Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 48 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


58 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pine View School 1

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
This is a school where students self-teach. The "teachers" assign notes from the textbook and the students spend the class writing. Math teachers don't quite understand the math themselves, but don't worry, these kids are bright enough to figure it out on their own! The students are not treated like individuals, they are numbers-both scores and money. If you have trouble, forget it! Nobody wants to help. You're the square peg, trying to fit in the round hole; maybe this school isn't for you. Carry on and teach yourself! Don't blemish Pine View's scores because it'll make Dr. Covert look bad.

Pine View School 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a community member
As a former alumni with currently in academia, PV is, simply put, an excellent school. Unfortunately, many people do not realize or fully understand that PV is very different from other elite schools. This is not a place where students will thrive if they are not willing to put egos aside. The faculty is highly trained, often better at their job than many tenured faculty at elite universities (personal experience of many PV alum). Students truly learn how to prepare for the global turn in economics, business, and culture. The only draw back is that if students have attended PV their entire life, they may become cloistered from other realities. Aside from the phenomenal education students receive (much better than the maj of bachelor-granting R1 universities), students here should receive lessons on the importance of failure. After learning about Higher Ed inside out, Pine View is unsurpassable in quality. Just make sure you encourage your kids to maintain a healthy life/work balance by making friends with students from other schools or pursuing an interest outside of school.


Pine View School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
This is our daughter's first year at Pine View. We moved to the area for her to attend the school. We are very happy with the overall leadership of the school. With a new principal this year, you would expect some snafus, but there were none! Kudos to Dr. Covert! Our daughter teacher, Ms. Cookerly has been wonderful, helping us navigate our way through the year. Academically, it was just what our daughter needed. She looks forward to more challenging work in years to come, but it was a good way to start her tenure at Pine View. We look forward to the years ahead.

Pine View School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of 2 Pine View graduates I have been extremely happy with the education they received. They learned great study habits that have made college easier for them. It is a wonderful embracing school for the children, they are free to be smart and be proud of their accomplishments. PV is not for children who are not motivated and have been pushed by their parents. Make sure the school is the right fit for your child not for you.

Pine View School 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
Pine View is a wonderful school for fostering learning. We enjoy the relaxed campus atmosphere and the philosophy of going 212 degrees, "the extra degree" that makes water turn into steam, which can then power engines.


Pine View School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
My two daughters graduated from Pine View School. One is a Chemical Engineer the other A Biomedical Engineer.. I am a proud mom... thank you PV,..!! The Spanish teachers are no good though!!

Pine View School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
This school has been wonderful for my third grader. Individualized attention, great kids, super curriculum. Couldn't be happier.

Pine View School 2

Posted November 27, 2013
- a parent
Pineview is amazing, we moved to sarasota to be able to go to this school, I am sure my daughter would be bored at a notmal school, she loves the challenge, she wants to be pushed, it is designed for gifted children and it is just excellent, the teachers ate motivated, enthusiastic, highly recommended.


Pine View School 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter is completing her 3rd year of middle school at PV and we are very pleased. Each year we attend the open house and without exception we meet astonishingly talented and committed teachers. The pace is demanding and the quantity and quality of work required is challenging, but for a true gifted student there is no better formula. Our daughter would be bored out of her mind working at the same pace as general population classes. PV is no place for the student that needs large amounts of parental motivation and help with classwork. The student has to be up to the challenge PERIOD. Finally, Florida's ESE program is noteworthy.

Pine View School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
From my experience with a child who is currently a student at Pine View, I do not agree with other comments that the homework is TOO MUCH. It depends how you compare the homework workload & your expectation. If you compare with international schools, PV homework is average. If you compare it with schools in the US, in general, of course PV has WAY MORE homework. I believe that PV prepares all the kids starting in Elementary to have a strong study habit so that they can handle their work in high school & college. I strongly believe that even gifted students have to develop the discipline to do homework and unfortunately some gifted kids do not have the discipline to study. My child has friends that do not go to bed until 12 midnight or even 1 am during elementary schools age. Why?? I believe it has something to do with organizational skills in the family or too much social and media distractions. Pine View emphasizes on academic excellence instead of sports so if your priority is academic rather than sports, & you have high expectations for your child to be able to compete with other kids from around the world, then this school is for you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pine View School
1 Python Path, Osprey, FL  34229
(941) 486-2001
Last modified Pine View School is a Public school that serves grades 2-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pine View School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. Top