Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jackson Heights Middle School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
Great school overall but like every other school, it has it's ups and downs. First of all the Spanish teacher is very hard and.. Well mean and has an attitude. Many other teachers though are nice and caring. Sadly, it branches out into two high schools, Oviedo and Hagerty so some of your friend may go to a different highschool then you. Also, It is in a bad part of town but the overall vibe of the school is great. The campus is amazing and is being redone! (Look on the JHMS website for more info!) the school overall is great and I honestly love it! They prepared me well for high school. (Btw I'm an 8th grader here at JHMS and I have enjoyed my time.)

Jackson Heights Middle School 4

Posted December 09, 2013
- a parent
I think Jackson Heights is a wonderful school. I was nervous for my children to attend there and leave elementary school but it has been a great experience for both of them. I've been very pleased. Certainly their middle school times have been much much better than mine were. Impressive handle and response to issues!


Jackson Heights Middle School 5

Posted December 12, 2012
- a community member
I love this school so much I am a student and now am in 9th grade but people are always saying the school is horrible but it's not they are just stuck up the schoool is very exelent and the teachers go above and beyond to help there students, and the principal is GREAT! I loved this school when i went there i was like "ehh this school horrible" but now that I look back i wish i respected the teachers more. but one word about this school PERFECT!

Jackson Heights Middle School 1

Posted October 23, 2012
- a community member
I'm a student here and I hate it here! The teacher are rude and don't care about the students! The 8th grade gym teacher,Coach McCrary, has made kids in my class cry including me! Ms.Lopez is crazy and her emotions are unstable. Please spare your children and send them somewhere else!

Jackson Heights Middle School 5

Posted July 21, 2012
- a parent
When I first stepped on the Jackson Heights campus I sincerely thought I had gotten horribly lost and ended up in Harvard. The campus looks like the inside of the Palace of Versailles, except with iPads. All of the students there are charming, chivalrous little cherubs of intellect. The staff is like a parade of endless rainbows that have cuddly kitten fur. My child learned so much, he can now communicate to MIT grads and dolphins with his mind, and shoot lazers out of his nostrils. Jackson Heights is truly a marvelous super nova in the galaxy that is public schools.


Jackson Heights Middle School 1

Posted April 18, 2012
- a parent
If you can avoid sending your children to this school by all means find another place for them to go.

Jackson Heights Middle School 1

Posted October 11, 2011
- a parent
Not happy at this school. Needless to say we transferred to another school where we couldn't be happier! The administration just doesn't care. Like someone else commented, many of the staff are worn out and really should think about retiring.

Jackson Heights Middle School 1

Posted May 17, 2010
- a parent
This web site doesn't normally publish negative reviews of schools so the one from an unhappy parent on May 8, 2010, will probably end up disappearing. JHMS administrators need to handle bullying and stop pretending that it doesn't exisit at the school. Hopefully it won't require some terrible or sad event for them to realize that just turning a blind eye to student bullying doesn't work, especially for those victimized by bullying. Note: I doubt this site will leave this post up, if it happens to get posted at all.


Jackson Heights Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 08, 2010
- a parent
MY daughter attended this school and I was not happy . This school administration was not helpful in dealing with the bullying situations we had! The principal acted like he could have cared less and showed no interest in helping my husband and I. We are very educated parents that are very involved and I was NOT impressed with how things were handled at ALL. She now attends Lawton Chiles Middle and we couldn't be happier! What a difference!! Love it My daughter has blended in and loves school now!!!

Jackson Heights Middle School 1

Posted July 20, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jackson Heights Middle School
41 Academy Avenue, Oviedo, FL  32765
(407) 320-4550
Last modified Jackson Heights Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jackson Heights Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top