Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Living Word Academy

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Orlando

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2012

I do not recommend this academy. Teachers are not prepared to work with a variety of learning styles. Teachers expect all students to learn the same way and are not willing to work individually with each child or to work in small groups with students that need that extra help. They discriminate if the child has a certain difficulty the just say: " We cannot help him/her here". Unfortunetly, they do not believe that every child learn at their level and that all of them different abilities and potential. They simply label a child saying that cannot be in the school because is a little slower or need additional help. Me and my family are very disappointment with this school. My child is now in another school and is doing great! The sad part is that I think that a Christian environment should be very loving and teacher must believe in every child. Well, public school teachers are expected to help every child learn... Something to think about...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

I enrolled my kids for 2008-2009 school year & was somewhat disappointed.After reg fees/books were paid,we were informed @ Orientation that classes were going to be combined.How could that possibly be a good idea?If your child was a little behind,how could they learn correctly in a class w/ 2 different grade levels?If your child was top of the class,where would the challenge be?And,if they are taking the same test in a combined grade level class, what does the lower grade learn next yr? Teacher/parent communication is terrible. Public schools communication is actually THE BEST..agenda,phone voicemail,& email to contact teacher.With LWA, you have to make an appt or write a letter & wait for response.Last,school starts @ 8:35AM & sometimes the elem school doors are locked @ 8:25AM,which makes your child late sometimes.Overall,they're organized & clean.Kid's loved the lunch.It's just the classroom I had a problem with.I switched schools this year :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

A great school with loving people to teach and care for our children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Curriculum-Abeka Low enrollment this year. Classes were grouped. K &1st, 2nd & 3rd, 4th & 5th (School goes thru 5th). This was informed after paid tuition fees. Informed of this during Parent Orientation. Tuition is average,not cheap either. $450.00 + book fee, etc. For this amount we expected our child not to share with other grade. Art- What art? Prior school used Abeka art book for teachers. Here there is an Art teacher, but teacher is shifted around. Music? none. Only during special events. 2 this year.Which I give credit, they are organized. Teacher communication-only thru Agenda. Face to face talk is almost impossible. I found this horrible. Curriculum is good-small chance for error since they don't deviate. Teachers can't add much to the curriculum. Cleanliness-very good. Lunch-no outside lunch allowed,only snack. Computers-none Library-none P.E-none Classroom's-nice-clean Foreign lang.-none. Science- yes- I found lacking. History-yes. Playground-yes, very nice. Fundraisers-none Ask the right ?'s
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

My son started last year and within a couple weeks he showed improvement in his talking writting etc. Its a great school wouldnt take him anywhere else i highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

I definately recommend LWA to any parent for their children. My son just started school this year in Pre-4 and is learning so much. The schools overall maintenance and teaching methods are perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

I absolutely love this school for my children. I had the choice to take them to public school and refuse to. They learn so much at this school. My son is going to second grade and is ahead of other kids his age. My kids love it and the staff is like family. They're the best. God bless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

I have been a LWA parent for 8 years. Both my children have attended the school. Up until this school year I have been proud to tell anyone that my children attended this school. But this year, I have noticed some changes in how the school operates. The school went from being a very family oriented school with teachers and staff that really cared about the children to a school with a teachers and staff that I feel are not properly trained to care for young children. On several occasions my son has been left under improper care and in one instance he was injured. Luckily the injury was not life threatening but could have easily been. I have found it very difficult to set up meetings with my son's teacher. I was very disappointed with the school and have decided to withdrawal my son from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

Highly recommend. The staff, teachers are professional, caring and creative. The school curriculum is excellent, keeps the children motivated and challenged. Plenty of school activities involving the parents. The principal is great and has many activities for the kids. You will feel like home !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

Highly recommed, my son has learned many new things, the staff is like family. My son is treated with the highest level of care. I feel extremely comfortable, every time I leave him drop him off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

I highly recommend this school. My son just started pre-school this year and we have had a very positive experience. The teachers and staff are very caring and the curriculum is just challenging enough to keep a child's interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

I highly recommend this school. It has been part of the Community for years and the high level of care, education, and professionalism makes this the best learning center for Preschool, Kindergarten and Elementary Grades. Visit them on the web: www.LWAorlando.com
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 85% 29%
Black 9% 23%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
White 2% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACTS
Fax number
  • (407) 447-7638

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

653 Wetherbee Road
Orlando, FL 32824
Phone: (407) 851-9800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT