but they both did what they had to do and moved on. I would recommend Olympia over any other Orange County high school hands down.

Olympia High School 4

Posted December 06, 2011
- a student
Olympia may not be perfect, but it's still a great school. Most of my teachers are good, and Mr. Budd, my drama teacher, is amazing. He really cares for his students and isn't judgmental.

Olympia High School 1

Posted January 05, 2011
- a parent
The area where Olympia High School is located in SW Orlando is one of the nicest places in Orlando to live. But unfortunately, Olympia high school is bad news! There are two full time orange county sherrifs on duty at all times to break up the weekly fights and investigate all of the stealing that goes on at that school. It's out of control! And, if your kids play basketball watch out! They have a terrible freshman coach, a JV coach with an anger management problem and varsity coach who is there just so his son can play, which is why more than a half a dozen very talented student athletes have transferred to better schools. If you've ever seen the show Lock Down, that's what it looks like when they change classes. Go tour the school and see for yourself.


Olympia High School 4

Posted April 16, 2010
- a student
i am a current student at olympia high school and i totally hate it here the school has no control over there kids the teachers are very rude and judgemental because olympia is a white school people think that everythings is good about it but their wrong the sports teams are weak, the activites they have are always mainly white kids, and olympia has nothing to offer no magnet programs really most people say that they would rather have there kids go to olympia then oak ridge, evans, or jones but in the years 2009-2010 olympia has had more fight then all these schools that are labeled as bad because its a black school if any student is planing on coming to olympia i would think twice

Olympia High School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
A new school that scores an A in the state and cares about its students.

Olympia High School 2

Posted May 06, 2009
- a parent
I have 2 daughters that attended this school and I have to say I have seen it change for the worst. If your daughter plays sports be carefully they have their picks of what sports they support for the girls and as far a academics goes, you do have some great teachers but you also have some terrible one's as well. I think that they have a ways to go and I don't think the administration care enough about the students (all in general) to get them to the next level.


Olympia High School 3

Posted April 08, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Olympia High School 4

Posted September 17, 2008
- a student
I won't say this school is perfect,because it's not.However,unlike what other reviews say,it is a great school.Some classes are still too oversized and the curriculum still lacks a bit though.Despite what some parents may say about some teachers and how they teach,it's usually their students fault for the grade they recieve.It's simple,if at least one person has an A,then the teacher is doing their job.If a student is unable to retain what is taught,that's their fault.Alot of students get away with blaming their teachers for thier grades because their parents are naive enough to believe them.Most of the teachers there care about thier students from what I've seen,some have even made personal relationships with their students.The sports there are pretty good(except football).The only real problem at the school is cooperation.Students aren't meeting their teachers half-way.Regardless of all that it's still an A school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Olympia High School
4301 South Apopka Vineland Road, Orlando, FL  32835
(407) 905-6400
Last modified Olympia High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Olympia High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top