Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Regency Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 194 students

We are best known for superior education/lower cost.
 
 

 

Living in Orlando

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $104,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

RCA is a great place to grow academically and spiritually. I have seen every teacher working hard to reach families and care for each child academic life. Electives are great, they have Music, Technology classes, Praise in Motion, P. E. My daughter has grow in foreign language. I see her speaking and being afraid to interact with other teachers in Spanish! The Spanish Teacher teaches a musical and interactive curriculum program through the year. The children keep folders and are been taught to be responsible with their academic work. I am so excited to share that the office is friendly and easy to approach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

The best school in Orlando, the teachers are wonderful the staff is great ... If you want the best for your child go to regency Christian academy.. My daughter is her second year there she loves it and I love it ... As a parent u can feel the confidence and peace when u leave your child at the school . Totally recommend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

Great school .I love the teacher and we have two sons in RCA which is my first son in the third year .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

Excellent christian school they provide a program of Christian education. Each worker at Regency Christian Academy is there to serve the Lord by helping parents mold the life and character of your child. I loved RCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I think RCA is an excellent school with seasoned teachers, each having the ability to teach, not only academics, but grow students to be wonderful role models for future incoming students. The school is up to date on technology, with a full 18 Mac computer program, and iPads for all middle grade students. RCA also offers Art, P.E.. Spanish, Praise in Motion, and Computer classes. You will love our office administrators, who are friendly and very knowledgeable about the school. Last, but not least, the school has a wonderful administration, whom are always willing to help when they can. I would not hesitate to send my children to RCA!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 16, 2013

I love this school!! It's the second my son is attending and will be the last!! The staff is awesome, good communication and a very friendly environment. My son has learned a lot!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

This is a school that has been making all the right moves. They have added up to date computer lab with brand new Mac computers. They have added foreign language throughout the school. Excellent teachers with multiple teachers having a PhD and tons of experience. Great after school programs including ballet and dance as well as martial arts. While the academics are challenging using a combination of Abeka and BJUPress curriculum, they really shine in the spiritual area with daily Bible classes and a weekly chapel.


Posted June 8, 2011

I am a parent of two children that have attended RCA for several years. My children have always done well at Regency Christian Academy and have had caring, creative and compassionate teachers who have gone the extra mile. My children have also been involved in many of the extra-curricular activities provided by the school. I am pleased to see the expansion of the activies to include such a variety for the students (Honor Society, Student Council, Volley Ball, Chorus, Safety Patrols, Band). When RCA decided to expand the school and add middle school, our family was thrilled. It was vey successful for our child. We are thrilled with the progress, SAT scores and future plans in the school. We are excited to hear of the Mac computer lab that will be in place for the 2011-2012 school year...which will bring about computer classes, a computer club and other possibilities. Other new additions to the school include Spanish classes for all grades, video surveilance for the preschool classrooms and a special preschool Noah's Ark mural in the preschool hallway. The new administration and school board at RCA are dedicated to making an already fabulous school- just AMAZING!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2011

All staff have good itentions but perhaps not the right qualifications. Cirriculum is challenging, spirituality is overflowing, friendly environment. Poor choices of school board contribute to declining quality. Tuition cost too high for the programs offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

We truly enjoyed our Child attending Regency Christian School. Our child has attended for the past couple of years. It is unfortunate to say the school has gone downward. Unfriendly Staff, well maybe to some parents. unfriendly and un welcoming feeling. Safety is scary here. I have walked into the school mid day to pick up my child for a doctor appt., and no one knew I even went in and came out. Someone was supposed to be at office, guess at that moment they stepped out. There are cameras, but are they working? After school program, a bit of a mess. Childrens items thrown about, whose is whose? Just Not the same any more, as when we first joined the school. A true shame. for the Price you Pay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2010

RCA is a wonderful school. My child has been attending RCA for 4 years now. In kindergarten she was taught cursive writing along with other things that students are not taught until years later in other schools. As a growing school each year they add more extracuriculum activities. Next year they will have a seventh grade. I recommend this school highly. Everyone is very personable and everyone seems to know each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Both my children, ages 7 and 10 had the benefit of attending RCA for 3 years. They have a wonderful staff as well as a challenging curriculum. For financial reasons they were not able to return this year. My son has been placed in advanced classes in sixth grade which I know was a result of his schooling at RCA, and my daughter is completed bored with 1st grade in public school because she is learning what she already learned in Kindergarten at RCA! If you can afford it, I recommend RCA wholeheartedly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Our son went to school for 4 yrs and at the beginning it was great bu every year started to deteriorate and now we are very disappointed of it He is not going back next year The school needs more real professional teachers that are willing to work the children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

RCA is a wonderful school. Both my children have been students since 2006 and I have never been disappointed by their Christian education. I'm excited that they've added a 6th grade to the school. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2008

The school is OK. For the money I was paying I thought they would go the extra mile to promote different ways to teach and more extra curricular activity. My children have always been A students and continue to be but at RCA they were bored and with too much time on their hands. I am pulling them out for this next year. :(
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 42% 29%
Black 20% 23%
White 19% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Michele Purvis
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • FLGA-LCMS
Fax number
  • (407) 859-1130

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
  • tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • We accept 4C and the Step Up For Students Scholarship. We also offer Voluntary Pre-Kindergarten! Please visit our website for more information. RCA offers a Superior Education with a Godly Perspective. Not only that RCA offers a great education that is extremely competitive with the other private schools in Orange County!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
193
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
200
Students typically come from these schools
public school
Christian School
Private Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
4C and Step Up Scholarships
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11513 South Orange Blossom Trail
Orlando, FL 32837
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 851-7270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ibn Seena Academy
Orlando, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT