Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pathways Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 721 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2013

The teachers have been great and the childrens behavior seems to be pretty under control!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

Pathways is AMAZING! They, and I mean the from the principal down to the cafeteria staff, treat each child as an individual and gives them the beneit of the doubt to be responsible and mature, and also to do the right thing. The staff uses positive reinforcement to help struggling students and also incentives for the students to grow, leaving NO student feeling left out. I have a child in the 1-2 gifted and a child in 5th grade and they LOVE it!! They come home everyday happy and excited to do our evening routine (ie HW dinner, any practices they may have for that day bath bed) so they can get to school the next day, The ONLY and I mean only downfall is that we live in daytona beach so their bus ride is 45 min. however the commute is well worth it considering they were in Westside last yr and had a third grade GIRL bullying and threatening as well in the bathroom and threatened my kids not to tell, this was not an isolated incident and it really took away from my children focusing on academics. Pathways is the BEST for anyone looking into school districts when purchasing a home. I think the only only improvement they could make is not offering so many unhealthy snack at lunch :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

The principal is a very uneducated man. the staff and teachers dress poorly and seem to make fun of some children. they seem to be the.bully in the schools.and.allow.the.other children to do the same. my child will not return to the school and neither should yours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

This is a wonderful school!! The staff is wonderful!!! The teachers are wonderful!!! My children love their school!!! I know that my children are getting a great education because of the people who work here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

This school and it's principal, as well as the teachers I have dealt with are a joke. The principal is undereducated and has no business interacting with students. The teachers seem burnt out and the classes are messy. They are very clique oriented and have been known to make fun of students. Do your children and yourself a favor and send them somewhere that they will be able to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

Our daughter attended Pathways for elementary and loved her teacher Mrs. Dalton. Mrs. Dalton is probably the best K teacher in the state and our daughter was excited every day to go to school. The education was fantastic and art and PE were great. The only complaint that I have was regarding lunch time. It seems like the kids were left on their own during lunch and tended to get a bit out of control. A few more lunch attendants could solve that probem. Other than that, excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Our Son Daniel attends Pathways Elementary School. He is finishing up kindergarten and has Ms. Dalton as his teacher. Ms. Dalton is a nurturing and loving teacher and I truly believe brings out the best in her students. Our son loves going to Pathways and learning something new every day. Daniel loves Gym and art classes as well. All of the staff for that matter are very nice and helpful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

i go to pathways and i love it it is so awesome im in the fith grade and i have gone there since kindergarten and i have always loved it


Posted February 4, 2011

Teachers should teach not play or or kiss friends for whatever they want TEACH TEACH TEACH. This is why parents pay taxes and most children have become HOME SCHOOLED. Principal step up to the plate no kid lrft behind
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2010

Principal was lazy and unavalble when in need and the academic programs terrilbe i feel as if my daughter has not learned anything new at all and teacher yelled and degrated students and when asking help from asst principal she got in childs face and tried to scare her into saying that everything is okj
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Everyone is warm and welcoming and i truly feel safe sending my kindergarten student there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Pathway Elementary School is one of the nest in Ormond Area..I have 2 sons enrolled there right now.I could not ask for more in terms of educational abilities of this school..teachers are awesome..they will really communicate w us parents should there be a problem..The office treats u loke a family too.Of course the school principal has very strong leadership and always visible..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

It is a great school with great staff in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

This school is the best kept secret in Ormond Beach. The front office staff is wonderful and the teachers are the best around. I have nothing but positive things to say about Pathways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

I just want to say thank you to Miss Ruth She was such a big help at getting my niece enrolled in school i couldnt have asked for a better person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

There a few nice things about this school - the fall festival, oldies dance, field trips, etc. that were outstanding. But, you have a Principal who acts like he doesn't even know you (even if he does), you have a few teachers who should not be teaching children, there is an after school program where the children are screamed at. There is way too much concern on the FCAT and upsetting the children, and not on the basics - which is what elementary school is all about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

This is my sons first year at Pathways. The school is great and Ms. Higgs is a wonderful, caring teacher. I spend alot of time in the classroom and she is great with the kids. I am very pleased that my son had Ms. Higgs for his first year of school. I look forward to meeting more of the teachers through out my sons years at Pathways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2007

I'd like to thank the teachers and staff would continually strive to improve our school. Participating in SAC helped me to understand everything that goes into running a school I can't think of any place I'd rather have my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

I believe my child had a wonderful first year,last year.He had a wonderful teacher.My son loved to be there,and I just wanna say I'm thankful that there are teachers who really do care about the students,and how much they learn.Thank you pathways,for all your kindness,and support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

I am a working mother who volunteered when possible at this school. Unfortunately there are many parents that can't stay 100% involved but would like to. The teachers are wonderful and will make great efforts through letters, emails, phone calls, and meetings to keep these parents in tuned with their child's progress throughout the year. I thank the principal, teachers, and staff who care about our children's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 77%
Black 9%
Hispanic 5%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 49%56%61%
Master's degree 49%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2100 Airport Road
Ormond Beach, FL 32174
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 676-5360

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Riverbend Academy
Ormond Beach, FL


Calvary Christian Academy
Ormond Beach, FL


Calvary Christian Academy
Ormond Beach, FL


Chabad Academy
Ormond Beach, FL


Grace Academy
Ormond Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT