Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Avalon Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1643 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2014

The school is too big and there are many problems with the teachers/guidance counselors that need to be addressed. There is very little communication between the school and the parents about how the kids are doing. Problems that are brought to the attention of counselors/teachers at the school aren't addressed and blame is deflected back to the students. I have heard many other issues voiced by other parents as well. The school is simply too overcrowded to address all the issues properly. The incoming 6th grade class is larger than the outgoing 8th grade classes so the problems will only continue to multiply. There are no prospects for a relief school to even start construction until 2016 so this will be an issue for years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2013

We recently moved here and I have to say that I am please with the quality of education my child is getting at this school. Overcrowded, yes but I feel that all the big issues are addressed. My child did very well this year. I would suggest that the staff be more hands on with new students instead of letting them tend for themselves. Not all kids are confident enough to handle being in a new school by themselves. Thankfully, there were other children who were brave enough and kind enough to help my child through those first couple of weeks. The office staff is very helpful and the teachers are wonderful, friendly and very professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

i hate the principal and one teacher didn't even rember my name till the middle of the school year kept calling me shannon its an ok school but i have to run around as all my classes are spread around the grounds i think we shouldn't have paws though and it would be nice if there were uniforms but thats just because there were a lot of problems with the dress code


Posted May 25, 2012

Avalon Middle School is an excellent school. My daughter is in all pre-AP classes and doing well. I love the PE program. They teach you fitness that you can do a life time like running, spinning, and roller blading instead of just group sports. The only criticism I have (but I have of most schools) is that they need to do more writing. Doing a poster or CD cover for a book report isn't the same as learning to write a book report. Grammar and spelling should be graded in all classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

If you have a child with Autism Spectrum Disorder be warned. School does not support or want these children. UCF CARD is fully aware of their reputation . It say they are in the stone age when it comes to this issue.. The principles are not evaluated on anything special education related. There is no incentive to improve. There is also no support from Orange County. They just want to move these kids out. There is nothing you as a parent can do about it. Orange county is a big government unionized shop. They have jobs for life. They will tell you that they are very experienced. Do but do not believe it. There have been countless students with ASD drummed out. It starts with excessive punishment and there bullying of the student from staff and students. Do not take a chance with your ASD loved one here. You may end up paying for a lot counseling and have a lot of heartbreak. Recommendations if you have to locate here is homeschooling, or private school (PARAGON is #1, avoid Lawton Chiles) . Your chid can qualify for a McKay with ASD. This will help pay for the private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

My son currently attends AMS and loves it. This is his third and final year here and I must say the school has readied him well for High School. He is looking forward to going to HS and especially the regiment (marching) band. The Nay-Sayers on this site are the exception more than the rule, This place rocks! GO HUSKIES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

The overall school is good but there is room for improvement. Fist, some of the teachers needs to be more competitive and show that they know math better than parents so. There are some teachers with a reputation of not teaching to the kids and leaving the kids with a lot of math gaps for the next year. Also, the school needs a better orginization on the teachers parts with getting a global education if we want to put Florida out of the black list in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

You couldnt find a better middle school than Avalon Middle School.The staff members are over-achiving in everything they do.The students are very kind and are top-dog, as would be said at Avalon Middle.If you are looking for a middle school for your child and live in the avalon area,this is your kind of school!


Posted December 4, 2009

this school is the best school ive ever been to and right now im in 6th grade and i already think its excelent and i kno it will become better when i get to 7th andthen 8th i highly recommand this school if you like challenges , a lot of extracurricular activities, and a staff that does whatever it takes to make the students Succesful i give the school an A+...GO HUSKIES
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2009

I am a 7th grader at AMS.I am on team Yukon and it's the best!AMS has teams for all grades.Each team has a language arts teacher, math teacher, geography/history teacher and a science teacher, not every team has a PE coach but most due.These teachers are all located very close together, you should never be late to any class because they are all so close. AMS has a great elective department too.If you want to stayin 1 elective the whole year then you can be in band, orchastra or chorus.But if you like change or you just don't enjoy the musical arts you can chose 2: art, home ec. science tech. or buisiness tech.AMS's pe department is the best we rollerblade do archery, volleybal bball flag football plus we have some wiis ps2's & 360's. Overall AMS is the best school around! If you dont come here, something's wrong with you!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2009

My son is a new student in Avalon. 6th grader. As a parent my main concern is his education. I just moved from Seminole (Milwee Middle) to this area for my son's better education, and I found it in Avalon. He is a very bright kid and at this age it is important to get out of him a full potential. Not only is he extremely happy with the teachers, but as well his new friends. I am impressed with the professionalism of everyone in the staff. I want to thank you all for all of the efforts and a great job done with each one of these children. As a parent we are to teach values and principles to our kids, but without you the job is not complete. Education is everything!!! With a solid structure there will be a great future!!! Thank you once again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

I am a 7th grader. I go to Avalon Middle School. The teachers are great and they all truly care for their students. We also have a great Physical Education Progam. We do archery. roller blading, cycling, dance-dance-revolution, and every wendsday we get to do something specail. Also every grade gets two sets of laptops. These things at my school are great but what what we learn there is priceless, but the budget cuts that are going on could stop all of this. Take away our great teachers and all are things that we us to learn but make learning and staying healthy fun. I love my school. In my opion my team is the best team in the whole school. Go team Yukon! Yu-kon do it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2009

I used to go to this school in the 6th grade and I loved it. When I had to switch schools twice I realized that no other school in orange county is better. I miss my fellow Huskies!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2009

I'm new in town and this school has been an excellent choice for my daughter: the teachers seem to know the students, they recognize the student's effort with special details and the charity activities that they do are very helpful towards the community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

It is a great school! We have a lot of fun activities and wonderful teachers! H-U-S-K-I-E-S!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2008

I go to Avalon, Im a sixth grader. The block schedule can get confusing, but once you get the hang of it, it's kinda fun. Avalon is a great school. Go Huskies!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2008

I go to Avalon Middle School i do believe that the block schedule has its ups and downs.for example it is a positive thing because well first you get a break for 2 classes every day.Also because you can empty your bag and only keep what you need.But it is a negative thing also because you may forget what day it is and you wbring the wrong thing and wont be prepared for school that day.But all and all the schoo is very nice and supportive. i
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2007

Very enthusiastic principal and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

I love this school. The principal, vice principal, teachers, and staff are all accessible to the students and parents. They care deeply for the students. They have bent over backwards helping my 6th grader, who was having a hard time adjusting, adjust to middle school. The academics are challenging in the Pre AP classes but not over challenging. There is a variety of extra curricular activities. The website could be better but that is my only complaint with this school(which I can forgive with everything else being so excellent) An A+ school that does not operate like a 'new' school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

This school utilizes block scheduling. I myself had block scheduling and am totally against it. In middle school a child is already adjusting to the concept of changing classes, trying to remember which one to go to shouldn't be thrown in the mix. They offer a variety of extracurricular activities. For a new school they are trying to reach the community for support. Of course growing pains are to be expected. It will be interesting to see how this school shapes up in the coming years. Their website is very poorly managed. Most of the site is about the school mascot. They should tour other county school websites. It needs to be more informative, today more parents check websites to keep up with current events.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

539 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

538 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

597 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

592 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

533 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

531 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

532 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

523 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

515 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

363 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 42%
Hispanic 38%
Black 10%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%66%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MRS. JUDITH FRANK
Fax number
  • (407) 207-7872

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13914 Mailer Boulevard
Orlando, FL 32828
Phone: (407) 207-7839

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






The Conrad Academy
Orlando, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT