Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
2-12
Public district
Osprey, FL
Students enrolled: 2,180
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pine View School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
Pineview is a wonderful school and it is a privilege to send our daughter there. She is challenged, the work moves quickly, the projects are thought out, the staff differentiates curriculum. There is a reason the school is always in the top 20 and always the #1 school in Florida. Unfortunately- the administration is not great. They simply can't and don't say no. PV is a gifted school- the kids that do well there want to be there. They need to be there. There is a lot of work. Honors level work. The kids here all work a grade ahead, and many are several grades ahead. IQ score is the minimum to be accepted, but is simply not enough to stay here. They have to do the work. Yet there are kids who consistently come to school without homework? Without completing projects? Getting repeat Cs and Ds? Poor state test scores? Parents who blatantly do their kids work? Why are these kids still here Dr. Covert? The teachers know 25-30 percent of the kids don't belong here, and would be better served by their zoned school. And why would parents whose kids are getting C averages even keep their kids here? Because it's a status symbol. This is a predominately wealthy town- with overeducated, nervy, entitled parents who treat their children like objects. Mercedes, check. McMansion, check, my kid is in the gifted school, check. And the administration panders to these parents, who whine that the school should be less difficult. Are you people kidding? It's a school for gifted kids!!!! If you are not happy at PV, stop posting nasty reviews and go elsewhere. Simple as that. Your C student will be an A student at his home school and the kids who belong here can get the education they need

Pine View School 1

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
Not one positive review has been written in the last year. Since Covert has taken the reigns from Largo, PV has sadly quickly gone downhill. PV has moved from #6th on US News to #24th. PV response? Raise the required GPA to stay at PV View to 3.0 from 2.5. This is ridiculous. Truly gifted students may not always make the grade, while less gifted, conformist students might. Often, gifted underachievers may decide to only do the minimum work; their heads are stuck inside a turbine or writing a novel or some other endeavor. They often lack study or organizational skills because in the early grades they didn't need to develop them. PV kicks out students with a lower GPA only for the interest of the school and their ratings, not the student. The high schoolers used to have more freedom of movement and thought. Students there no longer feel free or respected for their own thoughts. Attire policy has gotten stricter. Freedom of movement around and on campus has been limited. It might as well be Pine View academic Military Academy. The academic rigor expected at Pine View is indeed high. However, you could get the same or even better rigor without requiring so much homework.


Pine View School 1

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
This is a school where students self-teach. The "teachers" assign notes from the textbook and the students spend the class writing. Math teachers don't quite understand the math themselves, but don't worry, these kids are bright enough to figure it out on their own! The students are not treated like individuals, they are numbers-both scores and money. If you have trouble, forget it! Nobody wants to help. You're the square peg, trying to fit in the round hole; maybe this school isn't for you. Carry on and teach yourself! Don't blemish Pine View's scores because it'll make Dr. Covert look bad.
11 people found this helpful

Pine View School 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a community member
As a former alumni with currently in academia, PV is, simply put, an excellent school. Unfortunately, many people do not realize or fully understand that PV is very different from other elite schools. This is not a place where students will thrive if they are not willing to put egos aside. The faculty is highly trained, often better at their job than many tenured faculty at elite universities (personal experience of many PV alum). Students truly learn how to prepare for the global turn in economics, business, and culture. The only draw back is that if students have attended PV their entire life, they may become cloistered from other realities. Aside from the phenomenal education students receive (much better than the maj of bachelor-granting R1 universities), students here should receive lessons on the importance of failure. After learning about Higher Ed inside out, Pine View is unsurpassable in quality. Just make sure you encourage your kids to maintain a healthy life/work balance by making friends with students from other schools or pursuing an interest outside of school.
4 people found this helpful

Pine View School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
This is our daughter's first year at Pine View. We moved to the area for her to attend the school. We are very happy with the overall leadership of the school. With a new principal this year, you would expect some snafus, but there were none! Kudos to Dr. Covert! Our daughter teacher, Ms. Cookerly has been wonderful, helping us navigate our way through the year. Academically, it was just what our daughter needed. She looks forward to more challenging work in years to come, but it was a good way to start her tenure at Pine View. We look forward to the years ahead.
2 people found this helpful


Pine View School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of 2 Pine View graduates I have been extremely happy with the education they received. They learned great study habits that have made college easier for them. It is a wonderful embracing school for the children, they are free to be smart and be proud of their accomplishments. PV is not for children who are not motivated and have been pushed by their parents. Make sure the school is the right fit for your child not for you.
3 people found this helpful

Pine View School 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
Pine View is a wonderful school for fostering learning. We enjoy the relaxed campus atmosphere and the philosophy of going 212 degrees, "the extra degree" that makes water turn into steam, which can then power engines.
1 person found this helpful

Pine View School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
My two daughters graduated from Pine View School. One is a Chemical Engineer the other A Biomedical Engineer.. I am a proud mom... thank you PV,..!! The Spanish teachers are no good though!!


Pine View School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
This school has been wonderful for my third grader. Individualized attention, great kids, super curriculum. Couldn't be happier.
1 person found this helpful

Pine View School 2

Posted November 27, 2013
- a parent
Pineview is amazing, we moved to sarasota to be able to go to this school, I am sure my daughter would be bored at a notmal school, she loves the challenge, she wants to be pushed, it is designed for gifted children and it is just excellent, the teachers ate motivated, enthusiastic, highly recommended.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pine View School
1 Python Path, Osprey, FL  34229
(941) 486-2001
Last modified Pine View School is a Public school that serves grades 2-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pine View School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. Top