Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

559 students|Orange
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sand Lake Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2014
- a parent
Brilliant school with brilliant teachers... I love sand lake it deserves the high rating published due to hard work of pupils, parents and teachers

Sand Lake Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2012
- a parent
The teachers are dedicated, caring, and innovative. My son loved his fifth grade teachers and was challenged to achieve his best. Very pleased!


Sand Lake Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2012
- a parent
As a parent of 3 children at Sand Lake, we are very happy with the quality of education they receive. The PTA is amazing and puts on the best events that are fun for the entire family. The children are challenged but are given the confidence they need to try new things and feel comfortable being challenged. The teachers and faculty enjoy what they do and it is apparent that they care about the children and they want to be there. You never have to worry about the safety of your children as the school procedures are well respected.

Sand Lake Elementary School 3

Posted August 28, 2011
- a parent
Absolutely loved certain aspects of this school but our child actually regressed in what he was able to do at the start of the year. I think it was the teacher, but was very disappointed at the lack of response on the school's part. I will say the school is spot on when it comes to safety and cleanliness. But is way too FCAT focused, It's a little too driven on creating excellent test takers and not developing critical thinking skills and whole students. Once FCATS were over my child's class watched movies & played games everyday for the rest of the year. Really disappointing! They did get amazing results on the FCAT this year. But there is so much to w well rounded education that does not involve test taking.

Sand Lake Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2010
- a parent
Sand Lake is a fabulous school! All 3 of my children loved this school and its teachers. The principal is dedicated to making the school and the kids the best they can be. I've been an involved parent through the PTA & am impressed by the warm and welcoming atmosphere.


Sand Lake Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2009
- a parent
This school is a wonderful place for my children! Love the faculty and staff.. the school property is wonderful and new! We bike to school and it's so much fun! I know my children are healthy, happy and safe at Sand Lake Elementary.

Sand Lake Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
My son is in first grade and has learned so much from his teachers. The school provides a safe and caring educational environment where he can thrive.

Sand Lake Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
Sand Lake Elementary is a wonderful school with a strong administration, talented teachers and an active PTA. My child is receiving an A+ education.


Sand Lake Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
I am very happy with the quality of education my children receive at this school. There are many ways for parents to get involved. I love the balance in helping out with your childs class and letting the teachers do their job. Excellent school, excllent staff. Couldn't be happier.

Sand Lake Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
we love this school - from teachers to front office staff, all are welcoming and concerned first and foremost with our children's education and safety. It is obvious that this overall attitude comes from the principal, who is extremely hands on. we have never been at a school where the principal is so available and visible to students and parents...we are glad to be here!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sand Lake Elementary School
8301 Buenavista Woods Boulevard, Orlando, FL  32836
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (407) 903-7400
Last modified Sand Lake Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top