Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jackson Heights Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1168 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Great school overall but like every other school, it has it's ups and downs. First of all the Spanish teacher is very hard and.. Well mean and has an attitude. Many other teachers though are nice and caring. Sadly, it branches out into two high schools, Oviedo and Hagerty so some of your friend may go to a different highschool then you. Also, It is in a bad part of town but the overall vibe of the school is great. The campus is amazing and is being redone! (Look on the JHMS website for more info!) the school overall is great and I honestly love it! They prepared me well for high school. (Btw I'm an 8th grader here at JHMS and I have enjoyed my time.)


Posted December 9, 2013

I think Jackson Heights is a wonderful school. I was nervous for my children to attend there and leave elementary school but it has been a great experience for both of them. I've been very pleased. Certainly their middle school times have been much much better than mine were. Impressive handle and response to issues!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2012

I love this school so much I am a student and now am in 9th grade but people are always saying the school is horrible but it's not they are just stuck up the schoool is very exelent and the teachers go above and beyond to help there students, and the principal is GREAT! I loved this school when i went there i was like "ehh this school horrible" but now that I look back i wish i respected the teachers more. but one word about this school PERFECT!


Posted October 23, 2012

I'm a student here and I hate it here! The teacher are rude and don't care about the students! The 8th grade gym teacher,Coach McCrary, has made kids in my class cry including me! Ms.Lopez is crazy and her emotions are unstable. Please spare your children and send them somewhere else!


Posted July 21, 2012

When I first stepped on the Jackson Heights campus I sincerely thought I had gotten horribly lost and ended up in Harvard. The campus looks like the inside of the Palace of Versailles, except with iPads. All of the students there are charming, chivalrous little cherubs of intellect. The staff is like a parade of endless rainbows that have cuddly kitten fur. My child learned so much, he can now communicate to MIT grads and dolphins with his mind, and shoot lazers out of his nostrils. Jackson Heights is truly a marvelous super nova in the galaxy that is public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

If you can avoid sending your children to this school by all means find another place for them to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

Not happy at this school. Needless to say we transferred to another school where we couldn't be happier! The administration just doesn't care. Like someone else commented, many of the staff are worn out and really should think about retiring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

This web site doesn't normally publish negative reviews of schools so the one from an unhappy parent on May 8, 2010, will probably end up disappearing. JHMS administrators need to handle bullying and stop pretending that it doesn't exisit at the school. Hopefully it won't require some terrible or sad event for them to realize that just turning a blind eye to student bullying doesn't work, especially for those victimized by bullying. Note: I doubt this site will leave this post up, if it happens to get posted at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

MY daughter attended this school and I was not happy . This school administration was not helpful in dealing with the bullying situations we had! The principal acted like he could have cared less and showed no interest in helping my husband and I. We are very educated parents that are very involved and I was NOT impressed with how things were handled at ALL. She now attends Lawton Chiles Middle and we couldn't be happier! What a difference!! Love it My daughter has blended in and loves school now!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2008

i think that this school is not a very nice school, although they my get a rather good education, their rules are too much for my family to follow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

some wonderful staff, but many seem worn out and over stressed, lunch is a nightmare more kids than places to sit and a very unhappy place for kids with physical handicaps need to come out of dark ages ,Mr Baily is there but seems to just walk the place smileing does he Do anything? doesn't answer calls letters or email even registered mail is ignored!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

Sorry, but I have to disagree with the parent whose child used to attend Chiles Middle. I LIVE in the Sanctuary and yet my daughter still attends JHMS. Why? The environment that Mr. Bailey has created is second to NONE. I am a very involved parent and I have never seen a principal who genuinely cared so much about students. The dress code is enforced (unlike Chiles, where little girls run around dressed like trollops) and there is zero tolerance for insubordination and bad language (again, unlike Chiles). When I moved to Oviedo 5 years ago from out-of-state, I chose Oviedo for two reasons: low crime and good schools. JHMS is an awesome example of just what a school should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I'm in that school it is so awsome you have great food teachers and most of all Mr.Baleiy our princalble is awsome
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2007

Is it any wonder that Seminole County Schools are always rated the best? And then you have Jackson Middle. This should be listed as a synonym for excellence in the thesaurus. It is the commitment to excellence, and the dedication of the entire team... teachers, principals, administrators, nurses, security, our cafeteria and custodial staff. Then there are the children! Our children! Fun, energetic, loving and smart! And the parents' involvement. Now I understand why my wife would not settle for anything else than an Oviedo home, with Oviedo Schools. Great Job, and keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

This school has a great administration and PTSA and has great electives such as band, chorus, R.O.T.C., Gym, Drama and more. There are a couple of teachers such as a member of the custodial staff who I think isnt very nice but most of the teachers are fun, funny, and nice. This school doesnt look very nice on the outside and is is a bad part of town but the school is fixing that and they make up for it in Smartness! This is a great school to go to!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2007

JHMS is an exemplary school with an outstanding Administration and PTSA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2007

Some great teachers, some obviously 'tired' teachers who have lost their enthusiasm and just go through the motions. Not the crowning jewel of the Seminole County School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2006

My three years at Jackson Heights Middle School were amazing. I received a tremendous education from a highly professional group of teachers. The experience at Jackson Heights was wonderful and I would recommend the school to anyone looking for a public school environment that will intellectually stimulate their child. Jackson Heights manages to maintain its high test scores and to provide a positive learning environment for students. And it's a lot of fun. There are a lots of ways to get involved, and students are rewarded for good citizenship and academic excellence. JHMS is a top notch school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 18, 2006

A principal who is subservient to a mediocre faculty. Very few extra-curricular activities (no basketball, football or baseball for the boys). They like to talk about a 'partnership' between parents and the school, but often don't require their teachers to keep the online grade book up to date. If I could afford private schools, I would yank my kids in a heartbeat. Never felt this way about a school before...it is a mess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

My children are completing their first year here after being at Lawton Chiles, and it has been such a let down. This poor excuse of a school only receives accolades because of the large crop of already intelligent children coming from educated families who raise and maintain the school's high academic marks despite itself, not because of outstanding teaching. If I could afford private schools or were able to drive my kids to Chiles, I would, but it stinks to be forced to send my kids to stagnate at a weak school, the dregs of an otherwise great district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

352 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

355 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

402 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

401 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

405 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

405 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

405 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

400 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

395 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

279 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
80%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 69%
Hispanic 16%
Black 8%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 182%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 21%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%53%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. WINSTON BAILEY
Fax number
  • (407) 320-4599

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Ice hockey
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

41 Academy Avenue
Oviedo, FL 32765
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 320-4550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Boys Town
Oviedo, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT