Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St James Episcopal School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Ormond Beach

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $126,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2013

This school should be rated 5 star.The curriculum promotes academic excellence and leadership development.Faith based education encourages kindness,sharing and caring.


Posted April 17, 2012

St. James will be getting a new Head of School to ensure financial stability of school. The majority of the teachers are staying on for the upcoming school year. Classes are small and children learn a great deal in terms of academics, self management, and christian education. Our child has had a fantastic year and we couldn't be more pleased and look forward to continued grown in the next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

I am an alumni of this great school, and my three children are currently enrolled. I love this school and am very happy with the teachers that are returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2011

I believe everyone should ask for a copy of the curriculum .........No matter what school you attend..........."just saying" ....... Not impressed.....


Posted January 7, 2011

Although very nice and polite, most teachers at St. James are sadly unqualified. Very simply put, the curriculum is sluggish. Children who attend this school must be tutored for any challenge. On a positive note-St. James offers the best Pre-K classes you could ever hope for. And to the parent who posted the 12/13 review...please spell check-you have several mistakes!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

I have recently enrolled my third child at St. James. I find the curriculum to be just advanced enough at each grade level to offer a challenging and rewarding learning environment. My wife and I are thrilled to have the learning opportunities presented by St. James so close by. The staff and faculty are to be commended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2009

The education our children are currently recieveing is far above the 'gifted' programs that we previously experienced. The teachers are highy educated and also very nuturing. The new science lab and technology programs are wonderful. This is with out a doubt the best choice in Ormond/Daytona beach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

All 3 of my children attended St. James. My oldest is now in middle school. I find the teachers to be dedicated and focused on providing the students with rich academic environment while at the same time able to teach character values in a Christian environment. My children are well mannered and well prepared for whatever challenges they will face in their future endeavors. Their test scores are consistently above the 90th percentile and in fact, my middle schooler qualified for the Duke Tip program-with a math score in the 99 percentile nationally and along with 90% of her classmates and has already taken the SAT. We are a small school with high expectations for both character and academics. I have been very pleased-You owe it to your children to explore for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

My kids go to St. James and can't wait for school to start again. Not only do they miss their friends, but believe it or not, they miss their teachers too. There are on jitters or anxiety just pure anticipation for a wonderful new school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

My two kids have attended St. James since before Kindergarten. My wife and I couldn't be happier with the quality of education and the life skills taught at St. James. Energizing the Mind, Body and Spirit are important at all ages, but particularly in the early years. The education is top notch (as compared to kids their same grade, but in public school. Yes, even better than 'gifted'). The school leadership, including the all volunteer board, seems to be completely dedicated to preserving the St. James legacy of being the best education choice in Ormond Beach. We are very happy our kids attend St. James.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

My grandchild is a student at St. James and child, parents, and grandparents could not be happier with the school. St. James is an excellent school that has been in operation for more than 55 years educating children in mind, body and spirit. In my opinion you owe it to your child as well as yourself to check out this great school instead of reading any of these negative reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

I love going to school here and so do my siblings. The teachers are demanding but very nice and even though we need to get a 93% on our tests to get an A instead of just a 90% like many other school, I wouldn't want it any other way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2009

I've decided not to return to St. James. Education does not seem to be the primary focus, and after reading the negative reviews of this school, I agree with them 100%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

This is my daughters first year at St James and I have been very happy with everything from the teachers to the administration. I would recommend checking and not just focusing on the negative reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

Unfortunately, I had to take my child out of this school due to the lack of focus on education. I felt my child, who is academically gifted, was bored with the monotonous, lack of depth teachings. Subjects seemed to be skimmed through and rushed along. The school also keeps expanding the student body, so much so that overcrowding and lack of space seems to be an imperative issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

i went to this school kindergarden through eighth grade. During my middle school years I got very behind. i was not prepared for highschool and needed tutoring weekly in core subjects. The teachers changed on an almost weekly basis, also the administration cared only about the children whose parents donated alot of money to the school. many children payed for there kids to get A's. I would not reccommend anyone sending there child to this school. I had the worst 2 years of my life there and i am suffering now for it in highschool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2008

I would recommend to any educated parent not to send their child to St. James. St. James spends far too much of the day on fluffy things rather than focus on the abc's of education. The teacher turnover rate is unusually and extremely high (think entire middle school) as is the upper management of the school. This school seems to lack direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

St. James is quickly losing it's good reputation in Ormond Beach. Parents are finally discovering that cost of tuition does not correlate with quality education. This school is used as a status symbol for parents who are not paying attention to what their children are failing to learn during these crucial years of their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

St James has deteriorated over the past 4or 5 years.Teachers do not stay,there is hardly any dicapline, My child has been hurt badly more than twice with no punishment to the offender. the curriculum has been the biggest disappointment it is incomplete to say the least. Math is great because of a good teacher the rest is terrible and incomplete. Mostly because the good teachers do not stay or just do not care anymore. So without safety and good curriculum I could not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2005

This is an excellent school! My son has been attending St. James since Kindergarten. He is now in fifth grade, and we have never looked back. The teachers, parents, and staff truly care about the children's education, and well-being. If you are looking for a school for your child that will challenge him or her academically, while providing ample time for enrichment programs such as art, music, Spanish, religion, and a host of other subjects, this is the place! I highly recommend St. James Episcopal School to anyone looking for a wonderful small school with nice, well-mannered children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 23%
Hispanic 1% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

38 South Halifax Drive
Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 677-1811

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Osceola Elementary School
Ormond Beach, FL



The Childrens House
Ormond Beach, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT