Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ibn Seena Academy

Private | PK-8 | 180 students

Our school is best known for our academic achievement.

 

Living in Orlando

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $104,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2014

People take their kids to private schools so they can be better For me it was the opposite their level went down Poor teachers , poor principal when it comes to education and how to deal With students And for people who wish to teach Arabic to their kids this is the wrong school Because them selves need to learn Arabic It was very bad experience, all their goal is to make money
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

okay. we had our children there a couple years back and it seems they need more parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

Ibn Seena Academy is indeed the leader in Islamic schools across the nation. Commencing from the top, the Principal exercises her professionalism, caring, and downright "tell it as it is" in a respectful way. Principal Rehana Hemalli , may Allah accept from her and continue to grant her success in both worlds, ameen. She is a "people person" in that the staff , parents and especially the students confide in her and on a daily basis, I have known students, staff, and parents , who seek her advice in matters of this world and the Hereafter. I was a parent, staff, and a colleague at this blessed Institute of Knowledge, Ibn Seena Academy. My three children attended Ibn Seena, and they are all productive citizens in society due to the influence and inspirations from the Principal and staff. I pray that my children and I will join this awesome team again in the future, ameen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

Excellent teachers and Principal they care so much for the students and they do their best to teach and help students. I am enjoying to be a patent in this school. Jazak Allah Khair for all your hard work and May Allah give his best reword in dunya and ahira.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

Great School, I have an ESE son, and I was surprised how his teachers worked with him patiently and with Love! He improved a lot and his Terra Nova results came very good. Thanks a lot to all the hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

All my children have been attending Ibn Seena Academy for last several years and I am blessed that I have this school in Orlando to send my children to. Under true leadership of the principal Sr. R. Hemmali, teachers work day and night to provide best of the best education and grooming to the students in a real islamic environment and therefore the students of Ibn Seena shine like stars in every field.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

assalamu alaikum Alhamduillah I'm a very proud parent of Ibn Seena Academy for the past 5 years. The Prinicipal and teachers masha Allah are excellent. Interaction with the staff is also excellent. I'll encourage any parent who want a better Islamic education for their children then Ibn Seena Academy is the school for them. Alhamduillah so far my kids are straight A's students they're also in the Hifz programe. May Allah continue to keep this school doors open for the muslim community insha Allah. May we all benefit from this excellent school in the years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

I graduated from this school and this is the BEST school I've ever attended. In my younger years, i was an average student that didn't take school very seriously. Not only did Ibn Seena teach me that I was accountable for my academics (i.e. grades, school work, etc.), but they also instilled in me the idea that I was accountable for my actions, words, and overall conduct. They enforced behavior that taught me to be an upstanding citizen and to treat others with kindness and respect. The teachers and coursework at Ibn Seena challenged me to do well academically and outshine my public school peers and for that, I am forever grateful. I've attended many schools growing up, but this is by far my favorite because the teachers, students, and parents of Ibn Seena became my second family and I will never forget my years here.


Posted November 16, 2010

As a muslim i am blessed this school exists in orlando! love and respect everybody in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2010

As a Former student of Ibn Seena Academy, I could say with full authority that this school is quite possibly the one school that DOES care. It felt like a family,all the staff knew all the students, their needs and addressed them. They are very strict and to be frank, kids now-a-days need it. Have you seen the little hellions running loose? A little discipline won't hurt. This school taught me MANY valuable lessons that I have carried on and applied in my adult life. It turned me into a valuable member of society. I've always been commended for my manners and brains and I owe to Ibn Seena. The teachers may have had alternative methods of teaching but it got the job done better than average. Don't believe me? Look up our standardized test scores.


Posted July 1, 2010

big mistake, don;t listen, don't care, bad learning, no supplies, teachers do not care or listen, rude teachers, the list goes on, nothing good about this school.. DON'T SEND YOUR CHILD, YOU WILL HEAR COMPLAINS, GUARANTEED
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 50% 3%
White 36% 42%
Black 5% 23%
Hispanic 5% 29%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Arabic languages
French
Spanish
Urdu
Bangla, Uzbek
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • OCPS Star School (2012)
  • VPK Valedictorian Award (2013)
  • VPK Valedictorian Award (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Painting
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Bangla, Uzbek
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Urdu

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Rehannah Hemmali
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Islamic
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (407) 240-1603

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Bangla, Uzbek
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Urdu
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
60
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
85

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Valencia College
University of Central Florida
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12908 S. Orange Blossom Trail
Orlando, FL 32837
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 888-1000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT