Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 642 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2012

This school is very unorganized and staff is very unprofessional starting with the principal. My two kids are here and Im trying to look for a transfer. Students and their safety isnt their priority. Very sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

I have 2 children attending this school(3rd grade and Kindergarten) It is an awesome school! My kids are loving it. The staff here are very nice and put alot of effort in making this an A+ school!!! It is very organized and all around a great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

We have been going to East Lake for 5 years now and simply love it! The teachers are wonderful, the staff is great, and you couldn't find more dedicated parents and volunteers. Mr. Rizzo made a smooth transition after Dr. Rummler left East Lake, and has taken on even more responsibility now that we no longer have an AP. I believe we currently have a little over 600 students attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

East Lake Elem is a fantastic school.. My daughter has been a part of East lake for 5 years and she's loved every single moment of it, as have I. The new principle this year was a difficult change but after getting to know him and his qualities we have found that Mr Russo shows great respect for his school's students and staff and eagerly puts forth the effort to do what is right for all of them. there is NO school that will ever be perfect, things do occur that sometimes are out of everyones hands but in the five years we've been a part of this school - i can honestly say we are 99% satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

I have 2 children that have attended this school, my son, for 4 years and my daughter, for 3 years. And my my youngest child will attend for his first year. I am so impressed with East Lake Elementary. The Principal is very active and involved in student activities during school hours as well as during off campus events. The teachers and staff are wonderful towards the parents and more importantly towards the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

They are so relaxed at this school that they lost my child. They have unqualified parents running this school due to no money in the budget and a Principal (who seems really good) but is controlled by overly involved parents in the school. If you can afford to be a stay at home mom I could see you really liking this school, but if you have to work be prepared to be given the worst teachers because the involved parents will take all of the good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

This is my son's second year at this school and he really loves it. The teachers ensure the students excel and have a excellent behavior system which is recorded daily in the child's homework planner. This keeps the parents informed as well. Excellent, innovative gifted program of which we are looking forward to seeing our little scientist grow and excel in this exciting program. Ms. Alice of the extended day is wonderul!Love the spirit of the principal and teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

Great school, principal, assistant principal, staff! My daughter had an amazing teacher and she will be hard to beat in the future. As with every school, not all the teachers are the same quality, though. Gifted program is a little of a joke, with 1hr/day 4days/week. Avalon Elementary offers full day instruction. Do you expect these kids to compete someday with equal chances? Extracurricular activities are few. There is a club offered for 8 weeks (I think) with little choices (Webkinz? Sad choice ), I heard of some music club (for older kids) and that is it. PTA is great, active, involved. Last, but not least, lots of hard working volunteers. The school looks clean, nice inside; the outside starts to look a little neglected. There are just a few plants in front. This should be the school s pride - I wish we can get together and maintain the exterior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

Is a good school, my dother tell me all the time, the she has fun and the teacher is excellent teaching the children, and the Principal is a good person, very helpfull with everybody is so nice person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

My kids are in thier second year at East Lake and I love it! The principal and administration is very caring and involved and they provide a real sense of community within the school. There are extracurricular activities offered and they nourish the children in every aspect. They have a great music teacher who gets the kids involved in programs and provides structure while allowing room for a creative outlet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

My daughter was a student here last year 5th grade, so unfortunately her last year, this is a great school, the teachers are caring and understanding, they go the extra mile to make sure students are learning and growing.If you are considering this school its an A+. You simply can't find any better. The office staff is also simply great and very friendly.I had one incident where i had to meet with Mr Rummler and also found him to be very friendly and concerned and went out of his way to solve problem. I wish all schools had the standards that East Lake has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

This is my daughters second year at East Lake. Overall I feel the school is okay. However it does lack teacher experience. Also the PTA president was very rude with me when I brought up a concern. Overcrowding is also a problem. There are 18 children in my daughters class this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

East Lake has a passionate principal with a true love for kids, supportive and great administration, motivated and excited teachers, involved parents, and a brand new building!! Who could ask for anything more? I could not be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2007

This is my daughters 1st year at the school and unfortunately it will be her last (she's a 5th grader). We moved over here from Southwest Orlando and we couldn't be happier with the school and teachers. The school has so many extracurricular activities and the after school program exceeds any expectations. The classwork keeps the students challenged and really prepares them for jr high. Overall a great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

If there ever was such a thing as a perfect school, it would be East Lake! Our principal, Mr. Rummler is incredible with the students and the parents, and he is available at any time. It is obvious the teachers truly enjoy their job and working with our children. I feel that my child is safe while at school, and he looks forward to going to school and learning. Wow! We received an 'A' last year, but we already knew we were an 'A' school long before the results were in and it had nothing to do with the test scores! Thank you, East Lake staff. You are truly wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

This school is wonderful. It has a lot to offer, a responsive principal, and dedicated art, music and PE teachers. My children love this school and found the classes taught to be informative and that they were challenged. The vice principal is lacking however, but I think this is because he came from a middle school environment and hasn't found his grade school 'legs' -- perhaps he'll improve. No candy or soda offered at lunches, which is great. Awesome extra-curricular activities; however, this is their inaugral year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

My two sons started in 4th and 1st grades with this new school and I am happy to say that it was a GREAT year for both of them. The teachers were available for and interested in my children and their education. A.I.P's were in-place for my 1st grader with ADD. My volunteer time was well utilized and I will be an ADDITIONS volunteer next year and as long as they will have me. I was familiar with much of the staff and think the world of them. I am a paid member of the PTA athough not active in the organiztion so I can't really comment there. Overall I think EastLake has a bright future and I am pleased my children and I are a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Hispanic 25% 29%
Black 7% 23%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 82%66%61%
Master's degree 18%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3971 N Tanner Rd
Orlando, FL 32826
Phone: (407) 658-6825

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Arbor Ridge K-8
Orlando, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT