Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Orlando, FL
Students enrolled: 1,643
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Avalon Middle School 3

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
This school is overcrowded! Administration unable to handle all the problems that go along with that. Some teachers are fantastic others are terrible. Kids are becoming problematic as the school continues to grow. Very little communication unless you seek it out yourself. Not pleased with the direction this school is headed. . Traffic is horrible and kids are roaming about before and after school with little supervision. New apartment complexes being built are adding to problems. Lake Nona is better option if considering this area.

Avalon Middle School 1

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
The school is too big and there are many problems with the teachers/guidance counselors that need to be addressed. There is very little communication between the school and the parents about how the kids are doing. Problems that are brought to the attention of counselors/teachers at the school aren't addressed and blame is deflected back to the students. I have heard many other issues voiced by other parents as well. The school is simply too overcrowded to address all the issues properly. The incoming 6th grade class is larger than the outgoing 8th grade classes so the problems will only continue to multiply. There are no prospects for a relief school to even start construction until 2016 so this will be an issue for years to come.


Avalon Middle School 4

Posted July 07, 2013
- a parent
We recently moved here and I have to say that I am please with the quality of education my child is getting at this school. Overcrowded, yes but I feel that all the big issues are addressed. My child did very well this year. I would suggest that the staff be more hands on with new students instead of letting them tend for themselves. Not all kids are confident enough to handle being in a new school by themselves. Thankfully, there were other children who were brave enough and kind enough to help my child through those first couple of weeks. The office staff is very helpful and the teachers are wonderful, friendly and very professional.

Avalon Middle School 3

Posted August 17, 2012
- a community member
i hate the principal and one teacher didn't even rember my name till the middle of the school year kept calling me shannon its an ok school but i have to run around as all my classes are spread around the grounds i think we shouldn't have paws though and it would be nice if there were uniforms but thats just because there were a lot of problems with the dress code

Avalon Middle School 4

Posted May 25, 2012
- a parent
Avalon Middle School is an excellent school. My daughter is in all pre-AP classes and doing well. I love the PE program. They teach you fitness that you can do a life time like running, spinning, and roller blading instead of just group sports. The only criticism I have (but I have of most schools) is that they need to do more writing. Doing a poster or CD cover for a book report isn't the same as learning to write a book report. Grammar and spelling should be graded in all classes.


Avalon Middle School 1

Posted April 27, 2012
- a parent
If you have a child with Autism Spectrum Disorder be warned. School does not support or want these children. UCF CARD is fully aware of their reputation . It say they are in the stone age when it comes to this issue.. The principles are not evaluated on anything special education related. There is no incentive to improve. There is also no support from Orange County. They just want to move these kids out. There is nothing you as a parent can do about it. Orange county is a big government unionized shop. They have jobs for life. They will tell you that they are very experienced. Do but do not believe it. There have been countless students with ASD drummed out. It starts with excessive punishment and there bullying of the student from staff and students. Do not take a chance with your ASD loved one here. You may end up paying for a lot counseling and have a lot of heartbreak. Recommendations if you have to locate here is homeschooling, or private school (PARAGON is #1, avoid Lawton Chiles) . Your chid can qualify for a McKay with ASD. This will help pay for the private school.

Avalon Middle School 5

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
My son currently attends AMS and loves it. This is his third and final year here and I must say the school has readied him well for High School. He is looking forward to going to HS and especially the regiment (marching) band. The Nay-Sayers on this site are the exception more than the rule, This place rocks! GO HUSKIES!

Avalon Middle School 4

Posted January 28, 2011
- a parent
The overall school is good but there is room for improvement. Fist, some of the teachers needs to be more competitive and show that they know math better than parents so. There are some teachers with a reputation of not teaching to the kids and leaving the kids with a lot of math gaps for the next year. Also, the school needs a better orginization on the teachers parts with getting a global education if we want to put Florida out of the black list in education.


Avalon Middle School 5

Posted June 22, 2010
- a community member
You couldnt find a better middle school than Avalon Middle School.The staff members are over-achiving in everything they do.The students are very kind and are top-dog, as would be said at Avalon Middle.If you are looking for a middle school for your child and live in the avalon area,this is your kind of school!

Avalon Middle School 0
no rating

Posted December 04, 2009
- a student
this school is the best school ive ever been to and right now im in 6th grade and i already think its excelent and i kno it will become better when i get to 7th andthen 8th i highly recommand this school if you like challenges , a lot of extracurricular activities, and a staff that does whatever it takes to make the students Succesful i give the school an A+...GO HUSKIES

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Avalon Middle School
13914 Mailer Boulevard, Orlando, FL  32828
(407) 207-7839
Last modified Avalon Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Avalon Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top