Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sand Lake Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 445 students

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2014

Brilliant school with brilliant teachers... I love sand lake it deserves the high rating published due to hard work of pupils, parents and teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

The teachers are dedicated, caring, and innovative. My son loved his fifth grade teachers and was challenged to achieve his best. Very pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2012

As a parent of 3 children at Sand Lake, we are very happy with the quality of education they receive. The PTA is amazing and puts on the best events that are fun for the entire family. The children are challenged but are given the confidence they need to try new things and feel comfortable being challenged. The teachers and faculty enjoy what they do and it is apparent that they care about the children and they want to be there. You never have to worry about the safety of your children as the school procedures are well respected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

Absolutely loved certain aspects of this school but our child actually regressed in what he was able to do at the start of the year. I think it was the teacher, but was very disappointed at the lack of response on the school's part. I will say the school is spot on when it comes to safety and cleanliness. But is way too FCAT focused, It's a little too driven on creating excellent test takers and not developing critical thinking skills and whole students. Once FCATS were over my child's class watched movies & played games everyday for the rest of the year. Really disappointing! They did get amazing results on the FCAT this year. But there is so much to w well rounded education that does not involve test taking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

Sand Lake is a fabulous school! All 3 of my children loved this school and its teachers. The principal is dedicated to making the school and the kids the best they can be. I've been an involved parent through the PTA & am impressed by the warm and welcoming atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

This school is a wonderful place for my children! Love the faculty and staff.. the school property is wonderful and new! We bike to school and it's so much fun! I know my children are healthy, happy and safe at Sand Lake Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

My son is in first grade and has learned so much from his teachers. The school provides a safe and caring educational environment where he can thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

Sand Lake Elementary is a wonderful school with a strong administration, talented teachers and an active PTA. My child is receiving an A+ education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

I am very happy with the quality of education my children receive at this school. There are many ways for parents to get involved. I love the balance in helping out with your childs class and letting the teachers do their job. Excellent school, excllent staff. Couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

we love this school - from teachers to front office staff, all are welcoming and concerned first and foremost with our children's education and safety. It is obvious that this overall attitude comes from the principal, who is extremely hands on. we have never been at a school where the principal is so available and visible to students and parents...we are glad to be here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

Sand Lake Elementary is a wonderful school - from the administration, teachers, parents and students. Everyone has the same goal in mind to do what is best for the students and to help the students achieve their full potential. My children come home everyday happy, healthy and ready to share their day with me. They can't wait to get back to school the next day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

We love having Sand Lake in the neighborhood. It's beautifully maintained and easy to get to via the bike path. The students are sweet. My second grader loves to go to school and comes home feeling great about his accomplishments. I think the faculty has a strong focus on academic achievement and from what I have seen, are very caring about the whole child as well. I feel like my efforts as a parent to volunteer at the school are respected and appreciated by the school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

This principal has a knack for hiring great teachers. We've been at the school since year one and have had only great experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

Wonderful school. Great teachers. Super students. I couldn't ask for a better community school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

My daughter is in third grade. I believe her teacher worked really hard to prepare her for the FCAT. I also believe the school is creative but has a difficult group of parents. I like this school :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

I think this school is great. My son has had a wonderful experience since Kindergarten and is having his best year yet with his creative 2nd grade teacher. The school is focused on exciting ways to teach, My younger daughter will be starting next year and I know she will love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

I have a child in Kindergarten here and am having a fantastic experience. His teacher is wonderful, my son is excelling at reading this year and comes home happy every day. He loves it here! I have volunteered and have observed that the children seem very well behaved, which is important to me as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

I have 3 children at this school. The school expects parents to teach the children instead of the school teaching the children. Learning is not a at its best here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2008

I think that this school and its administration rests on its laurels entirely too much. There are a lot of involved parents with a sense of entitlement to certain teachers or programs, and it is very cliquey and snobbish. The administration seems to support this hierarchy. I do not think that the teachers look for ways to challenge the students at all. I think they all know that the parents are intelligent, and they expect the parents to supplement the education, and they staff does not think about how children learn, and improving that process. I think they are lazy. I say this even though my children receive all 'A's'. I think the school knows that the children and parents are bright, that parents choose this district school, and they get lazy about learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

I walked in too volentear and every one was behaving the teachers were exellent and the school was nice and tighty
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 55%
Hispanic 16%
Asian 15%
Black 12%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%66%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8301 Buenavista Woods Boulevard
Orlando, FL 32836
Phone: (407) 903-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT