Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Morningstar Academy

Private | K-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Orlando

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2008

This is my son's first experience with homeschooling and it has not been very good. The one on one tutoring is pretty worthless, I have had to hire a tutor for his Algebra. When I have voiced my frustrations to the school all I get is I'm sorry. (If I can get a hold of anyone) I suppose It is good for kids that are extremely smart and don't need any teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

I go to the Morningstar and personally I hate it. The teachers are nice(at times), but their lazy sometimes. One teacher wouldn't change my grade she said because 'shes not able to change my grade'. I know this is a lie because my grade has been changed many times. Another thing is that many of the atomatically grade asignments mark answers wrong that are actuallly right. When this happens I have to mail the teacher and wait for a reply, which takes forever. Sorry for any spelling mitakes Im not abele to scroll down on what i'm typing so i cant see what im typing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

This is my son's fourth year attending Morning Star. He is a Senior this year. He is ADHD and this program has helped him because he can work on school at his peak focus times - which from time to time is in the middle of the night. He actually was able to live in Ukraine for the first quarter of his junior year, attend some classes with the US Embassy school there and still work on his regular classes. In the public school his grades were C,D, and F's but now he is getting A's, B's, and C's. The work is challenging but it does provide a good education and I do not have to grade papers and prepare lessons. For us it is a win, win and I have recommended this program to others and will continue to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

This school is not one of my favorite schools. We have been homeschooling our son since he was 4. We attened Abeka Academy. What a difference. Abeka is well structured and amazing. MorningStar is terrible. Our son used to get staight A's now he gets F's! The lessons are very confusing and the teachers are rude. They act like its a big deal they create portfolio for you but they forget to mention the 75 dollar fee. Do not use this program if you value your childs education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

This is a wonderful school if you do not live in NY. NYS requires 990 hours/yr. The school doesnt give you nearly that much. Other than that its a wonderful program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

The school has been a good experience for my daughter. Communicating via email or phone with the school has been very difficult. I have waited up to 2 weeks for a response at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

I have many frustrations with communications from the schol The phone is never answered and the parents site is not up to date with the student s site For someone who has home schooled this may be no nig deal but we did not and have had extreme amounts of frustration about our ability to communicate. This was not the case last year but has been this year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

I have been extremely grateful for The Morningstar academy online homeschool program. It has made my life so much easier. Right now I have three students at MorningStar and I would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone considering homeschooling. There really is no comparison between using them and trying to homeschool alone with just a curriculum. I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2006

My son is enrolled in The Morning Star Academy after doing 5 years of Abeka. I am thrilled with Morning Star and my son is pleased also. It is fun for him and thus, motivational. He loves chatting online with the other students in the social center . He also likes using the raise your hand button for asking the teachers a question. After assignments are submitted, the teacher leaves comments for the student. My son really enjoys this feedback. Sometimes there are a few technical difficulties, but not enough to turn me off. The staff seems to be quick about dealing with these problems. Overall, I think it is a great schooling alternative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2006

My daughter has attended for two school years. i am very pleased with it. There is a lack of teacher help but my daughter can pretty much go through the lessons on her own. The workload can be overwhelming at times, and challenging. But the over all quality and flexibility of the school is good. I have found them to be parent friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

I have just started looking into this school I am sofar impressed with the fact that they offer AP classes and are able to track progress online. Morningstar Academy also allows students to take classes outside of their program and get credit for them in their JOY program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

This is a online program. There is to many server problems and hardly no one on one teacher help, which they call 'raise your hand' any complaints are in one ear out the other.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10151 Univeristy Blvd
Suite 334
Orlando, FL 32817

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Arbor Ridge K-8
Orlando, FL


University SDA
Orlando, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT